Through the Eyes of a Scaredy Cat: Open Communication With the Great Beyond

in #life6 years ago (edited)

“I’m so scared!” My eleven year old niece squeezed my hand. She wasn't the only one. We were standing inside a hundred year old house built on top of Indian burial grounds. Or at least what is presumed to be the burial grounds, because when the British came through in the 1700’s they desecrated the Catholic sympathizing village beyond recognition. Stories tell of the British making pipes and forks out of Indian bones. Later, part of the land was used for one of the oldest cemeteries in the country, and part of it built over. Those are the stories, anyway.

image-2018-08-09.jpg

The room was dimly lit. A man with a round belly and a pleasant disposition was standing in the middle of the small room, talking to our little crowd. The old boards of the house creaked around us, restless by this late-night activity. In the corner of the room was a large TV screen that was segmented by various security camera views covering every room in the house—including the attic. We wouldn’t want to miss anything creepy, just in case the ambiance wasn’t creepy enough.

The man began to tell us about the resident ghosts—ones that he had become so familiar with over the years that they felt a bit like family. He passed around those anxiety-inducing meters with the flashing lights that turn on when a presence is near. I was glad to not hold one. Then he picked up the divining rods, and introduced the crowd to the ghost of a nine year old girl. He used the divining rods to receive “yes” or “no” answers to his questions, depending on whether the rods crossed or turned outward. He also used them for pointing. He asked her who she would like to speak to.

image-2018-08-09 (1).jpg

It was one of those moments akin to school days, when you could rely on the only time the teacher calling on you to answer a math question being the time you really didn't want her to. My niece and I both sensed it, and watched as the rods turned to us. My niece shook her head vehemently. I tried to politely decline a discussion. What can I say—I’m a wimp.

The man proceeded to introduce us to several other ghosts within the room, and passed around a few more sets of divining rods. It was interesting to watch the atmosphere of tension in the room turn to ease, like a dinner party. Guests began to mingle, making an effort to have open discussions with the spirits. Before I knew it, the divining rods were passed my way and I found myself trying to have a discussion with a male spirit. The conversation went like this:

IMG_20180602_140838 (1).jpg

“Do you want to talk with me?”

The rods turned outward to say "no".

“Who do you want to talk to?”

The rods pointed to a woman across the way.

Alright then, I wasn’t in favor. I passed them across the way, but she didn’t have much luck at a conversation either. He seemed to not be in a sociable mood. Meanwhile, across the room a lady was laughing hysterically. She was having an avid conversation with an ex-soldier spirit. She had asked him if he wanted a hug, the rods moved in opposite directions, and she announced that she felt hot all over. The hug lingered.

Shortly thereafter my niece and I exited the building. The idea was to show my niece a good time while she visited me, doing something that eleven year old girls love to do—get scared. It was meant to be a bonding experience, and I think it was.

Being a natural born scaredy cat, this was a brave action on my part. I walked away from the experience actually not that frazzled. I don't know exactly what I believe about what took place, but I didn't expect it to be so calming to openly communication with the great beyond.

It was fun. I just might convince myself to do that tour again sometime. Maybe, but probably not. Born a sissy, always a sissy.

Sort:  

ha! what a wimp! "maybe, but probably not" lol. what if your niece begs you to take her back again the next time she comes?

She's got her mama for second-time ghost experiences :) Nah, I'd take her again.

yeah because it wasn't scary right? a little creepy perhaps but not exactly terrifying, even for a scaredy cat! lol.

I have a ghost phobia ;)

ha! you don't really do you? are you a Believer bytheway?

I am a believer, but not in the same way you are. I do believe in God.

oh that's very interesting my friend, what does that mean? and trust me I will never ever preach at you, I respect all beliefs ok? I'm just curious. the ghost thing made me curious.
what kind of believer am I that you are different from?

I'm always leading you on with my one-liners :D It is becoming a cat-and-mouse game, akin to our Texas-Florida rivalry. There is nothing too exotic about my beliefs. I just don't believe in attending church and getting heavily immersed in the culture of organized religion. I worship God in my own, quiet way.

Well now I wonder what you missed when you turned down that offer to communicate. What if there was an important message and now you will never know.
That actually sounds like a fun little adventure. Wonder how the spirits feel about being monitised though.

Yes, we both regretted being chickens. Who knows what would have been said.

Ha! That's a good question. I don't know if the monetising irks them. Maybe they just enjoy a good conversation :)

I was thinking u were MIA! ha!

I've just been really busy and tired. Catching up now.

That's what I though, with the homeschooling and all that stuff. Glad to see you're fine tribe leader!

You are our leader of tribe sugar, especially with your last post. I'm more than happy to be your scout. Now let's scout some of those candies...

I'm a disaster as a leader but I sure know how to eat candy!

Lol. I have faith in you.

You gotta stop reading all those johnjgedde posts. He's infected you with spirititis. ;-)

Ha! I'm behind on my reading here. I haven't been able to get on much lately but trying to catch up.

You're doin' just fine. ;-)

I wonder how much was spirit vs entertainment. I have no proof spirits or ghosts do not exist or can not communicate with us I just know I have never had that experience. I think Sadie would be scared at that tour and love every minute of it.

I don't know how much was showmanship either, but I'm too superstitious to thwart it :D

I don't have strong beliefs either way. I think it only logical that there is sometimes some sort of energy lingering. I know when I walk into a lot of the really old places here in town, I feel bogged down by the energy of them.

I think Sadie would really like it. My niece and her would make a good ghost tour team.

I have heard that description from other people too about feeling energy. I either have never felt that feeling or do not recognize what I am feeling when I do. My senses may not be attuned correctly. It makes me wonder why the energy of some lingers and others do not. Questions, questions, lol. I think you are correct those girls together would be a hoot of a good ghost tour team.

To not be attuned to it is likely a blessing. I can't imagine what the formula is for lingering energy. I don't really buy the "unfinished business" bit. If that was the case everyone that died young would have something lingering.

My dad said he doesn't believe in ghosts because our grandpa said if it was possible, he'd be back. I'm not so sure he had the choice though :)

I kind of lean in the same direction as your dad but you do make a lot of good points and I certainly can not say for certain you are not correct...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98