Freelancing? Maybe just Steeming... steemCreated with Sketch.

in #job5 years ago

Still looking for a job, I considered of trying freelance writing. But I gotta be honest and admit I don't have enough self-confidence for that right now. "What if I can't find clients?" "What if I hit the wall (writers' block)?" All these crippling doubts and fears that might very well be irrelevant looking at my abilities, and maybe I could earn some, but hard to say, having subjective biases and all that, one way or the other.

But what I would be even more worried about, is that having writing as a job could kill that little passion I have for it. I have enough troubles with motivation already: Having not found a job yet, I'm considering to just inform myself as an unemployed into the unemployment office because I'm too bad at faking myself in to the jobs, and to just receive whatever they offer. It would also negate the tendency of avoiding "bad jobs" (ie. jobs that I'm just too picky to apply myself) - sometimes it can be a relief to not have to make choices yourself. However, I found something interesting so I'll try my luck once again.

Problem is, that in many cases motivation follows action. But when there's no action and not much motivation to get up early, it leads to this downward spiral - that I easily experience when stagnant - in which it is sometimes hard to think positively of oneself. Fake it till you make it, I guess...

Talking about motivation, it's strange how different things appeal to one another: my neighbor can't understand how I dared to just go traveling "alone" (you're not really alone; you can make new friends wherever you go) in Europe. Meanwhile I'm amazed how people can tolerate having the same job for years, even decades, and am shamefully lazy of getting one. I guess we are fueled by different things.

But getting back to what I started with: With freelancing it's still just working for someone else, to produce what is required with limited freedom most of the time. But with Steem I can actually produce what I want, and having been somewhat consistent during these 1.5 years on this blockchain, I've actually managed to get some support, or more importantly, relationships and genuine friends who want to reward me.

While the rewards I earn at the moment are nowhere enough to earn a living in the current prices, the future potential is tremendous. The development is active, governance has been restructured and Steem already has 9 dApps in top 20 - not bad from a coin at position 50, measured by marketcap (which as we have learned doesn't mean much). We don't need buzzing or come up with unrealistic lies, because we actually have some objective measure that Steem is doing pretty good compared to most other cryptos which also makes me carefully optimistic about this place, that down the years my accumulated Steem will see some great value.

Just some random photo from the phone because that's what I'm typing this with - it's actually a sunset from Krakow during the Steemfest.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

You like traveling? check
You can survive in nature?check
you like writing?check
so you could be a scientist😝

LoL

Man, you just made me realize I could get like unemployed help or whatever it is unemployed adults get...Except I think they'd expect me to actually pretend to try and get a job. Yeaaah...

If it helps, I don't think freelancing is a good idea either...it seems so draining and unlikable and blood-sucking and...Well, you get the idea. Basically uncreative. If you can, just focus on creativity and doing what you want to do :)

Man, you just made me realize I could get like unemployed help or whatever it is unemployed adults get...Except I think they'd expect me to actually pretend to try and get a job. Yeaaah...

I would too, but there's all sorts of requirements like taking whatever work is offered (not a problem really) and for age an application to school is required - the latter of which makes me go like "oh hell naaaaw", although there's a loophole on the last requirement because you don't actually need to get a place of study or even go to the tests :D

Well, I thought/think of going to get a socionome (or whatever it's called) degree so I could work as a youth worker. But that seems silly, because when I was doing the civil service and helping with the intoxication prevention program for 6th graders, I sometimes actually did my job better than my partner with engaging with the children and keeping their attention, and commanding respect so they would listen at me, in other words being the man in the house. And I'm like really, you need to study for years for this stuff I could do after couple days? Just tell me the practical details of other aspects and I'll probably learn them quickly. How can you learn to care about children anyway? Maybe they teach some special interrogation methods - perfect to make the kids feel like they are in some awkward official setting. The world is just too bureaucratic. Proof-of-sertificate... How 'bout just proof-of-me? :D

workaway.info & building a steem empire for the future ;)

Volunteering doesn't help much when I'm too broke to even leave my home, but I'll keep that in mind. Though building a Steem empire is a solid plan.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hear you brother.
The idea is to somehow find the time and means to work on some long term plan while dodging the horrendous rent prices in most of Europe.
Things like workaway give you the option to learn skills and basically live for free with a roof over your head, food in your stomach and enough time to materializing the plan while not constantly being chased by bills and scarcity-pressure.
Most hosts have free wifi as well which makes it perfect for digital nomads of any sort.
However I have yet to try it, only met a few people who highly recommended it

The idea is to somehow find the time and means to work on some long term plan while dodging the horrendous rent prices in most of Europe.

Luckily I can live at my father for free. I live in Finland in the Helsinki metropolitan area where rents are much higher than elsewhere in the country. But to compensate that, salaries are pretty good hence the plan for short-term is still to find a job and go from there. I actually have an interview tomorrow, so hopefully that works out.

Regarding to nomading, it's pretty hard to do long-term and there needs to be a solid plan if one wishes to make it happen.

Aye, best of luck to you for your interview and finding a way to find the way

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 29.27% upvote from us for your 2525 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.195 which ranks you at #2982 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2981).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 241 contributions, your post is ranked at #94.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@celestal You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Hello @celestal, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01