Daniel Boone May: An Introduction

in #history6 years ago

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas
where summer is over and it's cool and rainy here today!

When I was researching the Wild Bill Hickok story and his time in
Deadwood, South Dakota I uncovered another hero who made a
living by risking his life to protect passengers and money being
transported by stagecoach from the gold fields of Deadwood to the
city Cheyenne, Wyoming.

The stretch of that trail was almost 300 miles so it was long, hard and
dangerous. And of course a prime target for bandits and thieves.
That area was pretty much desolate with settlements few and far
between.

Deadwood stagecoach 1870's

SidneyStage3-resized.jpg__320x257_q85_subsampling-2.jpg

Daniel Boone May was born in Kansas and was raised on a farm with
his 8 siblings. In 1876 Boone and two of his brothers decided to head
the the far West in search of new opportunities.

They were smart business wise too, it seems to me, because while one
brother headed to the gold fields near Deadwood the other two
brothers established two horse changing stations between Deadwood
and Cheyenne, which were seriously needed.

In the next post I will begin to tell the story of Boone and his time as a
guard on the stagecoach of the Cheyenne & Black Hills Stage Line.
He's an unsung hero and I think it's interesting that he got to
Deadwood the same year that Wild Bill Hickok died, in 1876.
DQmaGiJ5Exn5zL4cJEFVahrn96ozJ8bVTWeXhqznp28SYy2_1680x8400.png

Thanks for reading folks and stay tuned.
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

ps-ya know....you might just be a redneck if:

You need one more hole punched in your card to get a freebie at
the House of Tattoos!

thealliance-400_square.png

Sort:  

Is this Daniel Boone any relation to the legendary frontiersman from the 1700's?
Did you know the original Daniel Boone was born in Eastern Pennsylvania about a 20 min drive from my house. There is a historical site called the Daniel Boone Homestead where there is a stone walled basement from their original log cabin. It is kind of funny because Boone only lived there till he was 15 or so. Anyway some useless trivia for you.

Well I'm an idiot -- I thought they were one and the same, hah! Good catch.

hahaha! thank you sir hhayweaver, I like trivia of all kinds! No I think this guy was just named after the original Daniel Boone by his parents. And with 9 kids I think they were running out of names to think up. lol.
People will capitalize and try to monetize anything won't they?
So people go to that site in PA and they see a wall? lol. I wonder if that costs anything?

thanks so much for reading and commenting!

Ooooooh Boone! His brother is buried a couple miles from me! ;)

The original Daniel Boone moved close to St Louis to set up a homestead on a Spanish Land Grant. They gave him land to get him to move, in exchange for him agreeing to work as a Judge. I have been to his home, and It is very well made, and a nice place to visit.

They have brought in other Historical buildings, and are calling it Boonesborough

http://greatriverroad.com/stcharles/boonehome.htm

:)

They ran the original Daniel Boone off by taking his land in a questionable court case. That was why he moved to Mo. to begin with. He moved with his youngest Son, who took care of him, and his Wife.

I was surprised to see that he was not a large Man, after the TV shows, but he was larger than life!

:)

howdy tonight thefarmerswife! who is buried close to you, the original Daniel Boone? I mean this guy was obviously named after the original by his parents but the original died about 50 years before.
I'm familiar with the local forest there though.
thanks so much for reading and commenting!

Sorry I guess I didn’t understand it wasn’t the original. 🤪 But the famous Daniel Boone’s brother’s grave is by my house.

howdy back thefarmerswife! oh hey that's interesting. Was he also a trail blazer, scout and all that stuff?

Bwahahahahahaha! Good redneck joke :P

haha! thank you sir, I was hoping that didn't offend the people who like tattoos!

Heh, I would have never guessed he was born in Kansas.

ha! howdy sir dollarsandsense! what does that mean? what are you insinuating sir?? lol. you knew I grew up in Kansas on a farm right?
and was a expert pistol shot too, well, rifle also..the country lends itself to that if you have any natural abilities. But we only had 5 kids not 9.

Hey now, no insult intended :P I was confusing this Daniel Boone with the other one

hahaha I know sir dollarsandsense...well you're the second one who got that confused so I'll be more careful to make it more clear next time.
I'm glad you wrote back though because I think you did a post that I haven't gotten to yet, I'm going there now!

Hey @janton, sorry I am so behind again. This was a nice bit of trivia though . I promise I will catch up on Wild Bill.

well howdy there tryskele! oh, Wild Bill's story is a good one even after taking out all the fake stories about him, his actual life was crazy enough. But that's fine about not having time, there are so many great posts out there to read, I never have enough time!

I always feel sorry for those guys in these old-timey photos wearing black suits. They had to be hot as hell half the year. Although I suppose they had it better than a bunch of heavy skirts.

hahaha! howdy ginnyannette! yes the guys had to be miserable but those great big, heavy skirts..man that had to be torture! lol. I agree!

Hey janton, Daniel Boone was one of my favourite TV western shows, I look forward to more of you posts. By the way, I am relieved that one more hole in a coffee card does not make me a redneck!! haha

hahaha..well angiemitchell most of us have SOMETHING about us that is redneck so just wait, we'll find something eventually that you identify with! lol.

About Daniel Boone though...yes he was great but this man in my post is not the original Daniel Boone, he was just named after him. The man in my post is Daniel Boone May. But you're the 4th person who thought I was talking about the famous Scout and Frontiersman so I will need to clarify that point next time.

I think that I am a little disappointed janton. However, I look forward to hearing more about Daniel Boone May.

Perish the thought janton, a redneck?!? lol

hahaha! "perish the though" lol. well there are some things about us redecks that are very very admirable and good. That's why I call myself a Gentleman Redneck. Some of the best people are smartest people are rednecks but most have quite a few quirks and behaviors which are frowned upon by most of society. lol.

But I may get around to writing about Daniel Boone, I don't know how much accurate information there is about him but if steemit lasts I think I will get to him.

That is still a pretty desolate stretch even today! I can remember driving from Cheyenne toward Deadwood looking for a place to stop to have lunch and we drove many many miles looking for some place that served food. The place that we finally did stop at was certainly not a prize-winning cafe!

hahaha! that sounds funny the way you said it and I'm sure that's a very nice way to put it! lol. But that is very interesting, it's still bare land with no one there huh? I don't know what the land is like there, just pasture land and not crop land?

Can't wait @janton! These are inspirational stories. Thank you

howdy sir badger! thanks for the kind words. There are alot of interesting stories out there so as long as steemit is running I'll try to get some posted!

Interesting post, look forward to more. - the pic reminded me of a tv program called "Wells Fargo" from way back.

howdy back again lizziesworld! yes Ma'am well Wells Fargo was the most well known stage coach line back then and I was tempted to use one of their stagecoach photos but that wouldn't be accurate.

Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87