What Is That?

in #life6 years ago

You are beautiful! – What are you talking about? Have you seen me lately? God no! Is there something wrong with my face? It’s my shirt isn’t it? I need to hide…

You are amazing! – What for? I didn’t do anything. You got the wrong person. Leave me alone…

You have a great personality. – Stop being sarcastic. I don’t appreciate people making fun of me…

You are a creative genius. – Nuh-uh, no way. Far from it. Didn’t you see all the flaws? I failed.


source

I remember growing up, I would get mixed feelings from the things people would tell me, often not understand why people would say something and I would feel completely opposite than what they were trying to achieve.

When someone would tell me I was pretty, I wanted to hide. I thought I was the ugliest of duckling and couldn’t figure out why someone would tell me something like that. I wanted to hide.

Every compliment I got about something I did or wore or even the makeup I put on I felt like they were making fun of me. I could honestly think that no one was genuine which in turn I forced myself to hide from people.

I can say that I was teased a lot because I was poor. Maybe I should rephrase that. I was teased; I was the one they chose to pick on and used anything they could find to use against me. So that didn’t help me.

I hid myself more and more and literally locked myself in my bedroom for 8 years. The only reason I got out of my room was to go to school, eat and use the bathroom. On the weekends, not even my family saw much of me unless my step dad forced me out to do yard work. And even then I stayed on the other side of the yard to work alone.

Why did I do that? What is that? What made me do that to myself? I deprived myself of a social life, a child’s life, a teenager’s life and even as a young adult my choices were not for the best for myself. I stayed with people that had even less respect for me than I had for myself. And the people that had more respect for me, I couldn’t stand it. I thought they were so wrong to want to hand out with me. So wrong for thinking I was likeable.

So what is that?

Many people feel this way, from one reason or another. For me my upbringing could be the reason. I could blame my mother, my father for not accepting me as his daughter. I could blame my sister, I could keep blaming everyone.
Feeling worthless, having low self esteem does come from somewhere and when it’s routing from our childhood it is hard to grow out of it.

For me, it changed when I had my 3 children. Motherly instincts came on full force which in turn showed me what I was missing this whole time.

Self respect.

I had no respect for myself what so ever and so it was ok for me to let people run me in the ditch. But why is it ok for us to let that happen to ourselves?

Should I blame it on our natural programming? How our brains are wired? How about the society? Like those massive billboards you see in the cities of a perfect woman in her underwear, telling us this is how we have to be in order to be normal and pretty?

I like to think the answer is the last question listed. If you think about how First Nation tribes were so many years ago, before fashion trends, before government. When they all worked together and everyone was equal and respect for everything, each other, animals and Mother Nature was at its highest. No one was ashamed of who they were. No one was in hiding like it is today. Not to my knowledge.

I know in my previous blog, I wrote that the words like ‘need and shouldn’t’ were bad words to use. But in this case I would like to make an exception.

We need to see ourselves as a being of nature, of spirit. We need to respect ourselves first before someone tries to bring ourselves down, making us feel like they have the right to be here and not us, like if they have the right to remove our own self from this planet. Not let them dig our graves. We need to love ourselves in order to give ourselves respect and stand our grounds. And then spread the love and respect to others.

During this day and age, when the pushovers are the neighbors, the family, the governments, the priests, the kids and the teachers, we need to start showing this to our kids at an early age, before they go to school. Reinforce that so they can have a true, strong chore within themselves. This is how we protect our kids at a distance.

3.jpg

With love, respect, proper connections and being connected with others that offer the same, we will be able to raise our children to be strong the way this world needs to be. We need less chaos and war and to do that, the future has to be stable. Our children are the future. Make them strong within themselves and see everything change for the better. It is a hard path, the struggles will be there. But with persistence and love and spirit, we will conquer and we will truly live as one.


source

Sort:  

There is a genuine tinge of pain and sadness when I read these incredibly personal and touching words.

For you and for me also. I relate. To a degree much of my character is that shy, insecure, worthless boy. Yup. Not just the girls, mine too stemmed from childhood and parental difficulties. I may write about it soon as a cathartic exercise.

Neither of us were ever worthless of-course, far from it. Something I learned as a Dad is that the words we choose have a massive importance. They are like arrows of pain or love that go straight to the subconsciousness and the psyche.

Damn we gotta choose the words carefully!

Words can build or destroy.

Compliment handling can be difficult, right? I read in a success book once that if we don't accept them in good spirit we can actually harm the giver and stop them from giving them to others. It said to thank them for the wonderful gift they are.

