Growing Our Own Fruits and Veggies in Panama - Wellness Wednesday by A Panama Mama

in #homesteading6 years ago

When we moved to Panama, we heard from friends that you can put a stick in the ground and it will sprout. We have actually witnessed this - fences made out of tree limbs will grow new trees, cut a stick off of a plant you like and watch it grow! The soil here is truly rich, dark and very fertile.

IMG_6117.JPG
If you look really close, you can see the baby potato growing right above the brown skin

I am very new to gardening. When we lived in Texas, we tried to plant some things, but it would get so hot during the summer, no one wanted to go out and tend them. The temperature here is very pleasant for gardening and the rainy season helps to establish the roots.
IMG_6116.JPG
Wild blackberries we picked

One thing we hope to do in the future is have some fruits and vegetables that we can harvest and eat from our land. I recently planted 11 avocado trees, but I hear they take five years to produce fruit. I also planted about ten ice cream bean trees. These grow amazing pods whose seeds are covered in a yummy white substance that is super sweet and sort of tastes like ice cream! I grew both of these types of trees from seeds.
IMG_6174.JPG
Sweet potato plants

Every time we eat something with a seed, I plant them to see if they will grow. We now have some super hot pepper plants growing, sweet potatoes, regular potatoes, tomatoes and who knows what else. I lost count and I mixed up the seeds and plants, so we will be surprised when something come up! I also recently bought a strawberry plant and we have eaten all of two strawberries off of it! I received a pumpkin squash from a friend recently and plan to plant those seeds. I have never had a green thumb, so I guess it will take practice for me to learn how to actually garden!
IMG_6175.JPG
Lots of little plants and a chayote

When we moved here, our land already had some fruit trees on it. We have some amazing lemon trees, navel oranges, mandarin oranges, limes and even some blackberry bushes. We also have some lemongrass growing and some guaba fruit (but we do not eat them because they always have tiny worms).
IMG_6176.JPG
Our tasty lemon tree!

I would love to hear any advice you have. What should I do as a newbie gardener starting out? Do you plant all the seeds that you get also? What would you make with the blackberries?


<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Wellness Wednesday will be brought to you here every Wednesday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week for ideas to improve your health and wellness through recipes, exercise, natural health and so much more!
If you would like to share your thoughts, feel free to in the comments.
Thanks for visiting!

!steemitworldmap 9.059013 lat -79.471001 long David District D3SCR
Check this out on the steemit World Map

Sort:  

the lemon tree looks amazing.. how about a orange tree

The orange trees are down the hill and I didn't walk down there to take a pic. :) The lemons on this tree are really yummy. A friend took some recently and made me a super tasty lemon pie with them! YUM! Thanks for stopping by.

Isn't growing your own food frickin AWESOME?! We started this year and it was such a fulfilling feeling to eat what you have planted and tended to all season.. Its really neat you already have a bunch of fruit trees in you yard, way better snack than candy!
Be careful with strawberries, they only fruit a little bit the first year but they are like vines and grow and move extremely fast! We planted 8 at the beginning of the year and have like 40 or 50 now! lol, they took over a whole raised bed! So make sure to tend to them or put them somewhere by themselves. Anyhow, goodluck and have fun growing all that stuff! :)

Nice - thanks for the advice! I didn't know strawberries would reproduce so quickly! Right now I have them growing in a milk jug. Lol! That's how we have been doing our "container" garden because we go through a ton of gallons of milk a week, so they make for great "free" containers for that. Then I get them started and plant them. Can't wait to eat some of the stuff once it really takes off. :) Thanks for the comment.

Yeah, always down to talk about homesteading :)
Congrats on the awesome upvote value of this post! U deserve it! ;)

Lol - thanks. Yeah, I was totally shocked with the upvote. :)

Looks like you are doing a great job without much help. I sure do wish I could plant something in the ground and have it just take off. Just plant what you enjoy eating and have a good time with the process. Thanks for your post.

Thanks for the comment! Hopefully some of the stuff we like will grow. It sure is amazing how this volcanic soil makes everything flourish!

