Introducing Myself through a mild Identity Crisis!

I signed up to Steemit a week ago and I’ve been mulling over this post for quite some time because I didn’t know what to say, but then I realized, how hard can it be to introduce yourself?? So here we go:   

My name is Essen and I am 28 years old (yes, I am of legal age. Don’t be fooled by my high-school-ish appearance). Interestingly enough, this post comes at a very inopportune time because I’m at that stage in my life where I’m actually trying to redefine who I am and I have no clue what it’s going to look like [insert panic attack].   

I’ll start with who I was before:    

I grew up as the daughter of a Diplomat, and that has greatly influenced who I am today. My mother’s assignments took us to live in Spain and New Zealand for 6 years each, and I’ve only spent a little time in my actual home country, which is the Philippines. I understand diplomatic protocol, international relations, the impact of immigration and the culture shock you experience whenever you start living in a place you cannot speak the language of – no, not just a tourist for a couple of months, but as a person who also gets to absorb and adapt the culture.  

That said, I am not a typical Filipina anymore. I don’t feel Filipina, if that even makes sense, even though the images above show how me dancing Tinikling which is a cultural dance, and our National costumes (the Filipiniana and the Barong). I know how conservative we are and I understand our history, but I am also quite “liberated” in terms of my values and my attitude towards certain things. Being part of the Diplomatic Corps though gave me such a different point of view of the world and that has made me far more tolerant and open-minded than I think I ever would have been otherwise.    

I think because of this, when we came back to the Philippines after I finished university and I stayed to work there for the last 7 years, I realized two things:   

  1. I am not someone who can stay in a place for longer than 6 years at a time anymore – the itch to move and discover and live in other places is too much now. I feel restless—as if my life is not moving forward if I don’t move. 
  2. I need growth and challenges in life, or else everything is just completely pointless. It can be a personal challenge, a career challenge, anything just as long as it’s not stagnant.   

Quitting my job:

Because of those two realizations, I quit a perfectly well-paying, stable job as an Admin Manager last December to take a very long break (4 months and counting now?) and figure out what I really want to do in life. I had already felt the travel itch earlier last year, so that led to a solo, tri-city trip to Japan (Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka), another one to Dubai, and ending the year with my family in San Francisco and Los Angeles (the itch was well-scratched lol).   

Which actually brings us to how I am on Steemit right now – and how I met the boyfriend (@david-krug) on an 8-hour bus ride from Los Angeles to San Francisco 4 months ago. 

Next?:

In all honesty, a relationship this year wasn't even within a mile of what I had planned. I was having too much of a crisis about what to do next (still am actually), that I was completely blind-sided by the last four months. As if leaving all security behind wasn't enough, here was this guy who wants to add to my freak-out equation. And yet the other night we celebrated his birthday by hanging out with some street kids (started with 1 at 7pm, ended up with 11 by 10pm), lending them his skateboard, and tried to bring in some health into their lives by buying fruit and feeding them fruit. 

So right now, I think I'm just rolling with the punches and whatever else life throws at me. I’m still trying to discover myself. I know most people do this during the earlier part of their 20s, but I think I was just so focused on my career at that time that I submerged myself deep into it, never coming up for air until now. And when I got my head out of the water, I literally had no idea how far I’d come or where I actually was. I didn’t mean for this to be an identity crisis post, but apparently that’s where this went to lol.

Hopefully by my next post I’ll have a clearer idea of who I am? Thank God I have a very solid support system in the form of friends and family, who no matter where I am in the world or whatever quarter or 30-something or mid-life crisis I have, will always be there to love and guide.

For now, I guess you’ll be joining me in more quarter-life crises, self-discovery, growth and travel adventures! Yay!  

Talk to you all later!
Essen

Sort:  

Welcome to the addictive community of Steemit bae! :) She was so embarrassed that I was reading that she stormed out of the room so now I can write here without fringing so much, but instead she is fringing in the other room haha.

Just so you guys know she ran out of SP and should be back in a day or so.

These two are like music to my ears:

"I am not someone who can stay in a place for longer than 6 years at a time anymore"

That suits me so well. In my case it is more like a 1-2 month limit now before I want to move on or at least to a new part of the city. We have now stayed in 5 parts of Manila in 2-3 weeks.

"I need growth and challenges in life, or else everything is just completely pointless. It can be a personal challenge, a career challenge, anything just as long as it’s not stagnant."

Trying out new things and growing through challenges is so stimulating! Not always fun, sometimes frustrating and disappointing, but always gives us some dream or goal to strive for and some more meaning.

“Success is the progressive realization of a worthy ideal.”

Earl Nightingale

See you in a few seconds and thanks for the mention. ;)

I sooo bet you regret introducing me to this site right now, hahahaha...
At this rate we'll never get anything done (you are right - it is incredibly addictive)

Apparently, I can only tolerate reading your replies (while knowing that you've read the entire thing) when I am more than a 5km radius away from you (I am still cringing by the way). I hope I get used to being so public like this one day.

But I am glad you like half the post and hopefully we get to do more crazy, fun, and productive stuff during the next few weeks. Love you! ;)

Haha, yeah kind of sort of yes and als no, we gotta get more productive but we'll get there!! Love ya! :)

i thought the bae thing was strange until i looked a littler further. yall are hella cute. great story. glad to have you both in the community

@elima, I am glad you thought this whole conversation thread was cute and not completely, and utterly cheesy. :)

Haha, thanks @elima, bae is not usually as much in my vocabulary as babe, just changing it up a bit :D

I see you post a lot of d-tube videos. Watched and commented one and subbed to you I'll see you around!

I cannot write to Essen Vicente. Maybe she blocked me or something.

appreciate it! I subbed to you as well

Very addictive but I can't write to Essen.

