You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living in the shoes of another person

in #life6 years ago

hey, @maverickinvictus.

I would say it's pretty hard to say with exactness how we would react under the same circumstances without living through them, but we can learn from other people's experiences and then try to avoid the same pitfalls should the situation occur.

From your own words, there will be those who will do things differently reacting to the same problem based on their personal training, education, experience and even financial status. That would mean that some of these folks would actually try to better their situation despite going bankrupt, while others would likely tread water to stay afloat and others would simply give up, falling into crime or ending it completely.

It seems like the main concern here is people's indirect judgment of another based on how they feel they would react. If we know we wouldn't do something the same way as someone else, are we automatically judging? Maybe, but also maybe not. If I say I wouldn't do it like that after you tell me how you're preparing your meal, is that a judgment, or a condemnation of your way? Or am I simply saying, this is how I do it?

I guess without reading the comments I can't really say one way or the other what these folks were doing or what they intended. Obviously, there were words said and attitudes extrapolated from them that caused you to see judgments in them. Can't really say much about them. And in reality, at least some of them were judging. As human beings we tend to do that. However, I think there could be someone who is sure enough in their self and their place that it's not as much a judgment as it's a state of fact. And maybe that doesn't have a place on a social media page because it doesn't add to the intent of the post. Who knows.

The last few you mention before closing are all tough things. I will contend that there are certain things that anyone can reasonably do to help mitigate bad things from happening. I think I've managed to do many of them myself, as well as others I know.

However, that doesn't mean things will never happen, or that those safeguards will always work. There are no guarantees in life. I'm sure the person walking alone at night in a secluded part of town isn't looking for anything other than a means by which to get to their destination. They do not deserve or want anything bad to happen to them. That never takes the risk away, though, just as walking with a group in broad daylight would prevent a car from jumping the curb.

But being aware of our surroundings, the circumstances that we find ourselves in and taking steps to avoid or buffer against such things should happen as much as possible. Otherwise, we're knowingly putting ourselves into danger and must be prepared to except the consequences, just like any other decision we make. That doesn't mean, again, we're asking for or wanting anything. It doesn't shift the blame to us from the one committing the act. But if you know there are snakes along the path you walk, and you've heard that a dozen other people have been bit, while only three weren't, do you take that path to shave off ten minutes, or do you go another route?

Sort:  

Humans by nature tend to judge other people. May it be their looks, wealth, talents and influence. It is in them to make assumptions based on what they know or not know.

I agree that knowing ourselves and our capabilities that it becomes a matter of fact for us but there comes a thin line of it being a matter of fact and feeling superior over someone.

Maybe in my own way I was also judging their comments in the light that they are coming off as superior.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Well, as I think I remember saying, in your instance, you would know better what was said, how it was said, and who it was coming from. And sure, when we call people out about their judging, we could also be judging, too. I guess it just depends on how we go about it. If it's done in a way where it's not calling a specific person out, but saying, hey, I don't think this conversation is helpful or nice, maybe we can avoid coming off sounding judgmental ourselves. Who knows the true mind and hearts of others. Not me. I'm lucky to know mine on a regular basis. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62845.90
ETH 3173.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82