Wish we had some here. The previous owners could have been kinder to the earth. We are trying to reawaken the beauty with sand. Haha

Wow you definitely have a green thumb and a knack for gardening. I am not too much into gardening but enjoy reading posts on the topic often because my mother is passionate about it so I read stuff and share it with her.

Oh nice! My gardening ability has to come from 1. Panamanian soil, 2. Panamanian rainy season. If I had to water on my own, it would never happen. I can't even get myself to pull weeds (I can't tell what's a weed and what's a plant I want to keep)! I planted some plants that I had grown from seed yesterday and today I went to look at them. One was about twice as big as the others, overnight. I'm now questioning if it is a weed. I have no idea!! :) THanks for the comment.

Hahaha I like your honesty and I am glad the soil and rainy season are making gardening fun and easy for you :)

It's amazing what will grow in Panama, especially at the higher elevations.

Yes, bananas too that I forgot to mention. Thanks for the comment!

That's great! We're in Colombia where we live on our farm. We have avocados too, it can even take 7 years before they fruit. Panama is quite wet though, so maybe it's faster there. We're in a wet-dry climate with hot and dry 'summers' and wet 'winters'. Good luck with your growies!

Very cool that you're in Colombia! Neighbor! 7 years? Yikes!! Well, at least we will have a few shade trees along our fence line until then. :) We have a rainy season and dry season. I think dry season is from December to March or April (the one coming up will be our first as we moved here 7 months ago). :) I'm going to check out your blog. Welcome to steemit!

The soil here is truly rich, dark and very fertile.

Wish I had good soil. I always have to keep checking the pH levels and making sure the fertilizer is correctly fixed. So time consuming.

I LOVE your lemon tree!! I am imagining lemonade... lemon custard.. lemon tarts... lemon cookies... lemon drops... (please use Bubba's accent from Forrest Gump here)

Lol! Thanks for the comment. I honestly hadn't thought of doing any of that stuff really with the lemons. Just lemonade. A friend made us a lemon pie and it was so yummy. Lemon cookies? Wow! I will have to find a recipe for the things you listed. Yummy!! Lemon desserts are my favorite and I didn't even think about it. If you see my blog start to be taken over by lemon recipes, you'll know I have you to thank... ;)

I'll proudly take credit for anything lemon

Ha ha! :) I better start making a list of all things lemon. You've created a monster. ;)

Congratulations @apanamamama, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2641 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2173.60. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Wow, super cool stats. Thanks for putting that together and letting me know about it. :)

This is a fantastic post!

My wife and I made a planter box for our backyard this summer and planted a few things. It's difficult to grow things from seeds, especially with the weather like it is here. You're much closer to the equator, so I envy your fruit trees.

I actually planted some lemon seeds from a grocery store lemon back in the summer and successfully sprouted about 9 of them. Unfortunately only 2 or 3 of them are still viable at this point. I'm still excited that they even came up in the first place. They're inside now, as they don't like the winter.

I can't say I have any tips for you. You're much better off with the soil and temperatures in Panama than I am up here in the US, so I'm sure with a little bit of coaxing, you can grow whatever you want.

You may have seen @papa-pepper's account since he's a popular Steemian, but he does many posts about gardening and such. You might enjoy taking a look at some of those. He also does videos, which can be helpful.

Best wishes growing things. Be sure to keep us updated!

Thanks for all the advice. I have seen some of @papa-pepper 's stuff, but I need to look again. He seemed to have a wealth of knowledge. Cool about the planter box. My husband wants to do raised beds around our house (mostly for flowers) at some point. Cool that you sprouted lemon seeds from seeds you got from a grocery store lemon. I thought they made all seeds not reproduce - like watermelon seeds. I'm not sure how it is here. I hear there are some things we can't grow here because there is so much water - stuff rots out, mold is an issue. Thanks so much for the comment. :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=apanamamama
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=growing-our-own-fruits-and-veggies-in-panama-wellness-wednesday-by-a-panama-mama


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Yea yea yea yea! I love steemit world map. It's pretty cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01