ADSactly FUN - Just one

in #life6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1295327746.jpg

It must be five or six months since I have smoked. I had been meaning to stop for ages but never had and it was with the advent of fatherhood to my second child that I thought I really must knock this habit on the head... Before it knocked me on the head as it were.

So I stopped. Boom. Just like that.

I won't say it wasn't hard. It was difficult but I was determined and it paid off.

However... You would think that the longer you had stopped something the easier it would get? Oh no. More and more these days I have found myself harking back to the glory days.

15dag_2_2878-picsay_20171213001433062.jpg

I find myself remembering all the good times in my life in which I just so happened to be smoking or had a cigarette in my hand. It is very bizarre because these things would all have happened anyway. But, in the wonderfully weird way the mind works, it has decided to throw these images at me as if it was smoking that caused all the great things to happen to me.

I suspect that the insidious nicotine still has a grip on me at some low level.

It has been building up. Slowly but surely, that little voice in my head has been telling me wouldn't it be great to be smoking right now?

It all came to a head today.

15dag_2_2878-picsay_20171213001629913.jpg

I was coming back to work from my lunch break and had to pass the corner where all the smokers hung out. I felt a pang. I used to be one of them. I stopped for a moment.

Hey Richard, hows things?

I said to one of the guys I used to have many a conversation with.

Erm, alright mate.

He answered. He seemed a little awkward.

I turned to another one of my erstwhile bro's.

And you Bill, ya wild man, whatcha been up to!

I gave Bill a mock shoulder punch. Me and Bill went way back.

Not much mate. Not much.

He answered.

I stayed for a few minutes longer trying to coax some conversation out of them. It was like getting blood out of a stone.

15dag_2_2878-picsay_20171213001826896.jpg

I knew what was happening. I was no longer in the gang. I had stopped smoking and as such was now ostracised from the "cool kids" who still did it. Maybe they were envious of my new found longevity now that I was off the tabs?

I sighed and went back into work. I would like to say that being ostracised by the gang had strengthened my resolve not to smoke but if anything it had made it worse. I sat at my desk and attempted to do some work. A thought kept popping into my head, however.

Surely it wouldn't be so bad to just have the one?

Just+one.gif

Just one ickle-wickle cigarette. Just one. I mean I could buy some, then head down to the corner and chew the fat with the guys. I just knew that as soon as they saw me smoking again I would be back in the club. There would be back slaps and handshakes and manly shouts of celebration.

Yeah, damn it. I was going to do it. Why not? I mean. I had shown myself to be capable of stopping on a whim. I would just have one.

I reached behind me for my jacket and as I did so I noticed Bill from smokers corner coming over to my desk.

Hey dude, I meant to say, did you see my new phone? It's so cool!

He leaned in to show me his shiny new phone. I opened my mouth to ask if he was heading downstairs and if I could come with him.

Then I smelled it. The acrid smell of cigarettes. He stank of them. Absolutely reeked, like a corpse that had been dipped in glue and rolled in a giant ashtray.

Suddenly I didn't feel the urge to smoke anymore.

All pictures sourced from pixabay and in most cases subjected to various manipulations. Except the gif, it was made by my own fair hands :0)

Authored by: @meesterboom



Go Adsactly

Sort:  

Great story! This is such a powerful ending, thanks a lot! It gave me the same memory I had when I was a kid surrounded by adults who were smoking everywhere!

I salute your good courage to stick with the abstinence regimen. My dad did the same thing and stopped cold turkey one day he had had enough. He didn't want to be a slave to it anymore and he is still going strong and stronger every day, over 20 years later...

The brain has learned to connect your "good memories" with the cigarette, thus, it is looking for dopamine and the likes by sending you these messages. The only thing you need to focus on when it comes up, make new memories of goodness where you treat yourself, love yourself. this way, you build the new memories you brain will connect to in the near future, eradicating the old "good memories" that are still lingering and connected to apparent self-love.

Namaste :)

Thank you! You have it exactly right, the betraying brain has associated even the simplest things with smoking in an attempt to lure me back in. I am fortunate enough that I am far enough out of it now though that Ican plainly see the negative "benefits" to it. It was the icing on the cake when I smelled the guy. When you smoke you just dont really smell it!

Namaste!

Wow nice post!

Really great success ..congratulations..I worte also how i had been quitting the smoke..
Smoker of 16 long years. It's been a month and 25 days(4 months now) since my last puff. Here's my story;

My first day:Woke up late and got busy with some urgent official work. Unusually it was 4 PM without a smoke. I thought, this could be the day I quit smoking.
The day had to pass without smoking. I decided not refusing anything to myself, but smoking. Started with ordering some good food. Did some long pending online shopping. Bought a movie online. It was 6PM and I immersed myself into the movie. Had food, completed movie, spent time with family and it was 9 o' clock. Dinner and some socialization, touched 11PM. Buying a pack, is 15 KM drive now. Was about to have my first day of another attempt.

