A Grave With A View

in #life5 years ago (edited)

It Was Quiet. Dead Quiet...

It was in April, 2006, that I stood with my parents, sisters and extended family at the grave of my maternal grandmother. Earlier that day, I had conducted the service, and now I had been asked to dedicate the ground where grandmother's body would be buried.

I remember looking down the sloping hill to the corner of a nearby lake and thinking on that pleasant spring day what a great view she and my grandfather had.

P1013703.jpg

I didn't realize until I looked it up that twelve and a half years had now passed since I'd last stood at that spot. I was not yet 40 then, my boys were still both in high school, I was in the third year of owning and running a newspaper business on my own.

At the time, the last thing I was thinking about was burying members of my family. Unbeknownst to me, my grandmother would be the first of the three still living grandparents to pass away. Within three years, all would be gone, my grandfather on my father's side being the last to slip away at 91. He died in October of 2009.

P1013702.jpg

A couple of weeks ago, I felt the need to go back to the cemetery where my grandmother was laid to rest and enjoy the peace of the hilltop, the view, and the unseasonably nice weather. Why, I don't know. It just felt like something I should do before more time marched on.

P1013691.jpg

From my home to the cemetery is about a forty-five minute drive. It sits on the east side of Sweet Home, Oregon, out beyond the main part of town. On the one side of the cemetery you can look over much of the city, on the other side there are parts of the lake with mountains in the background.

Further up the hill there are a couple of homes. Their view of the lake must be spectacular. I wonder how often they look down upon the graves from their porch. I wonder if they have anyone buried there.

P1013695.jpg

For a while, I had the cemetery to myself. I started looking for my grandmother's grave. It didn't take long to know I had no idea where it was. The angle of the lake view I was looking for wasn't quite lining up with my memory, either. There were more trees than I remembered, and more land than lake.

I kept on, heading up and down the rows of markers, most of them flat, a few of them rising from the ground. A dozen or so were more festive than others, some dressed up in fall colors, while others eschewed the autumn hues for a wider variety, including reds and blues. Leftover, perhaps, from Independence Day.

There was a pumpkin, yellow, orange and brown flower petals, as well as some leaves. One site dropped all pretense and just said, "Happy Halloween!" on a mylar helium filled balloon. There was another clear balloon with LOVE on it and in between them what might be a cluster of cattails.

And, of course, there was the tribute to an Oregon State football fan, replete with a mug, a pom pom, orange flowers and a football that said, "Go Beavers."

P1013690.jpg

I was still searching for my grandmother when a car came up the road and continued farther down. I kept looking, but every now and then glanced over to see what the newcomer might be doing. A solitary figure dressed in a hoodie and sweatpants got out of the vehicle, hovered over a marker for a couple of minutes, and then appeared to clean up whatever might be there.

Meanwhile, I was having little luck finding my grandmother. At one point, I thought I had, but it turned out to be an aunt who had died suddenly and quite unexpectedly at the age of 40.

P1013692.jpg

I came upon my favorite decorations about then—a spinner with red petals, a glass butterfly and a beautiful arrangement of flowers with vibrant colors. It just seemed the cheeriest of all the decorations there, though I wouldn't consider any of them melancholy. These just seemed more playful.

P1013696.jpg

Since the grave stones mostly had the last names engraved in large letters, I wasn't paying attention to what else they might say, until I came across one that said the deceased was merely "Gone Fishing," with a drawing of the lake they were no doubt enjoying above the announcement of their true whereabouts.

P1013698.jpg

Further on, a heart shaped headstone recalled the lyrics of a favorite song on the back, a long distance dedication if you will.

The other visitor had stopped cleaning and now seemed to be putting something down. I couldn't see from my vantage point, but it wasn't long until they were just standing there, as if admiring their work, or saying their goodbye. Then, they got into their car and drove off.

P1013700.jpg

I'm afraid curiosity got the best of me. I wondered what they had decided to place there that would take some time to do, but yet could not be seen from where I was. Most of the flowers and other decorations were pretty easy to pick out among the markers.

It took about a minute or so to walk down to the grave, which sat next to a small fir tree. Upon arrival, I was surprised to find things like cigarettes and beer bottles. What the heck? I wondered almost out loud. Did they just litter on the grave?!

Then I saw what else was there: a toy car, a wooden box, football paraphernalia, and other things. Then, I understood. They all represented what the loved one enjoyed in life. I put my judgment away, where it belonged.

Never Did Find Her

I walked around for several more minutes. In total, I was there for over an hour, distracted by sayings on the graves, the decorations, and the other visitor. I know my grandmother is there, somewhere. I guess I'll have to go back and look again. I just need to remember where I left her.

Or, I could ask directions.

Nah.

divider_victorian_thinned.png

About This Post

All photos were taken by Glen Anthony Albrethsen using an Olympus E-3 DSLR camera and a Zuiko lens.

Note: Here's the post about the cemetery I was telling you about, @dswigle.