Wow what an epic introduction Essen! I'm sure this is only the beginning and you'll be a full on steemian in no time. Glad you decided to join this crazy corner of the internet where we think we're building something special.

Good luck with your blog and see you around the blockchain

@chekohler: Thanks so much, glad you liked the post! Checked your blog and coincidentally enough, you just reviewed a movie we just watched the other day! :)

Aw that’s sweet of you! That is pretty funny, the universe works in mysterious ways

Posted using Partiko iOS

Did Essen block me?

Why would you think she blocked you?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can't reply to her but I can reply to you. When I try to leave her a comment, it says invalid characters. But there were no invalid characters. I tried many times. No matter what I write to her, it gets rejected. I get an error box.

Welcome to Steem. It's a pleasure to have you here with us. Really nice job on your introduction.

Thank you for sharing some of your life journeys with us, and the imagery was very pleasant too! I can't wait to see your future posts!

@futuremind, I'm just going to say thanks again for delegating SP :) I'm glad you liked the pictures. I really hope to share meaningful content on this site for the next few days so that all that SP is put to good use!

I love travel too.

Welcome to the steemit community @essen.vicente!
We sincerely hope you find all that you are looking for here, and have found a new home.
I found this post because @xcountytravelers and @brittandjosie at @heyhaveyamet promoted your post to help you grow quicker, and should you have any questions or need some guidance, you can go to the Steem Terminal in Discord here:

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Have fun and happy steeming!

I love Discord.

Hi @brittandjosie! Just wanted to ask, since I guess you might know -- I only see two activities on Steemd by @joeyarnoldvn here, but none of the comments he left on my page to anyone.

Arnold.png

Am I tracking activity wrong or should I just check this post more often to see comments? I usually am able to see everything there (or so I thought) but are there any other things I should be looking at?

Also, I swear, I don't even know how to use this yet, let alone block anyone. Lol

Hi dear,
You can see all the information on Steemworld.org , and if you are on discord , we can help you in #steemterminal its free and a coop with @heyhaveyamet
Greetz,
Brigitte

Hey @joeyarnoldvn! I haven't been here in a while (mostly because @david-krug and I were so busy the last few weeks), but I'm so sorry if you weren't able to reply to my post.

Usually I use Steemd to track activity and replies to any of the comment threads on my post, but for some reason none of your comments showed up? I tried looking for them elsewhere but I'm not as familiar to this platform yet, so sorry!

Anyway, I thought maybe if I mentioned you on the comment and tagged you on it, you might be able to reply to me directly. I haven't spent long enough hours on this platform to even know how to block people yet, to be honest. Lol So you will have to bear with my Noob-ness for a while. Was there anything in particular you wanted to talk to me about?

No. I did not write comments to you before because I couldn't. Steemit didn't let me write to you. Instead, I got these error boxes. So, I replied to other comments here but not on your post directly or to your other comments directly. So, my comments will not appear in your Replies when I am not replying directly to your posts and comments. I can normally comment on Steemit since I joined in 2017. I can write to you now. Something happened. I think Steemit ran into problems with their blockchain, the servers, the code, or something. Things like that can happen. But the good news is that it is ok now I think and that is good because that means Steemit will continue to improve each day. I have been a web designer and I understand that building websites can be hard. So, Steemit is new and it is hard to build a big website. Very complex.

I see, I see. I'm glad you still commented though! Thanks for the welcome :) I was a little worried I'd accidentally blocked someone and didn't know how.

I am just glad you are here. It appears you can't block on Steemit and I like that. Some people may not like that. You can mute people which ignores them and hides them in the newsfeed.

Thanks for the well done introduceyourself post! Welcome to Steemit.

You've had a very interesting life moving all over. My parents moved a lot when I was a child too, so staying in one place for a long time is hard for me as well. I get the itch to move about every three years.

Congratulations on the new relationship with @david-krug too! I've followed you both. Here's a post I made a while back to help new people:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@finnian/welcome-new-steemian-account-creation-steps-introduction-and-tips

I followed you too, Essen can't reply or follow today due to SP. ;) Cheers and I will check out the article!

I helped with a small delegation that I'll leave for a while while she's getting started. This should help with being able to comment more frequently. Thanks for bringing new people in and helping out ;)

Thanks @futuremind brother, I thought her Steem went up a bit faster than expected when it said she could do 27 now, highly appreciated. :) !

I looked for where to do delegate some of mine too but couldn't find where to do it and it was turning bedtime.

And you are welcome too, I'm happy to do my part in bring people I like in here. ;)

haha , yeah it's no problem man. I regularly visit the introduction posts and try to help out where I can. Plenty others do the same. We have to put in the effort if Steem is to succeed!

Nice to chat again friend, keep up the great work!

Thanks mate, nice indeed, you are the one doing the great work so keep it up and I'll see if I can get there in my way too. ;)

@futuremind -- okay didn't expect this, but my goodness, thank you so much! I was a little surprised because my account said last night that it could only comment once, and could do zero posts, etc, etc. But this is much more than I was actually expecting! :)

It's my pleasure! I'm so happy it helped! I hope everything is going good so far, feel free to ask if you need help with anything!

@finnian, thank you so much for the link! I believe it's one of the most useful and comprehensive posts I have read on this site so far. I didn't really understand what people meant about bandwidth before (clearly, since I ran out of it on the first go lol), but your post actually explained it really well. I'll take the advice about commenting and upvoting to build a network well into account :)

I'm glad it helped and good luck!

I love travel and I was in Vietnam.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake-chocolate-gateau.png

Welcome to Steem! Here's some cake to celebrate your arrival.
Manually curated by @futuremind.

Can I get some cake?

Welcome to steemit @essen.vicente.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!


Welcome to Steemit @essen.vicente!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61220.17
ETH 2979.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73