The Badass Woman Warrior Who Took Down Custer

in #history5 years ago (edited)

Historic drawing of the 1876 Battle of the Rosebud:

unnamed.jpg
source

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

I started a story in yesterday's post about a female Cheyenne warrior named Buffalo Calf Road Woman.

Her and her husband, Black Coyote, joined Crazy Horse and his forces to battle the U.S. army.

The army was ordered to bring in any Indians who didn't show up on the reservation to meet about selling their Black Hills, Wyoming land.

Today's story

When the bands didn't show up at the reservation the government sent three forces led by three generals to go find them and force them to the reservation so they could force the sale which some of the Indians were refusing.

The general that Crazy Horse fought was General George Crook. I even have a photo of him:

image.png
source

Gotta love that beard! I think that's cool. I wonder if Mrs. J. would let me grow mine out like that? Maybe braid the points on each side? lol.

So anyway during the battle, which was a draw basically, only because the Crow and Shoshone nations were helping the army.

They saved their butts time and again from the beginning to the finish of the battle and prevented them from marching right into an ambush from the start because of their scouts...preventing a massacre.

Wow..so anyway, in the battle, Buffalo Calf Road Woman's brother who's name was "Coming In Sight," (I kid you not), was shot and wounded and fell off his horse.

The situation looked dire because he was pinned down by rifle fire from a hill and no one was around to come to his aid. In fact, soldiers were closing in on him.

Into the line of fire

However, Buffalo Calf Road Woman was watching this and said "Oh no, he ain't goin down like THIS!"

She charged down the hill right in the line of fire with bullets flying past her head, helped her wounded brother up on her horse, then took off again and safely made it back behind the lines.

General Crook himself saw this fierce act of heroism and shouted "Damn, did you see that!?"

He was probably also wondering why no one could hit her. He had two companies of Riflemen on that hill making it very difficult for the Indians.

The best thing about this act of bravery? They changed her name to "Brave Woman" ..thank goodness.

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAMxodQF1jJNdfpHTCGove.png

Side note: The General was amazed

General Crook was amazed and stunned at the tactics and skill of the swarming Indians. Here's what he said about them:

"They were the best cavalry soldiers on earth. In charging up toward us they exposed little of their person, hanging on with one arm around the neck and one leg over the horse, firing and lancing from underneath the horses' necks, so that there was no part of the Indian at which we could aim."

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAMxodQF1jJNdfpHTCGove.png

No one knew women were there

The other major surprise that the Cheyenne revealed about Brave Woman is that she was at the Little Big Horn, also known as Custer's Last Stand.

But she wasn't just there, she was in the thick of the fighting and she was the one who knocked General Custer off his horse with her War Club!

When she did that he was quickly pounced upon and killed I think. There was also at least one other female warrior there at that battle named Moving Robe Woman but I don't know anything about her.(But I like the name).

How General Custer actually died and who killed him gets a little murky because different tribes of the attacking force have different versions.. but some say that Moving Robe Woman was the one who killed Custer by stabbing him when he hit the ground.

HOWEVER...historians and tribes agree that it was Brave Woman who knocked him off his horse.

Little documentation

Like many American Indian tribes the Cheyenne did not keep written history records so the exploits of warriors and the history of the tribe has been passed down in oral tradition for millennia, adhering to strict accuracy from one storyteller to the other.

The Cheyenne storytellers who revealed the accounts of Brave Woman are Kate Big Head and Iron Teeth. They told an author who wrote a book about her so I may be doing a detailed series on her life because there is much more to tell!

The ledger paper drawings

In yesterday's post I talked about tribe artists using buffalo hides to record the events of their tribe and when they were moved to the reservation they used the large paper sheets that accountants used.

Well, it just so happens that one of the museums has a copy of a drawing which depicts Brave Woman rescuing her brother:

BCRW.jpg
source

a0esw215rr.png

I think their paintings lose alot by having to be done on sheets of paper instead of buffalo hides! It's just wrong.

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

uvsylyennv.png

l1xgphrt5d.png

ak059z170l.png

Sort:  

Shoshone were under the impression that we had a treaty of 1806 that acknowledgement of our lands and people.

Now we have to rely on the 1868 FT Bridger treaty that is seriously limited.

Sacajawea role was totally forgotten by the 1860s...

Screwed over time and time again by our government.

Posted using Partiko Android

I knew there was a good reason that the great Shoshone warriors were helping. They were true heroes in that battle from start to finish. Thanks so much for your imput and knowledge sir ganjafarmer!

Your welcome!

Posted using Partiko Android

I can always count on your sirjanton for a history lesson!

Thank you sirbearbear! Well, people need to study how idiotic the government acted back then and pay attention today because I don't think governments act much differently.

Well, at least General Crook gave the Indians credit for their riding and fighting skills. I agree that the paper drawings just isn't right. The names of the Indians are interesting and a mouth full. I am assuming they didn't have nicknames. LOL!

lol! I don't know if they had nicknames but they needed them! Sitting Bull's great grandson's sister is named "Lydia Little Spotted Horse Red Paint." lol.. I love those Indian names too.

That name sure is a mouthful. : )

The thing with those Indian names is there's a story behind each one!

