Long Overdue Intro Post - Just a Short Story

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

There comes a day when three thousand people follow the money.

done-3000.jpeg

It has to be the money because I have not really authored anything to follow.

So here goes my intro post.

If anyone wants to know me, you can see who I am by what I do. I choose to introduce myself by telling you a true story.

Today you get a new cover image and a short story.

A close family member travels half way around the world to see me, which happens once per year at best. They lost touch with me many years ago. These visits have given us a chance to get reacquainted.

I have always paid for the flights and would not think of allowing them to pay for anything while here. Then again, there was this one year where I found myself refusing to buy plane tickets. Silent scrutiny was in the air as I tried to explain, and they understood, but wanted to make the trip anyway. They bought the tickets that year and all was good!

I still felt really bad. At the same time, I knew I was doing the right thing. The tickets would have cost several btcoins at that time, and bitcoins were the only transferable asset I had. You and everyone else might call me cheap, and I am used to criticism, but there is more to the story.

continuing...

Family members arrived at their own expense. Meals, drinks and accommodations were on me because the dollars had not fluctuated to any extent, though the digital currency had. All went well and my guests returned to their place of origin. Phone calls continued as usual as that year went on.

Sometimes "No" just means, "Not now!"

It was about a year later that I got the call. We started to talk about dates for another visit. Once the date was set, I said, "I know it is difficult to take a few weeks off and come to visit, so of course, I will be picking up the flights this time." I heard a sigh of relief. I then asked for a bitcoin address because I needed them to pick up some things and bring them. Before the conversation ended, I sent a large sum of money and went on to inform them, "I just bought your plane ticket, and I wanted to send you the money for you last flight too." That seemed to make the other party happy.

The money showed up and instead of the price of a ticket it was well over a thousand times that price. Since bitcoin had moved from the two-hundred each, rising to ten-thousand each during that year, I gave them the same amount that I would have spent if I had stupidly bought the first set of plane tickets.

They got enough money to retire on that day. Afterward, bitcoin even doubled, or nearly so. Needless to say, they were happy I had said, "No!"

Their holdings have been split up and reinvested, and I am confident they have doubled up again. There is nothing like a practical example to teach someone a lesson: Never sell low.

-The End

I thought you all deserved a post.

Today, I no longer think about the price of bitcoin. I will not talk about the past issues, or go into the who or what happened in the past. I just wanted to finally give you all a post. Thank you for finding my account worth following.

I am @done


for the complainers who will bash me for using the introduction tags, this is my introduction.

Sort:  

Great job, I like your intro it's inspiring

Hello @done! It is amazing all the followers and the achieved without making a publication.. that says something and there is the answer thousands of people who are really grateful for everything you do every day.

After so much time (although I never imagined it would happen) we can know something about you, a person full of kindness and good wishes. The story is very impressive and reminds me a lot, for something that happened to me very recently.

To summarize, my story that brought me to Steemit a few months ago, was because of a hack that had an Italian exchange with the NANO cryptocurrency, because, at 17 years of age without any help I could reach 400 of those crypto. In December it was quoted at +30 $.. I never touched a penny and I lost everything.. Today I am here thanks to that. It will sound crazy, but I do not regret it, this just starts.

His story made me feel nostalgic and happy, to know him and to remind me why I am here. His confidence in me made me stand up! Welcome to Steemit? :)

It is true that you had not published, in fact I thought you did it through another user (I was curious to know who it was about), it is true that money attracts a lot of people's attention, however, you do not only have money, you also have a good heart, to know that it is enough to see their actions that say more than many publications, You have helped people in need on the platform, not just with votes, you even bought an account with the excuse of helping that user who would not otherwise have accepted your money, your comments and the people you help have special stories, you could choose to write and reward yourself but in your heart there has been no such ambition in all this time. 15 months on the platform just for the sake of offering help to others, that's admirable. There are many things I would like to know about you, and I may not have money but I would like to be able to offer you my friendship, not an interested one but a grateful one!

Thanks to you for helping so many people, because even if you do not believe it, a vote of yours puts food on the table of many people. I wish you the best and that you continue to succeed, you deserve it!

@Done, what a surprise it is to see a publication of your introduction.
I have no doubt that what you have done has already had its reward, and much more so when you are a helper.
We hope to know more about you and see more publications. Regards!

Welcome @done !!! Great agent of change, I am happy to read and I hope to continue reading always, thank you for your support, I hope God continues to fill you with rewards and blessings, count on my support always, the greetings of #Venezuela are you in my prayers, I send you a tight hug.

Welcome @done!!!! :)

I am happy to read your first post (introduction), a nice read. Thanks to your generosity in valuing my publications, it made me grow in this community.

You have my vote and all my support. Regards!!!

That story is absolutely incredible.. I imagine your friend is quite glad he forked out the money for the plane flight! I mean, sheesh, 10 bitcoins?? I need to drastically upgrade my friend group...

I could not bring myself to spend 10 btc and onl y get $2,900 worth of plane tickets. Hind sight is 20/20 but forethought, knowing the potential is what I used.

a very interesting story story @done, keep the spirit and never give up.

You are great @done, everyone will do the right thing when some people can only criticize us. I'm glad to finally be able to see the posts in your short stories and I'm sure you can always see the people around you. do not ever care when someone wants to criticize you. my greetings to you and all your friends there. Introduction is the only way to strengthen the relationship. you are great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97