Going Through The Motions

in #life5 years ago

2019 has been a bit of a wake-up call or rather shock to the system for me, the weather is pretty gloomy in Cape Town today and I guess that doesn't help much either. We tend to covert stability and demonize the feature of the unknown which is why change can seem so scary or why making a decision can feel so daunting.

A or B leaves for plenty you can't see

When we perceive decisions like this we turn it into a zero-sum game, picking one thing over another and seeing your two choices as two mutually exclusive outcomes. It's either one path or the other and I feel like this where we see decision making in a flawed way.

If you see things as A or B you often miss the subtle opportunities in the middle, instead of making a rash decision, there are ways to pivot between the two and find things you never thought possible.

Shutting yourself down to a simple yes or no can do such a disservice to a situation. This can also be a case of making it easier when you're going through the motions you don't have the mental capacity to evaluate things properly and you just want a simple solution.

your-desire-to-change-must-be-greater-300x260.png

Image Source Getting Balance

Stability & routine needs passion and growth

Having and valuing stability often comes with a sense of routine, you know the outcome, you've done it a million times and you're happy with it, there's nothing wrong with it if that's your passion, if it brings meaning to your life. As long as you find joy in it and continue to learn from the process you're in.

But often times routine turns into going through the motions, I find myself doing that too. If I think of the person I was coming back from my holiday in Thailand last year I was fired up, full of energy, ambition and ready to take on just about everything.

Screenshot 2019-03-04 at 09.52.59.png

Image Source: Flickr - pureevilbunny

What a difference a year makes

Almost 12 months later, I feel like I just have been going through the motions, checking off tasks on my to-do list and going again and Its starting to become apparent and taking its toll.

A change is needed, for sure I do need a holiday, just to shut down and reboot the system. I am not thinking quick enough, straight enough, decision fatigue is starting to set in. I always think back to my younger self at times like this where nothing can phase me I would just smash ahead regardless but as the years have passed I've learned a blunt instrument makes work way harder than spending the time to sharpen your tools.

Image source: YouTube

Have your say

How do you balance between routine and change? Do you find yourself going through the motions sometimes? Does a good kick up the arse get you going? Let me know in the comments

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Sort:  

Hi @chekohler,
I think that the older we get, the more difficult it becomes to face change. On the other hand, I believe that it is important to go through some changes from time to time just not to forget how to adapt. In the end it is when we discover new stuff that our conscious mind is pulled from its thoughts and that we can collect new souvenirs to dwell upon in the future...

Best regards,
Achim

I agree, when I was younger I would roll with the punches without so much as a second thought, now however, I feel like age is catching up to me. EVen though I am battle hardened the punches hurt a little bit more than they used to.

I hope I learn some valuable lessons from it, right now being in the eye of the storm I'm still pretty much looking for a constructive way forward

Wow. This post was so timely for me. I have been putting off a decision for some time. The reason being is because it is outside of my wheel house. You said spend the time sharpening our tools. Instead of delaying it, I could have been acquring the skills I needed to get the task done. Thank you

Wow funny how the world works, you needed to hear this and you found it, can’t be random has to be a reason! This post was pretty helpful for me too getting these thoughts out there, it puts it out there, makes it real and puts pressure on me to follow through! I actually made some decisions today and I hope it all works out, I’m pretty excited about it too

Posted using Partiko iOS

I always need changes, in my work as well as in my personal life I can't live in the routine! Many times this aspect of my character has led me to improve my situation, but sometimes it has led me to make hasty decisions.

I agree, change is not always for the better but it if it isn't you surely learned a valuable lesson. I will need to make some changes soon just to break things up and also just to refresh my perspective.

Will send you back some steem from the bounty my comment was max worth 40 cents. I don't even speak Dutch basically you paying me for translating.

Posted using Partiko Messaging

^^^^^ I could have commented it myself @partiko no need to ask for points and then go litter on the post.

!tipuvote 0.5

No worries, enjoy the bounty its no biggy

Hi, @chekohler!

You just got a 5.18% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.787 which ranks you at #4836 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 4833).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #106.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89