world.find('job')

in #job5 years ago (edited)

Besides being in the process of moving I am also in the process of finding a job. Not sure if I can find a suitable postdoc position so I am currently looking if I can land a proper job, which is a job outside academia :o)

Apparently, in the Netherlands most job openings for highly analytical graduates require you to do an IQ and numerical test before you can go for an interview. Not sure how to practice for an IQ test but you can definitely practice for a numerical test. The numerical test concerns basic mental arithmetic questions. The quicker you solve them the higher your grade. I couldn't find a nice app to practice so I wrote a short python script which generates random equations using multiplication, division, subtraction, addition and after having inserted all the answers it checks them for you.

2018-11-02 (2).png

Code always looks impressive but it is actually pretty basic stuff. In python you can snake it till you make it.

I used the graphical user interface tinkter. I had never used it before. I am not a big fan of nice interfaces :P. But apparently tkinter is really easy to use. Also most of the job openings require Python skills so I get to improve my progamming + my arithmetic skills :o)

Generally Python is a fang-tastic language. Although, I still prefer doing semi-programming in Mathematica and Matlab. That Python interprets spaces and indentation is really irritating though. (No pun indented)

Sort:  

Not sure if I can find a suitable postdoc position so I am currently looking if I can land a proper job, which is a job outside academia

You have no idea how much I can relate to this, at this point I'm not even sure what's less likely for me - to find a suitable postdoc position, or to leave academia for good.

Tough times...

McDonald's is always looking for fresh blood to flip burgers :D

As an owl I am not sure if I am talon-ted to do that kind of work

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @trumpman bro, I would never thought of that! :D

How about big pharma?

If only they would acknowledge my humble existence and through the process close to miracle decided that I'm the one they need :D

What sort of job are you interested in? (I'm hiring! But probably not in areas relevant to you.)

So far I have been mainly applying for quantative research and consultancy jobs.

I am actually quite interested in machine learning at the moment. The underlying math for machine learning I have pretty much got covered but I am still lacking some programming skills so I am trying to improve on that.

What kind of jobs are you offering :o)

We need to rebuild the team behind Tintri Analytics, the software offering that's based on the per-VM performance data our storage arrays collect. Right now what it does is fairly simple trending, but we want to move into predictive analytics, outlier detection, automatic clustering of VMs, and other quantitative analysis. The "Analytics Architect" position at https://www.tintri.com/company/careers has technical requirements, but we will need strong math backgrounds on the team as well.

(I'm also hiring file system engineers, which is the team I'm leading on an interim basis.)

I think the only qualification on the requirement for the Analytics Architect is: Excellent communication skills, both written and verbal D: I don't have any background in systems, operations, virtualization or storage management. It seems like a long shot for me to join. The projects seems interesting for me to join since there are many learning opportunities but I am not sure if Tintri would be interested in me. :o)

Well you somehow can learn for intelligence tests. It's what tons of applicants for medicine studies are doing ...
Nice script.

Thanks for swinging by :)

I guess if you know what the questions are going to be then you might be able to really practice for it. I noticed that most companies have standard tests they stick with so if you know you want to apply for a specific company then you can practice a couple of weeks for that specific test. However, the variety seems so great that it is complicated to find any free-ware which helps you practice those tests with ease.

Hello! Your post has been resteemed and upvoted by @ilovecoding because we love coding! Keep up good work! Consider upvoting this comment to support the @ilovecoding and increase your future rewards! ^_^ Steem On!

Reply !stop to disable the comment. Thanks!

Oh yes, Python can be absolutely hiss-terical sometimes, that's why I'm trying to learn at least a slither of it without even having a good application in mind.

As a more serious asp-side there is only one reliable IQ exercise that I know of:
The so called "Dual N-back". A desktop version of that kind of excercise is found in the freeware (FOSS? the memory slips me) program Brain Workshop.

Posted using Partiko Android

Here, have a few pennies. They will be enough to get you a kilo of cat food to help you get by until you land a job :)

you have to be kitten me. I am not going to eat cat food

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 13.53% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Hi @mathowl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.377 which ranks you at #7158 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 78 places in the last three days (old rank 7080).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 288 contributions, your post is ranked at #51.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73