How to make LARD in a Crock-Pot! It's really easy!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)


Mmmmmm..... LARD!



Haha, how many times have you said that phrase?



Perhaps never, BUT lard is some great stuff, and well worth making. After all, it is one of the ONLY food sources of vitamin D, not to mention, it makes WONDERFUL nourishing salves and such. It comes from the fat of a pig, which is often a wasted part.


P1070180.jpg

Before I show you how to make it, you can check out how not to make it, if you are curious. I'm sure there is a way to do it in a dutch oven, but I still don't know how!
I DO know how to make it in a crock pot, though, so here you go!

First of all, obtain pig fat.


I don't know where most people get theirs. I get mine from a neighbor who likes to raise a pig a year, and they are not interested in making lard, so I am welcome to theirs. You could check your local butcher, raise a hog, or even just save up fat scraps from trimming raw pork chops in your freezer. Might take a while, but that would work too.

P1070146.jpg

Next, slice up that pork fat into chunks. Or grind it if you have a meat grinder and feel like going to the trouble. It's not necessary, though.
Cut off any large chunks of meat attached to the fat and make soup out of them or something.



P1070156.jpg

I started off making 1" chunks, but I admit, by the end, my pieces were definitely larger than one inch!

Try not to slice up your fingers. I did not listen to this bit of advice. Let me tell you, slicing up fat makes your hands greasy and does not allow a band-aid to stick well...



P1070149.jpg

Put a little water in the bottom of your crock pot. This allows the lard to start melting without sticking, and the water will evaporate off long before it's time to jar up.

Set the crock pot to low, and ignore it pretty much all day.


You may want to stir it once in a while, to prevent sticking. Or don't. It doesn't make a huge difference.

P1070143.jpg

After a couple of hours or so, you will notice the fat beginning to melt down.



P1070164.jpg

Some people wait until the fat is entirely melted before dipping it out, but I am not patient enough for that nonsense. I start dipping it out whenever I notice there is enough there to fill a jar.

You will need a metal strainer and some cheesecloth, or, as I like to use, an old, clean washcloth, to strain the lard from the skin. Strain it into a large pyrex measuring cup, a pan, or anything else you can use to pour the hot fat into canning jars. Of course, if you have a glass or metal funnel, you can strain it directly into the jars. Hot fat can melt plastic, guys, don't do anything crazy!


P1070169.jpg

After you have your liquid lard jarred up, it will be a yellowish color. This is normal.



P1070188.jpg

After it cools, it should solidify. This depends on the temperature of your house, though. If you have a warm house, it may stay liquid. If you pop it in the fridge, it will become white and creamy.



P1070180.jpg

The skin pieces left in the pan can be turned into 'cracklin's' if you like. I've never been very successful with this part, (I generally just give mine to the chickens), but you can throw them in a frying pan and fry till crispy. Supposedly.



P1070174.jpg

This, my friends, is how I make lard. It comes out great every time.

Quick tip, the lard you dip out first will be less 'porky' tasting than the lard you dip out at the end. I save the first jar or two to use for things I don't want any flavor or smell in. Not that it stinks or anything, but who wants to eat desserts made with pork-tasting lard? Or use a lotion smelling of pork fat? No one. The last jar you take out from the remnants of browned fat tend to have a slight pork flavor, and should be used for frying and such.

Officially, I have to recommend keeping this in the refrigerator. Unofficially, I have kept sealed jars of lard in a cupboard for a year or more and used them without ill effects.

Here are some of my non-cooking uses for lard:

Non-Toxic Deodorant
Salve/Lotion
Non-toxic Sunscreen


page-break-1024x256.png

Thanks for reading! ♥ Hopefully you all find this helpful! (Or, at least, entertaining...) Feel free to share how you make lard, or your favorite way to use the stuff!
Have a lovely day!


page-break-1024x256.png


Badge comp.png


Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Maybe the salve might do something but this doesn't really strike me as healthy!

They do use it for cooking chips in Yorkshire, UK though, and they are incredible tasty but its beef now pork. The best tasting stuff, usually isn't so go for us.

Lard has a bad reputation for sure, but it is actually much healthier than many other things, like shortening or margarine. I mean, you wouldnt want to just eat it with a spoon, but it is a healthier alternative when baking or frying things.
Check out these links if you want more details of how lard is actually a healthy fat. :)

http://geniuscook.com/lard-is-healthy/
https://www.prevention.com/food-nutrition/a20488068/should-you-be-eating-lard/

Thanks for stopping by!

Huh... I never considered making or using lard! I always thought that it was an additional thing to add to recipes, but I notice that you have a few decent non-food uses as well! Is it something that keeps a long time or does it go rancid?

It seems to keep for quite a long time. I guess technically it CAN go rancid, but I never have had any. I keep the open jars in the fridge, and sealed jars inthe cupboard, and never a bad jar. When I was a kid, my grandma would keep an ice cream container of the stuff in her cupboard and it was not sealed, and I dont think it went rancid. Im guessing it takes a LONG time...

Good stuff! I didn’t know this is how you make Lard.. hehehe

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha thanks! :)

Woah, that is one thing I had never thought of making. I didn't realize it was that easy, I will definitely be trying this. I use lard for tamales, delicious!

Give it a shot! Its as easy as it looks!

this is so damn awesome!! woo hoo thank you so much for sharing this, i needed to learn how to make good lard too instead of buying anything that might be made with chems. excellent

Yesssss... the grocery store lard definitely has preservatives. I actually had to buy some once, and it just grossed me out the additives they put in there. Homemade is best for sure, and bonus points for if you know how the pig in question was raised. ;)

are there points for this? hehe
you mean by your neighbor or grassfed / veggies only or he only got one a year ?? soooo hahaha
i dunnoooo but ive been trying to stay off meat darnit. its been helping im on a 21 day cleanse. i ise lard for making carnitas and i just saw a bun recipe that uses lard. yum

Haha, there are totally points! ;)
I just meant that there is a difference in the quality of lard between factory farmed animals, and home raised. Preferably pastured pork, but that is not a common practice...
Carnitas are delicious! Have you ever posted the recipe? I dont know how to make those...

well yes i know the difference there, i only eat grass fed or free range or hand raised food. i havent posted on carnitas, but its a lot like your grittle, also its the meat attached to the fat that makes that lard. just fried instead of crock potted bc its crispy texture.

Sounds fabulous! Ill have to look up a recipe!

i may write a post. maybe ahahha

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 259 (9/16/18)

I have only rendered lard in the oven. This looks like a good alternative method. Also, I freeze mine in pint jars (or smaller) and get them out of the freezer as needed. It keeps well that way, too.

I bet it would keep pretty much forever that way!
I like doing it this way because the oven heats up the whole house, whereas the crock pot isnt as bad, and in the hot summers here, the less heat Im producing, the better!

Keeping the lard in the cupboard started off as an experiment, because I wasnt sure if it would last that way or not, and it did! My back up plan was to freeze it.

Oh yes, keeping the house cool is a good thing to do! I guess I've only rendered lard in the winter when it didn't really matter if I heated the house up. Ha ha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94