Love that beard..I say you grow it out without telling Mrs. J and see how long you can get it before she says anything!!! :-D

haha! I don't think it would get very long, maybe a half inch! I could show her that photo, you never know, she might like it!

I say show her the photo!!!! What do you have to lose??

I'll do that, she needs a good laugh!

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 5.56% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy steem-plus! Thanks so much for the upvote!

Wow! She was a Brave Woman. I had no idea about her part in the defeat of Custer.

It's very interesting that they kept this secret society of female warriors a secret to the white man! Yes she was awesome.

I wonder if it had to do with the way white men of the day treated women.

Yes, I read one Native American lady saying that the Indians knew how the white man looked upon women as completely separate and in a subservient way so they didn't think the white man would understand women living and fighting alongside the men with no separation or privacy or facilities because of the Victorian Era ethics of the whites. And that's true, the whites wouldn't understand I don't think. lol.

That's the reason I suspected they kept it a secret. They were wise to do so.

I agree. The white man thought they were nothing but savages anyway. They were way in the future on that one!

Hi janton, if you grow a crazy beard and braid it please post the photo, haha. I love the names of these brave women and men warriors. Can you imagine naming our kids with such names? lol.

lol! Those names were something weren't they? And even the modern Cheyenne who told the stories, Kate Big Head and Iron Teeth! lol...yeah I think white people should try that!
I'll let you know if I grow a beard like that but I have a suspicion that I wouldn't get it very long!

I have a strong suspicion on that too, shame - haha.

lol! yeah that's too bad, it would be highly entertaining!

You got a 22.75% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @janton! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Howdy ocdb! thanks so much for the upvote and for helping so many of us!

You sparked a couple of things, Janton, thank you. This reminds me of elementary school, it would’ve been 4th grade and 6th grade (not sure where i lived for 5th).

We played a game called crossfire—similar to dodgeball I guess but a little more dangerous since you had the opposing team both in front of and behind you. Anyhow, the teacher always depicted the two teams around me and an Indian girl, I even remember her name—Tanya Osuna. And, you know what? Each and every game, it always came down to me against her. She kicked every single persons butt on my team, boys, girls, didn’t matter. I remember a part of the rules was if you’d catch the opposing teams throws (10+ balls flying at all times) that person was out, had to go behind the opposing team and try to throw theirselves back into the game. Man, she always caught everything I threw at her. As hard as I could throw it, most the other kids couldn’t catch them, her, however, she never missed one.

Also, this one’s a funny one. On a job one time, I had an Indian Wireman on my crew from New Mexico. One day I asked him “what’s your tribe name?” He said “Walking Eagle.” I asked how he got that name and he told me “because I’m so full of Shi... I can’t fly!” Ha!! True #story.

Looking forward to this one, Janton, that was a fun read.

Howdy sir dandays! Those are great American Indian stories, wow! Both of those are great. Generally speaking they do have some fantastic characteristics. I remember reading an article years ago by a big time builder, he built skyscrapers and he always tried to find Indians in his field because they had superb balance and no fear of heights.

That Walking Eagle story is hilarious though! Was he serious or was that a joke?

You know, I’m not 100% certain to be honest with you, Janton, but that’s what he told me and I believed him. If it was a joke, I fell for it and have continued falling for it for approximately 9 years. The only reason I know how long it’s been is because the towers came down in New York not too long prior to meeting “Walking Eagle.” 👍🏿

Posted using Partiko iOS

@janton, how goes it this evening, sir? Eh, no rush, I’m kinda over @esteemapp at this point. My last two posts I avoided bothering you, like I repeatedly have to do in order to get their attention, and went through their discord server to get them to visit my page. But I’m kinda curious man—since you have a friend over there, what’s the deal with my specific account?

Every single food fighter, Pura’s first two times using their app, nobody every has a problem and the votes come through automatically—yours included.

Don’t worry about reminding whoever it is to vote my article this time, I’m tired of asking—it feels begging now, I’m over it. What I’d like to know is, what is it that got me on the ‘do not vote’ list? I’m curious to know. I’ve never typed a curse wOrd, I’ve never used an image outside Pixabay, Unsplash, or Pexels, you yourself know the bodies of my articles are nothing less than novel-size at times and all of my material is original-content. I’d just like to know who I pissed off and how—where’s the issue? Thanks man, take to you soon.

Say hello to the Mrs. for me and throw the ball for jack for me once, please. 👍🏿

Howdy sir dandays! Doin great this evening. Sweating my tail off but hey that's what it's like in Texas in the summertime. 110 degree heat factor. lol. Anyway, well I'm shocked but I'll find out because for some reason you're falling through the cracks.

I'll talk to my friend, she doesn't do the voting for your account and from what I understand it was a group that were doing them, mostly foreigners but that shouldn't matter at all. You're Mr. Original with the entire content except a few free images like you said.

I don't think it's personal and if it is they can set you up on an automatic vote like mine is. Even that isn't 100% but should be close. I'm glad you told me because something ain't right there. Of course, I can see why Puravida would go flying through, they probably saw one post and she's got the green light forever! lol.

I'll probably find out sometime tonight but it would be very late there but I'll still let you know.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Howdy esteemapp! Thanks so much for the upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99