Awww WTH 😭😭

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

It's been a while since I tended the garden. With winter, my pouring obsession and restructuring SteemPh the garden fell off my priority list.

What I should have done though was grab all the broccoli when they were ready before this happened.

image

And just like that, 5 organic broccolis gone.

I've been sitting here trying to rationalise and say to myself that I wouldn't have used it anyway so at least something else got to enjoy it.... But still..

It took 4 months to grow and it looked beautiful. I should have at least taken a photo when I saw it.

The rest of the garden is in a similar shape with some marigolds dead, the lettuce and rocket all flowering and the basil decimated.

image
(Basil = Dead)

There are still plenty of tomatoes left even though the Black Russian is close to cremation.

image
(Tomatoes from the Tommy-toes. Although not the apricot size they advertised it to be, at least it's still alive.)

image
(The black russian. I'm pretty sure it's dead)

The strawberries grew but were eaten as soon as they grew but found these taking shelter in the rosemary.

image

The critters don't seem to like beans much though, but by the looks of it, I don't think I'm too keen either..

image

We are going to have to figure out how to protect our crops. There's so much native wildlife here and between the very well fed possum and the birds, special mention to the cockatoo who pick lemons from our tree and the magpies that dug out all my alfalfa sprouts, I'm surprised we still had things left to pick!

image
(What's left of the lemons.)

image
(Our very first, and only, orange.)

Lemons, broccoli, tomatoes ~ yeh it sucks they seem to be on the menu, but they're not my faves. I'm really hanging for the eggplants as long as they leave that for me they can have whatever they want.

It's cold, it's winter, I'm sure the critters are all hungry and have families to feed. I know the struggle is real so I suppose I'm happy to share... For now..

Do you have a veggie garden? Which is your favourite plant? Ohh and if you have fruit and veggies what do you do to protect your crops?

Happy Monday Steemit!

❤ Arly

Sort:  

Looks like someone cut it? Otherwise what wild life would eat a whole broccoli like that?

Ohh mate you need to come up and leave the big smoke. My money is on the resident possum, but my gardening group reckons it could be one of the birds. Apparently their brassicas got attacked too.

Yeah I'd say it was birds too.

Did not think theyd have a go at the broccolis 😭

Oh we have possums and big rats walking around in our garden as well. But they only eat our grapefruit which is too sour for us to eat anyway. Didn't know possums are interested in broccoli and I clearly didnt know birds are capable of eating a while broccoli lol

Ohhh you have grapefruit! I didn't know they liked broccoli either! Or that the birds did.

My garden is like a free buffet for the animals up here. Had to sit in the garden yesterday when they all came out and started picking at the tomato plants.

I have tomatoes citrus and chillis. The tomatoes withered after giving me 3 fruits. T_T

My citrus, I have mandarin oranges, calamansi and orange but they're still too young and the caterpillars are feasting on their leaves everytime.

My chilli has 1 fruit right now. I hope it doesn't die on me once I harvest that one fruit.

Luckily, the only ones trying to destroy my plants are the caterpillars and my little gardener pulling the leaves. Haha

Nice selection Rome! Im thinking I need more citrus. My calamansi wont fruit. I heard its good to have two of the same plant something about pollination. Maybe try that and see if you'll have more fruit.

I think Id prefer caterpillars. I havent seen a single one thanks to all the birds. The birds seem to be eating everything. 😂

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25