Compliment alert You hear the loud alarms and see the blinking lights?

You are bloody fantastic and an epic one of a kind creation. You are a fab mother, funny, inspirational and offer great insights to the community. These are not thin air assumptions These are based on several posts of yours and interactions on Discord too.

You freakin' ROCK!

I just keep reading this, over and over again. I am awestruck from what you have given me here. I am speechless.
I am staring at these words thinking, are they for me?

Thank you! I am blown away. Right now I am holding my breath thinking that I can say something just as amazing as what you wrote and I can't, I gotta sit with this and just feel it.

It is difficult when being given a compliment. It is hard to reply to them even when taking them in the most right of ways. Just like now! These words you share, that you give, there is no getting use to it. I mean that in a good way. Im having trouble explaining myself lol. Damn... can I just hug you? I am better at spilling my emotions of gratitude with unspoken feelings than I am at saying it.

Words are so powerful and to children who have such wide open spirits, it is twice as much powerful. As parents we really do have to be mindful. Kids can push the limits and and can drive us nuts. It can be so hard to pull back and regroup before acting. When I am out of character and react in a manner that is not good, I am not shy to apologize to my children. I will lie down with them and hold them and give my most sincere apology with love and affection. I have noticed that when they act out they do the same and I hold them so tightly when they do.

There is so much beauty to that. Children can teach us so much and they learn so much. I would be in heaven if my family were surrounded by people like you. Thank you in the most honorable and respectful of ways! xxx

Awww Bless you!

You are more than welcome my friend. If it truly had that much impact then words are even more powerful than I thought. I was just sharing my thoughts on how Ste sees it

Yes, hugs negate the need for words entirely, right :)

But I just know that if I go to work tomorrow and hug my boss I will be perceived as the weird one!

Take good care of you and yours my friend and stay awesome :D

I could NOT have put it any better.

You are a very inspiring woman! Im glad to know u and call u my friend❣ and believe me when i say your a beautiful smart mother and woman. U know i dont cut around corners and tell it like it is. 💋🌸

I am glad that you find inspiration in me. I only seek to help one another, from one person to the next. I am thrilled to have you as my friend as you are a strong, true woman. You see the world for what it is and I am grateful for that. I love that we connected. When I talk to you it's like we've always talked and known each other from days long ago, that is awesome :D <uch love and respect to you my friend!

I wonder if most people go through phases like that? I know I have. I have pretty much come to accept that I am a natural introvert.
I had to work at being more outgoing. Still do for the most part.
I do think most people have some self esteem issues on some level. Even if just periodically.
It sounds like you do a good job at self evaluation, finding the head space where you can be content.
I do truly believe it is all about being happy with ones self. Along with monitoring the self talk to keep it kind and gentle.

Yes, self talk has to be more encouraging. We are worth more than what we make ourselves believe. And to see that, we must believe what people are truly saying and see our worth in their eyes. If they were to lose us, how would they react, feel and be? If they would be so devastated, we should understand what they are seeing and believe and thus puts ourselves in a different limelight and we can thus see and feel.

So let's not lose ourselves and especially not to other people who seek destruction upon others. Our spirit is what we need to see and feel.

What a great post. I can relate to some of it. I was always the girl on the outside. I think it is bacause I looked different than the other girls. I have red hair and back then it was very different. There were not a lot of red headded kids around. My sister and I were usually the only ones. I was teased for many years.

Having children can be an amazing blessing. I know when I had my boys I decided to have my childhood along with them. It was a great decision. I did things with them that I had never done before. Don't get me wrong I had some great moments as a child but I really enjoyed myself with my own boys. Children can really bring out the best in us if we allow it.

I hear you on that. I was the outside girl even in my family. I think I still am.

How amazing is it, that you lived your childhood with your kids! They are so amazing. They are what we need them to be even if we don't know it. They keep us young ^_^

I was the outside girl even in my family. I think I still am.

I am the outside girl in my family as well. Many people think of me as weird. Now I have a chosen group of family that is just as weird as I am so it is better. I choose to spend most of my time with them.
I have noticed with the conciousness shift that more and more people are beginning to see being different is not something to be scared of. No matter what side you are on.

Our children are really here to help and be loving even when they drive is crazy. They are such blessings. Have and awesome day.

