Has Instagram Reached Its Peak?

in #instagram5 years ago

A while back I reviewed Instagram's decision to launch IGTV. I didn't say it then but I thought it was a poor move on their part, I didn't think the platform nor the user base would gravitate to it.

However, with a billion active users, anything is possible, right? Put a turd in front of a billion people some are going to try and eat it that you can be sure of. As you can probably tell I'm really no fan of Instagram, I think it's a nothing platform that offers no real value or use to people with rational thought.

However the world isn't rational and millennials are governed and motivated by vanity since well things like racial, economic and civil liberties were handed to them on a platter their fight is for public attention and recognition thus Instagrams success, riding the waves of irrationality.

Instagram TV

It is no secret that Facebook Inc has it out for Google and any shots it can take at claiming market share it's going to do just that. So IGTV was meant to take on YouTube for all its worth and 3 months later we're kinda seeing signs that perhaps they've bitten off more than they can chew.

The Video Experience for YouTube

The way I see it is YouTube is a site that offers users a mobile experience via their app and mobile site. The experience on mobile is decent and brings users into the ecosystem while serious users can make use of the desktop app to really get the full experience. YouTube also has serious embedding power across the internet as well as indexing preference via Google and Google Video search.

YouTube is the second biggest search engine in the world but what makes it so successful is its content recommendation, stumbling and discovery. There is a myriad of different ways to find the content you would enjoy on YouTube.

You can follow users, you don't have to either, you can still enjoy their content you're not really restricted

The Video Experience for Instagram

Instagram, however, defined itself as a mobile-first experience and this is what the majority of their user base is used to. They're not going to use the site to get a superior or superuser experience and even if they did there are fewer options on the site than the native app

Instagrams desktop site was an afterthought meant for acquisition via search and deep linking but is by no means an attraction for users to opt for instead of the app.

Being a mobile first application means you are limited to the amount of real estate you can present to the user at any given time. That's what apps are they are screenshots of the internet conveniently packaged for the user.

This makes content exploration horrid and simply impossible unless you're really going to look for something or you've built up a curation of accounts you really enjoy seeing. All the onus for exploration is on the user and Instagram users are probably the laziest bunch out there.

Did I not say that what makes YouTube great is its wide range of exploration options? So why would users want to use a shitty version of that? Well, ask Instagram they have the answer. Could it be arrogance? Could it be ignorance on their part? They'll never tell.

So have users taken to IGTV

Well not really, it has become a YouTube duplicate with content creators simply dumping their YouTube videos on IGTV and hoping for some views in the process. So what are the reasons why IGTV isn't making waves?

Well, the top ones are:

  • IGTV doesn’t differentiate itself enough from Instagram.
  • There’s no incentive for using IGTV correctly.
  • Searching and browsing videos remain frustrating.
  • IGTV must overcome the stigma of the vertical video format.
  • There's No Ad-Revenue for Content Creators

The kids are alright

Instagram is a place for tweens, teens, insecure people, influencers and "cool moms" and I think they're running out of a user base. As the platform matures you'll see those fickle users begin to jump ship as they're not getting the dopamine hits they require and will move onto something new.

The biggest thing Insta had going for it was it was fresh, new and easy to use, but that's getting stale so how will they keep users engaged or will they start to plateau and eventually fall from the highs they once thought were unstoppable?

Time will tell, but for me, Instagram looks like its primed to implode.

Have at it

What do you think about Instagram? Can it continue to grow? Does it provide any real value in our current digital ecosystem? Is the hype train over? Let me know in the comments

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Sources:

Sort:  

IG is absolutely a vanity app and I’m very glad the tv version is failing, though thank god I didn’t know about it in the first place. What these tech comps don’t understand is people use their apps then delete them after some time because they aren’t relevant anymore.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’m glad I’m not the only one who has a strong detest for instagram! I’m also pretty sure Instagram and Twitter accounts are propped up by business accounts, duplicate accounts and bot accounts and while it is huge it may not be as big as they make it out to be!

I know the time on site is pretty good and it’s literally printing crazy amount of money for Facebook by means of ad impressions but other than making Facebook money I don’t see it as having any benefit

Eventually this irrational hype around this app will have to fade! The content on insta is of no value in any case I don’t think it will be much of an issue if it just up and disappeared

Posted using Partiko iOS

I've downloaded instagram a few times and every time I look at it for like five minutes and go, "I don't know what's happening here." and I delete it.
I'm old and bitter.

Lol you say you've been down the road a few times. We're probably all old and bitter for not liking instagram. Being hip and cool was never about being smart or critical of a trend now was it?

I don't use Instagram anymore. It's nice to browse some photos though, I use it like Pinterest but it do waste my time posting and think so many hashtags lol

Posted using Partiko Android

I used to use it and then I thought what’s the point of this really? Like a mini photo album and I don’t even like taking photos nor am I good at it so the appeal quickly died out for me!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The big thing for me is that they don't give incentive to users who have talents. Unless they have millions of followers! They'll get popular and some companies will offer them some money to promote their products/services.

I've seen excellent posts on photography, art and etc. They should be on Steemit haha

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol you make a good point but not everyone is like us who are willing to take the time to learn about how to use steemit and get rewards! Think of all the reading and effort! Most people just want easy way to fame by posting pics of their butt, food or travels!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Instagram is one of the apps I have zero time for. I just don't get the appeal of looking at people's lunches and photoshopped fitness photos???

Its massively popular so obviously it's me but I just can't see the appeal of it.

Posted using Partiko Android

You and me both and I’m a digital marketer by trade so I research these platforms to see how you can promote goods and services inbtween all the expertly curated moments in your life and even I can’t see the appeal, why people spend time there or why businesses try to spend money to become big on this nothing platform so you’re not alone

Posted using Partiko iOS

So it's not just me then. Going on holidays and all my friends looking for perfect insta photos and photos of the food. It's just annoying to me. Oh well, maybe someday they will be doing it on @steepshot instead.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol or @appics right? I guess some of us just don't value vanity and social capital and like a little thing called cash for our efforts :P to each their own I suppose

I do like cash....

This post has been found valuable and upvoted by El surtidor


This post got an extra 5 power for following us

Follow @elsurtidor to get biggest votes in your next posts

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 166 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Very nicely content!

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi, @chekohler!

You just got a 3.77% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.715 which ranks you at #5102 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 260 places in the last three days (old rank 5362).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #145.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85