(100%) The Devoted Friend (3)

in #kr5 years ago (edited)

본 글은 지적활동증명(Proof of Brain) 워크시트입니다. 참여를 위해서는 반드시 번역 가이드를 읽으세요.


[71E] ✔︎ “‘It is quite mended,’ answered little Hans, coming down the ladder.

[72E] ✔︎ “‘Ah!’ said the Miller, ‘there is no work so delightful as the work one does for others.’

[73E] ✔︎ “‘It is certainly a great privilege to hear you talk,’ answered little Hans, sitting down and wiping his forehead, ‘a very great privilege. But I am afraid I shall never have such beautiful ideas as you have.’

[74E] ✔︎ “‘Oh! they will come to you,’ said the Miller, ‘but you must take more pains. At present you have only the practice of friendship; some day you will have the theory also.’

[75E] ✔︎ “‘Do you really think I shall?’ asked little Hans.

[76E] ✔︎ “‘I have no doubt of it,’ answered the Miller; ‘but now that you have mended the roof, you had better go home and rest, for I want you to drive my sheep to the mountain to-morrow.’

[77E] ✔︎ “Poor little Hans was afraid to say anything to this, and early the next morning the Miller brought his sheep round to the cottage, and Hans started off with them to the mountain. It took him the whole day to get there and back; and when he returned he was so tired that he went off to sleep in his chair, and did not wake up till it was broad daylight.

[78E] ✔︎ “‘What a delightful time I shall have in my garden,’ he said, and he went to work at once.

[79E] ✔︎ “But somehow he was never able to look after his flowers at all, for his friend the Miller was always coming round and sending him off on long errands, or getting him to help at the mill. Little Hans was very much distressed at times, as he was afraid his flowers would think he had forgotten them, but he consoled himself by the reflection that the Miller was his best friend. ‘Besides,’ he used to say, ‘he is going to give me his wheelbarrow, and that is an act of pure generosity.’

[80E] ✔︎ “So little Hans worked away for the Miller, and the Miller said all kinds of beautiful things about friendship, which Hans took down in a note-book, and used to read over at night, for he was a very good scholar.

[81E] ✔︎ “Now it happened that one evening little Hans was sitting by his fireside when a loud rap came at the door. It was a very wild night, and the wind was blowing and roaring round the house so terribly that at first he thought it was merely the storm. But a second rap came, and then a third, louder than either of the others.

[82E] ✔︎ “‘It is some poor traveller,’ said little Hans to himself, and he ran to the door.

[83E] ✔︎ “There stood the Miller with a lantern in one hand and a big stick in the other.

[84E] ✔︎ “‘Dear little Hans,’ cried the Miller, ‘I am in great trouble. My little boy has fallen off a ladder and hurt himself, and I am going for the Doctor. But he lives so far away, and it is such a bad night, that it has just occurred to me that it would be much better if you went instead of me. You know I am going to give you my wheelbarrow, and so it is only fair that you should do something for me in return.’

[85E] ✔︎ “‘Certainly,’ cried little Hans, ‘I take it quite as a compliment your coming to me, and I will start off at once. But you must lend me your lantern, as the night is so dark that I am afraid I might fall into the ditch.’

[86E] ✔︎ “‘I am very sorry,’ answered the Miller, ‘but it is my new lantern, and it would be a great loss to me if anything happened to it.’

[87E] ✔︎ “‘Well, never mind, I will do without it,’ cried little Hans, and he took down his great fur coat, and his warm scarlet cap, and tied a muffler round his throat, and started off.

[88E] ✔︎ “What a dreadful storm it was! The night was so black that little Hans could hardly see, and the wind was so strong that he could scarcely stand. However, he was very courageous, and after he had been walking about three hours, he arrived at the Doctor’s house, and knocked at the door.

[89E] ✔︎ “‘Who is there?’ cried the Doctor, putting his head out of his bedroom window.

[90E] ✔︎ “‘Little Hans, Doctor.’

[91E] ✔︎ “‘What do you want, little Hans?’

[92E] ✔︎ “‘The Miller’s son has fallen from a ladder, and has hurt himself, and the Miller wants you to come at once.’

[93E] ✔︎ “‘All right!’ said the Doctor; and he ordered his horse, and his big boots, and his lantern, and came downstairs, and rode off in the direction of the Miller’s house, little Hans trudging behind him.