Sort:  

You know just as well as I do...men don’t ask for directions. :wink:wink: Look how many cool and interesting things you discovered and read as you were lost looking for that one grave.
Next time...you will find it.
Cheers

People say that men don't ask for directions, but I've never understood that. I'm a man, and I don't even look around for a little while. If I don't know where something is, I ask right away. Those men who don't ask for directions are driving around looking like chumps while I'm already where I was trying to go. There's no shame in not knowing where something is. If you don't know and don't ask, it's going to take a lot more pain in life to figure things out. I'd just as soon skip the trouble and enjoy the destination. Ha ha.

It does sound like he had a good time wandering around though. Maybe he just needed time for a walk.

I totally agree with you there. Wait here... no there... where??? I just hate that feeling when you have been somewhere and you can see it in your mind but for some crazy reason you just, for the life of you, can’t find it. Then it becomes a mission. Ha ha ha.
I have a feeling @glenalbrethsen has a good time no matter what he does. Even if he was on a deserted island. 🤣🤣

for some crazy reason you just, for the life of you, can’t find it.

Yep, I hate that feeling as well.

Glen does seem like the sort of person who would have fun no matter where he went.

How deserted are we talking about? :)

There was a Japanese fellow who lived on a deserted island for decades. No one bothered him, and he became quite eccentric. Then one day, the government decided he couldn't stay there anymore, so they came and took him away.

He was experiencing increasingly poor health, so it was supposedly for his own good, but he didn't want to go. He wasn't given a choice in the matter.

As for me, I could get into a deserted island if there was some form of electricity and internet. :)

I might be able to help you with the electricity part 😉😉

Hey, @jlsplatts.

re: cool and interesting things

All is well with you and yours, I hope?

There was plenty there. I was kind of surprised. There's a large cemetery nearer to us where there's plenty of decorations around the major holidays, but not so much going on in between. So, some of the folks were already on top of the fall decorating.

re: you will find it

Yeah. I've got a good idea of where it's not now. :) There was half of the cemetery I didn't get to, and so her grave could very well be over in that section. There was some kind of building there—I guess I could have tried to see if anyone was there with a directory or something, but it was more for maintenance, I think, and there wasn't anyone working outside.

It almost seemed like fun trying to put the pieces together with the different saying and pictures on the graves.
This makes me wonder if I can find my Grandpa’s grave. That might end up in a 3 day adventure including sleeping in a tent in the cemetery....Wait that’s probably illegal. Lol

Things are good over here in Splatts land. My son has recovered from getting his appendix taken out and we had a great time at the haunted corn maze the other night. Thanks for asking.

That would be an adventure, and you would probably be shooed away by the groundskeeper since they tend to shut the gates by nightfall. :)

It is cool to see how imaginative people get with their loved one's grave marker. Some of it seems like it was requested or planned ahead, while others seem to be the living being a little spontaneous, or deciding what was important to the deceased and going with that.

I wouldn’t want to stay there anyway. Just the thought of a graveyard at night get me flinching at every noise. Lol

haha! howdy sir Glen! yes I would just spend the time looking, especially if the weather is nice, rather than ask someone, much more interesting. I enjoy seeing all the different markers, tombstones and writings too.

Well, those were pretty much my thoughts, too. Had a saw someone who was working there, I might have asked, but it meant going down the hill to the maintenance building, or whatever it was, there potentially not being anyone there, even with a truck parked outside, and then still needing to look around anyway.

At any rate, it gives me a reason to go back again, though I'm not entirely sure when that might be. Probably not until late spring.

yes go in beautiful weather and hopefully it'll take half a day to find it! lol.

It does look like a peaceful spot. It's amazing how quickly time can fly by. Hopefully you were able to find the grave after all that work and the long drive.

Well, that's just it. I didn't find it. :)

re: peaceful spot

I think of all of the cemeteries I've visited to be peaceful, just because there aren't a lot of people around, and the few who might be there tend to be quiet, respectful, and don't stay very long.

Granted, it's a place where the dead are buried and not a shopping mall or a sports stadium, but still, I enjoy the decorum. I also marvel at the beauty. Not all cemeteries have the views, but quite a few I've been to do. In some cases, you got to know that some prime real estate was donated at some point.

Interesting story, thanks for the look inside your own head -- that was the most fascinating part.

One site dropped all pretense and just said, "Happy Halloween!"

I wonder if the person who put that there realized that some people might find it in poor taste XD

Hey, @dollarsandsense.

You're probably the only one who has ever described the inside of my head as fascinating, but hey, I'll take it. :) Thank you.

I was so sure it would be easy to find my grandmother's grave, too. It's not a large cemetery, but large enough that I didn't really cover even half of it. So, I guess I have a reason to go back. Sooner this time, I think.

re: Halloween

Maybe they realized. My guess is, they don't really care. If it's something the deceased liked, they'll put it up, regardless it seems. Like beer bottles and cigarettes. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99