It's true. 'Weird' is becoming normal, but the shift in my opinion is off. Where people want to be different is being taken to a maximal level. But that is a whole other topic. Some things still need to change. I was just on facebook, it was atrocious! Someone trying to raise awareness for animal abuse gets bashed on. Someone didn't vaccinate their child is called a c**t and said they wont miss her or her child.
I am trying to find ways to stay connected to some people that are on fb but I am given more and more reasons to leave. I cannot stay inside that circle. People are still not accepting :(
Sorry I went to a different type of comment. Just seeing too many gloomy things these days.

I would agree that things are also being taken in a wrong direction. It is like people have lost their minds. I have not been a big fb user but Rob really has seen some people say some crazy things on there as well. It is like they have forgotten how to have compassion and empathy.

No worries about taking this in a different direction. That is how it goes. Have a great day.

We must learn to respect ourselves, to love ourselves, and to forgive ourselves, when we have learned to nurture our true spirit, the we can show respect, show love and teach forgiveness to others, and allow them to begin setting their spirits free, as we have let our own spirit take flight.

Beautifully said! Nothing more I can add to your comment. You get it, you know it. Much respect to you my friend ^_^

Wow! What a great post foxy! I'm sorry to hear that you've locked yourself up for eight years. This must have been lonely years indeed.

You are beautiful and this is no bull!

Í will remind you this each and every time you don't feel like one.

You've been through a lot and you've come out stronger than ever. You've proven and showed yourself that you are good mom! Keep on! Aja! :)

I am glad you liked this post ^^ No need for sorry's on the decisions I made. We must be responsible and own our actions. It was a learning curve for me and I take it the most positive ways. I know my boundaries because of those times and it gave me great teaching skills towards my children.
Your comment shows the beauty within yourself and shows your strength too. Being so willing to bring someone up and brighten their day, you bring the sun with you ^
^ Thank you Dawn for your reply. With much love and respect, I thank you from the bottom of my heart <3

I know you've come to learn that and you've come a much better version of you. Our flaws and our scars made us who we are.

That is really sweet of you to say Foxy! I've had my shares of sad things so I just don't want to see someone get drowned with misery!

Kisses and hugs from me to you. ♡♡♡

Awww FS you are one of the most empathic person I know. You are beautiful inside and out.

I was moved by this post of yours

Thank you Mave and honestly it means a lot to me what you said. Being able to touch the hearts of people and working together is all I want :) Much respect to you my friend xxx!

Just know you are definitely not alone in those thoughts! I too had many of those same issues someday they try to get the best of me even now! I'm thankful i was able to read this. I am hoping to jive on from those thoughts and focus on love as well!! Thank you for sharing and making me think!!!!

This is great! I am thrilled that you are getting something from this.

Loving yourself can spread to so much good in and around you. You yawn, I yawn.... You smile, I smile. It goes for everything from positivity, being happy, to love and respect and more. You plant a seed, you grow a field! Much love and respect to you ^_^

very nice write up, i saw a lot of myself in this too. i get it. the locking one self in a room away, self deprecation,keeping oneself from growing up with friends. i have to say himan is human and even first nation had the same issues. maybe worse due to the takeover and being placed in boarding schools. its encouraging ti see as we mature and our generation sees the importance of helping future generations ovetcome and grow out of some of pur own flaws. evolving is so important.

Oh when the schools came into play, that messed everything up on a grand scale. I meant even farther back. before they ever saw white man. I'm sure there were certain things for sure as we are human, but they worked together a lot more.
Evolving is important, I agree with you there. We need to evolve to better things, better days. We don't need to live like this and for some reason people are so happy with themselves when they make someone feel so bad in any form of way. We need to look past this and move on.

very good and totally agree on the last part. not sure about the first part, since i wasn't there. but my DNA tells me there were still wars ... indian wars .. its in the damn blood. but who am i? oh right i'm indian buahaahahahah

Well ya there was always a war going on. Everywhere there was. But didn't they have a community system within their tribes? There will always be a 'bad apple' everywhere we go, but it's to state that today there are even more bad apples than there ever was. It wasn't always this bad.

It's always a challenge. No matter how successful we seem to be their is always a level of self doubt and loathing. This it seems is human nature. Thanks for raising this as an important issue.

Absolutely. Which is why we should always find the things that can pick us up from the ground. And that is also why finding the right community, the right surroundings is so important and being strong to press forward as well.
There are so many people doing that in Steemit, it makes for a really great place to be. Everytime I post something I always doubt myself. I do not have much for skills in writing. But I think that perhaps if there is just one person that can take joy from what I write, then I have succeeded. If not, keep working at it :)
Thank you for stopping by and reading my post. I appreciate that you did :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00