[94E] ✔︎ “But the storm grew worse and worse, and the rain fell in torrents, and little Hans could not see where he was going, or keep up with the horse. At last he lost his way, and wandered off on the moor, which was a very dangerous place, as it was full of deep holes, and there poor little Hans was drowned. His body was found the next day by some goatherds, floating in a great pool of water, and was brought back by them to the cottage.

[95E] ✔︎ “Everybody went to little Hans’s funeral, as he was so popular, and the Miller was the chief mourner.

[96E] ✔︎ “‘As I was his best friend,’ said the Miller, ‘it is only fair that I should have the best place;’ so he walked at the head of the procession in a long black cloak, and every now and then he wiped his eyes with a big pocket-handkerchief.

[97E] ✔︎ “‘Little Hans is certainly a great loss to every one,’ said the Blacksmith, when the funeral was over, and they were all seated comfortably in the inn, drinking spiced wine and eating sweet cakes.

[98E] ✔︎ “‘A great loss to me at any rate,’ answered the Miller; ‘why, I had as good as given him my wheelbarrow, and now I really don’t know what to do with it. It is very much in my way at home, and it is in such bad repair that I could not get anything for it if I sold it. I will certainly take care not to give away anything again. One always suffers for being generous.’”

[99E] ✔︎ “Well?” said the Water-rat, after a long pause.

[100E] ✔︎ “Well, that is the end,” said the Linnet.

[101E] ✔︎ “But what became of the Miller?” asked the Water-rat.

[102E] ✔︎ “Oh! I really don’t know,” replied the Linnet; “and I am sure that I don’t care.”

[103E] ✔︎ “It is quite evident then that you have no sympathy in your nature,” said the Water-rat.

[104E] ✔︎ “I am afraid you don’t quite see the moral of the story,” remarked the Linnet.

[105E] ✔︎ “The what?” screamed the Water-rat.

[106E] ✔︎ “The moral.”

[107E] ✔︎ “Do you mean to say that the story has a moral?”

[108E] ✔︎ “Certainly,” said the Linnet.

[109E] ✔︎ “Well, really,” said the Water-rat, in a very angry manner, “I think you should have told me that before you began. If you had done so, I certainly would not have listened to you; in fact, I should have said ‘Pooh,’ like the critic. However, I can say it now;” so he shouted out “Pooh” at the top of his voice, gave a whisk with his tail, and went back into his hole.

[110E] ✔︎ “And how do you like the Water-rat?” asked the Duck, who came paddling up some minutes afterwards. “He has a great many good points, but for my own part I have a mother’s feelings, and I can never look at a confirmed bachelor without the tears coming into my eyes.”

[111E] ✔︎ “I am rather afraid that I have annoyed him,” answered the Linnet. “The fact is, that I told him a story with a moral.”

[112E] ✔︎ “Ah! that is always a very dangerous thing to do,” said the Duck.

[113E] ✔︎ And I quite agree with her.

Sort:  

[98]“‘적어도 제게는 큰 슬픔입니다.’ 밀러가 말했다. ‘아니, 저는 그에게 제 외바퀴 손수레를 준것이나 다름 없었는데, 이제는 정말 어떻게 해야 할지 모르겠군요. 집에 두자니 거슬리고, 상태가 안 좋아 팔아도 돈도 되지 않습니다. 다시는 어떤 것도 주지 않도록 확실히 신경써야 겠어요. 인심이 후하면 매번 고통스럽죠.’”

[79]“그런데 어찌된 일인지 한스는 자신의 꽃을 전혀 돌볼 수 없었어. 그의 친구 밀러가 계속 찾아와 긴 심부름을 시키거나, 방앗간 일을 도와달라 했거든. 꼬마 한스는 자신의 꽃들이 자기를 잊었다고 생각할까봐 몹시 괴로웠지만, 밀러 아저씨가 자신의 가장 좋은 친구라 생각하며 위안을 삼았어. ‘게다가.’ 한스는 그렇게 말하곤 했어. ‘밀러 아저씨는 내게 외바퀴 손수레를 주기로 했어. 그건 대가 없는 친절이야.’