It's tough to sleep:Time to bed. Nicotine urge kept me awake so started browsing some literature about quitting and stumbled upon following http://whyquit.com/whyquit/A_Ben.... Felt motivated and slept. I can't say I slept well but I did sleep. Next day when I woke up, I did not want to loose on the struggle of my last day.
My first day at work: On the way to work, I had successfully crossed my cigarette shop. It felt good. The day began. Thoughts were foggy, was unable to focus, so decided to finish some pending back office work. Avoided co-smokers. Avoided situations that create the urge. Time was moving slow. It felt like I will never be normal again. I might loose my creativity. Which feels like a joke now. Lesson: coffee does not help, but increases the urge.
The day had to pass, and food came to rescue. I ordered food in good quantity and shared. Sharing always makes you feel good. Did not have mid day, after lunch - cigarette. Ordered some more food in the evening. Day passed.

First week: Evenings were tough but food, movies, family and hobbies helped. Was unable to get good night sleep but when I woke up, the mouth was not so bad, mood was better.
I do not smell so bad. There is no need to have mouth fresheners regularly. Regular taste in the mouth is better. Throat is not sour always. I attended a family function, felt free that I do not need to find excuses to go out.

I had reasons to continue this journey. I kept reading health journals. Light headedness felt bad first but then I started enjoying it.

I did not fall for "only smoke when you drink" formula, and realized alcohol works better without nicotine.

Face it: Week two, I went out with co-smokers when they smoke, but did not smoke. Had some disagreements, but did not smoke. Enjoyed alcohol without smoke. Visited all the places where I used to smoke but did not. In stress, the first thing that came to my mind was to smoke, but did not. I kept having winning encounters. I requested my close co-workers to co-operate regarding my attitude.
End of physical urge: Generally week three is, when the physical urge reduces drastically. It feels better, stronger. I realized that, when we smoke, the mood swings are frequent. Immediately after smoke, it feels good but the mood swings towards a decline and one has to smoke to get it back to high. Now I am free of nicotine related mood swings. When I wake up I am not so annoyed.
55 Days Passed: I am out of the physical urge. I can sleep peacefully. Health is better. Food tastes better. I wake up fresher. Stamina has increased. I feel good about myself.

(Edit)4 Months Passed: Felt like having a puff, during many booze sessions. It only occurs when someone lits and takes a first puff. Once you pass the first puff, it doesn't matter. It's like you are involved in a discussion. It rarely occurs that you are not smoking.

10 Months: Frequency of throat infection has reduced. Brushing teeth in the morning is a better experience. When asked, still count myself to be a smoker at first, then I proudly tell em that it's been … months that I did not smoke.

All the best.

That is fantastic. It is a wonderful thing to stop, to know that you are not enda=ngering your health needlessly any more! When the physical urge is gone its great

Absolutely..

Awesome story , I really like it.

Glad to hear you didn't crumble to the temptation, laughed at the idea of you being cheered back into the smoker's circle with back slaps and handshakes Lol, great post!

Haha, it was a funny idea in my head. I am convinced it would be the case :O)

Lol maybe they'd break into song and everyone would start doing the cha-cha!

I am very inspired by this story.
I am an active smoker, started smoking cigarettes when I was 20 years old until now at my age of 47.
I really want to stop it, I have tried it in some momment, but after two or three days later I go back to smoke a cigarette, I do not know what makes me too tersugesti with this tobacco roll, I used to even enjoy the flower bouquet of marijuana, although in a short duration, I stopped.
Now at the age that has begun to dusk I was only able to plant a determination, I should be able to quit smoking, though somehow, hopefully not death that makes me stop sucking it.
Thanks a lot for share, best Regards

I genuinely think the first week is the hardest. If you can get past that then you cna do it no bother. It makes it easier here because cigarettes cost almost 11GBP a pack :O)

Wow! I'm glad you lost the urge to continue smoking. Guess you just saved yourself from death by lung cancer!

It was always on my mind!

Good that you didn't do it after all!

It always starts with just one and then in no time u find urself part of the gang again and would be harder to quit .

Well done, I know u just lost the feeling not like it's ur well😁 but sell done anyway. 👏

It is always that tiny one and then boom. 20 a day! I am glad I didnt, it has passed now!

I haven’t had a drink in 3 weeks and never will again. I got a DUI for driving after 2 beers on thanksgiving eve, it’s a stressful time. Don’t drive call Uber, if it’s on your breath it will cost you thousands and potential jail time.

Thats rough. Uber is a hero in those circumstances

Goodday Sir!

wooow this is really a great story, I was lost in it when reading it, I hope It is about you personally,, because I imagine the writer in the main personality.
This story inspired very much because I am 25 years old, and I smoke. I always tell myself to stop but I havent stopped yet for almost 5 years,, tomorrow morning I will try to live my life without a cigarette in my hand.

Yup, its about me! I would definitely try. In my twenties I would set myself targets. Like, I will definitely stop when I am 30, then 32, then 35. So on and on. But you dont unless you make that choice now. Even saying, I will just finish this pack is not as powerful as crushing the pack and binning it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88