What the Jimmy Savile episode can teach us about cognitive dissonance

in #informationwar5 years ago (edited)


I first heard rumours that Jimmy Savile was a pedophile in the 1980s. The case has been in the news headlines again recenty, as it forms part of the Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse.

Savile's notoriety has spread across the globe, but for those who are unfamiliar with the story, Jimmy Savile was a household name in Britain for four decades, a pop radio station DJ who became a prime time television star. He was known for his long-running TV show Jim'll Fix It, where he granted children their wildest dreams. He was a tireless charity fundraiser, raising an estimated £40 million for hospitals and children's charities, and a keep fit people's hero, who ran the London Marathon every year.

Savile even won an award from public morals campaigner Mary Whitehouse, for providing "wholesome family entertainment".

The hideous reality


During his lifetime, Savile's thousands of fans had no idea that he was actually raping many of the children in the hospitals he visited. Some of the children whose dreams came true on Jim'll Fix It found that their dreams rapidly turned into nightmares at the hands of the sex beast.

It wasn't until after Savile's death in 2011 that the extent of his sex crimes were revealed in a TV documentary. Savile is believed to have raped or sexually assaulted hundreds of victims, ranging from age five to 75. There were claims of necrophilia, with the DJ being granted regular, unsupervised access to the mortuary of Leeds General Infirmary.


Cognitive dissonance can blind us to disturbing realities. Image from Pixabay

It's likely that the true extent of Savile's barbarity will never be fully revealed.

The Wikipedia page on Savile says that allegations linking him to child abuse date back to 1963.

I have always wondered why atrocities such as those carried out under the Nazis can be carried out, with most of the public seemingly unaware or unconcerned, for so long. The Jimmy Savile episode gives me some insight into how these things happen. It's about cognitive dissonance.

Cognitive dissonance is described by Britannica.com as "the mental conflict that occurs when beliefs or assumptions are contradicted by new information".

Rumours


As I said earlier, I first heard rumours that Savile was a pedophile in the 1980s. I was working as a magazine journalist, for a company based in Scotland. A Scottish freelance photographer who was based in London used to visit our offices regularly to discuss his commissions. He liked to impress us with the latest celebrity gossip – presumably to give the impression that he was hanging out with the stars.

This was decades before the advent of social media, and even the tabloid newspapers didn't carry as much celebrity gossip as they do today.

One of the rumours that this photographer told us was: "That Jimmy Savile's a pedo." He muttered about it in a tone of disgust.

It was hard to believe that Jimmy Savile, who did so much for charity, could have such a dark side – though at the same time, Savile wasn't the kind of person that you'd describe as warm and cuddly. He always seemed a bit odd.

I was quite shocked by it, and told friends and family: "Did you know that Jimmy Savile is a pedophile?"

Not one of them believed me. They dismissed the idea out of hand. I remember my dad saying, "Jimmy Savile is a good man. He does an enormous amount of charity work. You shouldn't believe scurrilous rumours."


Jimmy Savile at the Leeds Marathon in 1982. Photo by William Starkey.

That was how most people seemed to see it. The man did charity work, and you could "just tell" that he was a good person from his public persona – even if he was a bit odd. A lovable eccentric – that's how most people saw Jimmy Savile in the 1980s and 90s.

Eventually I stopped believing the rumours myself – in fact, I forgot all about them. I did such a good job of forgetting these rumours, that years later I just had a vague sense that there was something unsavoury about Savile – but I couldn't remember exactly what.

It's also likely that many of the victims of Savile's abuse were simply not believed. This is the real tragedy.

Reunion


A few years ago, I attended a reunion of my former work colleagues. A group of us were chatting together, and someone mentioned that the photographer who had told us about the rumours all those years ago had recently died.

We started talking about him, and about some of the gossipy stories he used to tell us – including the Savile rumours.

Suddenly it all came back to me. I remembered that photographer telling us that Jimmy Savile was a pedophile, all those years ago. Most of us had believed him. I think journalists get more insight into the reality of celebrity behaviour than other people. But my friends and family who were not journalists had simply dismissed the idea. They were completely taken in by the public image of the man, fooled by his "good works".

This is cognitive dissonance in action.

Revelation


It wasn't until a television documentary broadcast the revelations that the rumours, which had been resurfacing over the past three or four decades, achieved widespread public acceptance.

This is of crucial importance. Many people will not believe something to be true, unless it's told to them by an "authority figure". An "authority figure" can be a teacher, a peer-reviewed scientist, a newspaper journalist, or someone on the television, wearing a suit. A few decades ago, that person on the TV would have had to be a man.


Many of us unwittingly look on TV as a voice of authority. Image by Vidmir Raic.

Television is still seen as a central voice of authority – probably by most people. This is what makes it a good vehicle for propaganda – and potentially, for covering up certain atrocities, as the Jimmy Savile episode shows us.

It's the reason why there is so much discussion of "fake news" these days. Television, and the mainstream media, are rapidly losing that position of authority, and they are desperately trying to hold onto it.