[94]“하지만 폭풍우는 점점 더 거세졌고, 빗줄기가 빗발치기 시작하며, 꼬마 한스는 의사가 어디로 가는지 볼 수 없었고, 말을 따라가지 못했다. 결국 가여운 한스는 길을 잃었고, 깊은 구덩이가 널려있는 무척이나 위험한 황무지를 헤매다, 익사하고 말았다. 다음날 거대한 물웅덩이에 떠 있는 한스의 몸이, 염소지기들에 의해 발견되어, 한스의 집으로 옮겨졌다.

[84]“‘꼬마 친구 한스야’ 밀러가 소리쳤다. ‘큰 문제가 생겼단다. 작은 아들이 사다리에서 떨어져 다쳐서, 의사를 보러 가려고 하거든. 그런데 의사가 꽤나 먼 곳에 살고 있고, 이렇게나 날씨가 좋지 않은 밤이라, 나를 대신해 네가 다녀 오면 훨씬 좋을 거 같다는 생각이 마침 났단다. 알다시피 내가 외바퀴 손수레를 줄 것이니, 그 대가로 날 위해 뭔가를 해 주는 게 공평한 거 같구나.’

[109]“그러니까.” 몹시 화가 난듯 물쥐가 말했다. “난 네가 시작 전에 말해줬어야 한다고 생각해. 만약 그랬다면, 네 말을 듣지 않았을 거야. 사실 나는 비평가처럼 '제기랄.'하고 말했어야 해. 하지만 이제 말할 수 있어.” 물쥐는 목청껏 “제기랄” 이라 외쳤고, 꼬리를 재빠르게 흔들며 구멍 속으로 사라졌다.

[79E] “그런데 어찌된 일인지 한스는 자신의 꽃을 전혀 돌볼 수 없었어. 그의 친구 밀러가 계속 찾아와 긴 심부름을 시키거나, 방앗간 일을 도와달라 했거든. 꼬마 한스는 자신의 꽃들이 자기를 잊었다고 생각할까봐 몹시 괴로웠지만, 밀러 아저씨가 자신의 가장 좋은 친구라 생각하며 위안을 삼았어. ‘게다가.’ 한스는 그렇게 말하곤 했어. ‘밀러 아저씨는 내게 외바퀴 손수레를 주기로 했어. 그건 대가 없는 친절이야.’

[77]“가여운 꼬마 한스는 그 말에 뭐라 말하기가 두려웠어. 다음날 아침 일찍 밀러가 양들을 데리고 집에 찾아왔고, 한스는 양들과 함께 산으로 가기 시작했어. 한스가 산에 다녀오는 데는 꼬박 하루가 걸렸지. 집으로 돌아온 한스는 너무 피곤해 의자에서 잠에 들었는데, 대낮이 되어서야 잠에서 깼어.

[94E] “하지만 폭풍우는 점점 더 거세졌고, 빗줄기가 세차게 쏟아졌어. 꼬마 한스는 의사가 어디로 가는지 볼 수 없었고, 말을 따라갈 수 없었어. 마침내 한스는 길을 잃었고, 깊은 구덩이가 널려있는 무척이나 위험한 황무지를 헤매다 익사하고 말았어. 다음날 거대한 물웅덩이에 떠 있는 한스의 몸이 염소 지기들에 의해 발견되어 한스의 집으로 옮겨졌어.

[84E] “‘꼬마 친구 한스야’ 밀러가 큰 소리로 말했어. ‘큰 문제가 생겼단다. 막내 아들이 사다리에서 떨어져 다쳤단다. 의사를 부르려고 하거든. 그런데 의사가 너무 멀리 살고 있는 데다가, 이렇게나 날씨도 좋지 않은 밤이라, 나를 대신해 네가 다녀오면 훨씬 좋을 거 같다는 생각이 났단다. 알다시피 내가 외바퀴 손수레를 줄 것이니, 그 대가로 날 위해 뭔가를 해 주는 게 공평한 거 같구나.’

[79E] “하지만 어찌된 일인지 한스는 자신의 꽃을 전혀 돌볼 수 없었어. 그의 방앗간 친구가 계속 찾아와 긴 심부름을 시키거나, 방앗간 일을 도와달라고 했거든. 한스는 자기 꽃들이 한스가 자신들을 잊었다고 생각할까봐 몹시 괴로웠지만, 방앗간 친구가 자신의 가장 좋은 친구라 생각하며 위안을 삼았어. 그리고 종종 이렇게 중얼거렸지. ‘게다가.아저씨는 내게 외바퀴 손수레를 주기로 했어. 그건 대가 없는 친절이야.’

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16