They are not alone. Politicians have lost a lot of credibility in recent years. In my opinion they have no one but themselves to blame! It's a good thing that people are becoming more questioning on many issues, instead of blindly accepting the "voice of authority".

The Jimmy Savile episode highlights the dangers of this type of cognitive dissonance. Savile and his vile activities were directly and indirectly assisted by the TV industry. How could his professional associates have been unaware of what was going on, when rumours of it even reached me up in Scotland?

This thought often chills me to the bone, and makes me wonder what kind of horrors are being covered up today with the assistance of cognitive dissonance.

 

Main image by JakePaulshop.

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://ramblingandscrambling.co.uk/information-war/what-the-jimmy-savile-episode-can-teach-us-about-cognitive-dissonance/

Swirly divider.png

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

How could his professional associates have been unaware of what was going on, when rumours of it even reached me up in Scotland?

They probably weren't "unaware." It's possible many of them knew. But the horrible risks of speaking up -- or speaking out -- especially when there is money involved ... or the facts contradict as you said in your post, a beloved public figure -- are real and potentially devastating. The same holds true if the offender has power -- status -- position -- wealth.

This is a shameful thing about society -- and maybe human nature itself. That, along with the "blame the victim" rationalizations, being a whistle-blower can literally put your life and the lives of your loved ones at risk. It's no wonder people keep quiet under those circumstances. The courage it takes to speak up isn't applauded. Instead, the costs are often swift and devastating.

As a psychologist I have found this fact of human nature fascinating and deeply disturbing -- in equal measure. It says some terrible things about us as a species. I can't say I like it a bit.

In fact, I find it brave of you to write this post. Good work!!

Thanks @enchantedspirit. I totally agree about whistleblowing. And I don't think his associates can have been unaware of this. I put it as a question, because I can't prove it - we can only speculate. I reckon that some of them probably did speak up, lost their jobs and disappeared into oblivion.

He was a bad bad bastard that's for sure. There were so many jokes being told by people is like everyone sort of knew.

Incidentally, pleased to meet a fellow Scot! Or at our Scottish based steemian!

Yes I think there must be at least three of us Scottish Steemians! I've lost count! I've tried to spread the word up here - I even tried to set up a Steemit Meetup group, but Meetup.org wouldn't allow it. Am I right in thinking you might be a fellow Weegie?

I am, you mean you are not only Scottish but from the finest city in the land!!!

I was going to try and arrange a meet up once but I didn't think there were enough of us!

Absolutely! It is the best - and of course it produces the finest minds, and the best beer. I think we might be the only two - so far.

He still has a cottage somewhere on Yorkshire but its all boarded up. That would make a great Urbex story. HighRoyds, where he did all the abusing has recently been demolished... another place I cant get to now..

His cottage in Glencoe is abandoned - not sure if it's boarded up though. It gives me the chills every time I drive past it. I don't think I'd want to explore any of his old haunts - who knows what you might find?

That may well be it, I would be in quick as a flash if it was unlocked.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 429 (03/15/19)

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

@natubat You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

There were claims of necrophilia

Holy crap!!!

It is hard to fathom. His depravities knew no bounds. I often wonder why - how does someone become this sick?

Did you watch the Louis Theroux documentary with him. Louis was well wide . I think he even went to the police.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can't remember if I saw it first time around. I think Theroux, like most people, just fell for the fundraising eccentric good guy image and ignored any signs to the contrary.

Hmmn very good topic. I guess that most people now are being victimized by cognitive dissonance via fake news.
We just have to be aware but sadly the reality is people are betrayed by what they call as an authority figure which is the media. @natubat

I totally agree! Social media especially.

Johnny Rotten got banned from the BBC in 78 for attempting to expose him. They all knew about it there and protected him

I'd heard about that statement, but hadn't seen the clip. Good old Johnny. People like him weren't taken seriously back then. Thanks for sharing.

Well he was censored and suppressed rather than not listened too. The media spread BS we need to stop listening to them and funding them 💯🐒

Yes, and the reason they were able to suppress it was because most people just weren't ready to hear that (in my opinion). That's why Savile was able to get away with it. People still see the media as authority, though it is rapidly losing its grip, and about time.

I think they tainted his reputation he was banned from BBC interview and made out to be a liability. Maybe your right. But year we need to to give up the media. Too many people see it lies but still continue to read it bizarre but they are conditioned top as the perceived it authority. I gave it all up years ago and feel better, I flick trough but let the rubbish wash over me.To much conditioning and not enough free thought, you are your only authority no one else has any right over you 💯🐒

The mainstream media is an addiction. People are sometimes shocked that I don't watch TV. They think it must be like giving up sugar or something. But as soon as I stopped watching it, I forgot all about it. Same with reading magazines, and then newspapers. The only magazine I read now is a mountaineering one, haha (I'm addicted to that now). Totally agree - we need to think for ourselves :)

That right I constantly try and convert people. It's funny I say I don't have a TV and they reply but you watch netflicks right NO! I Stream documentaries too eat too etc and non Hollywood films. It's been about four years without the TV and I feel so much happier. I get my OT magazines and a bushcraft one, which I need to read more and stop read stuff on Steem haha 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01