What Do You See?

in #life5 years ago

They Say A Picture Is Worth...

...a thousand words.

Does that mean it would take a thousand words to describe the scene? Maybe, depending on the scene. I would say in many cases, it might require how a person feels about the image, what their personal experience(s) might be with the subject of the image, or something or someone similar, or just the overall tone and feeling it portrays.

I'm interested in knowing what you get out of it, though. Would it be a thousand words?

Well, let's see. I'll go first.

IMG_2245.JPG

This is one of the larger lakes in the area where I spent a few years of my childhood. It's called Foster Lake, and it sits just outside of Sweet Home, Oregon in an unincorporated area called, you guessed it, Foster.

In looking it up, I guess the more proper term is Foster Reservoir, since Foster Dam on the South Santiam River creates the lake. I couldn't immediately find a history of it, but I know it's been around for at least the better part of my life, since I lived in Sweet Home from a little before I was attending kindergarten through the first half of fourth grade.

While I've been by it quite a few times (mainly on trips to Central or Eastern Oregon, Idaho, or Utah), I can only think of one time I've actually been somewhere at Foster Lake, and even that memory is hazy. As you can hopefully tell from the image above, it is a very beautiful, tranquil area, when the hordes aren't invading it, which is pretty much anytime the weather is nice.

While I don't have any specific memories of it, pleasant or otherwise, I do have kind of a loose association with it.

When I was younger (and they may still do this), the area had some sort of festival or celebration that usually fell on the first day of summer, or thereabouts. I don't remember how it happened, but for a while, I thought it was because of my birthday. Of course, I was somewhere between five and nine at the time.

There were lots of boats, fireworks, and other festivities, and whether it was or not, it was close enough to my birthday that it just seemed logical. It wasn't until many years later that I figured out it had nothing to do with me. Fortunately, by then, I was old enough to take the otherwise crushing blow it would have been to my young psyche. Funny, my parents never said anything. Maybe I never told them, but kept it all in my head.

My maternal grandparents and an aunt by marriage are buried in the local cemetery, and this is the lake it overlooks. It's a great view, and would be even better if you could be among the living to see it, rather than among the dead.

Beyond this point, starts the foothills of the Cascades, which takes you into elevations that have snow quite a bit of the year, which is mostly the reason why I haven't traveled that way as often as a route through Portland on the I-84. There isn't a lot in the way of civilization for hours and hours the farther you go east this way, either, which is great if you're trying to get away. Not so great if you haven't managed your gasoline correctly, need a pit stop or want to get something to eat.

I'd love to live near a body of water, but I'm more interested in a tropical part of the ocean than I am a lake. Fishing is supposed to be good in certain areas around here, too, for those who like to relax. And of course, there's the water sports of boating, jetskiing, etc.

I'd say if you're in the area ever, and like getting on or in the water, this is a great place to do it. The warmest time of the year is typically late July through mid-September, but temperatures can get into the 80s well before that. This year has been a little different in that we've had some cooler weather mixed with sprinkles and rain in the middle of the warmer temperatures, so we've not had the build up to hot weather nearly as much as we normally do.

At any rate, summer is dwindling. The official last day of it is some weeks away, even though school will start after Labor Day in the U.S., when the last of the vacations and nicer days will give way to classrooms and eventually rainier, cooler, cloudier weather.

Well. It doesn't look like I made it to a thousand words. Perhaps not all images are created equal.

What do you see in this photo? Don't worry about a thousand words. Just let me know what comes to mind.

Image courtesy of Glen Anthony Albrethsen

Sort:  

At first sight I saw a lake, which is here in Carinthia - the Lake Millstatt / Millstätter See.
The south side of the lake looks quite the same, because there are also mainly forests. Most of the villages and tourists are on the south shore.
I see a beautiful lake with fun and action on the north side, and with calm and relaxing walks and hikes at the south of the lake.





Hey, @johannpiber.

Wow. You're right. Very similar in the way they look. :) It's cool when one place can remind you of home or even another place you've been to. I was hoping someone would point that out.

So, it looks like Carinthia is in Austria. Of any place in Europe, Austria has been on the list for a while to go visit. Switzerland, and then southern countries like Spain and Italy. One of these days, maybe. :)

Hello Glen,

so, you have been searching, where Carinthia is ;)

When I saw your photo I thought "wow, he has been here on vacation", and I remembered, that a few months ago I have shot some photos of that lake, which looked somehow similar :)

You will need some time, if you want to visit all these countries. I couldn't even tell you what to visit and what not, because there are so many places, where I would never go, but which are tourist hot spots ;)

Well, it's going to be a while before we head off to anywhere in Europe, but wife wants to go look at castles for some reason. When she wants to something bad enough, it usually happens. :)

I hadn't heard of it before, so yeah, I looked it up.

How about some of these for you:

!ENGAGE 100

Good morning Glen,

oh, there are beautiful castles everywhere in Europe, and every single one is worth a visit. But please be aware, that there will be masses of people ;)

I don't join tourist groups or other guided tours and discover such places on my own. If I want to know something about what I see, there's usually an information desplay nearby.

This is the most famous castle in Carinthia - the "Burg Hochosterwitz" (Castle Hochosterwitz)

Thanks a lot for the tokens, have a !BEER from me :)

Very cool. I'll have to do more research whenever this trip might happen, and it may be that we have to go more than once just to see what she wants to see.

I don't like following the tours, either. They generally cost something, take too long, and as you say, there's typically information somewhere to be found.

Yes, you will have to do some research on the places you want to visit and make a good plan, what to see and when. Then your trip to Europe will be successful and without tourists stress ;)

Whenever your trip will be, I wish you the best weather and a satisfied wife 😉

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @glenalbrethsen, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Do you already know our [BEER Crowdfunding](https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@beerlover/let-s-grow-and-update-the-beer-token-huge-crowndfunding-as-crowdsale)

Here are your ENGAGE tokens!

To view or trade ENGAGE go to steem-engine.com.

Thank you very much 😊

Edit: ... and I always forget to share my !BEER 😉

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @glenalbrethsen, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Do you already know our [BEER Crowdfunding](https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@beerlover/let-s-grow-and-update-the-beer-token-huge-crowndfunding-as-crowdsale)

It is beautiful! Not a single structure to see which is contradictory as it seems that a manmade lake has been spared by other manmade structures! I see my hopes and future though as I dream to experience places like this every day at some point in my life!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey, @newageinv.

Yeah, it wouldn't be bad at all if I had to 'settle' for a view like this. :)

So, in the upper left part of the image I noticed (didn't see it at the time), that there is a boat out on the water. But your right, not really any thing manmade in that particular area of the lake. The dam is farther upstream, obviously, and I then the community of Foster is beyond that. Of course, behind me there's a road and on the other side some homes, a few businesses, though they're spread out a little bit out here.

Guess it just depends in which you're direction you're looking. :)

I definitely dont have a 1000 lol but that looks like a beautiful lake. I feel the beauty of nature and it makes me want to go wakeboarding or fishing. Also, id love to visit Oregon, i have never been. So, to sum it all up in 1 word, vacation. Thnx for sharing Grandpa 😊

Hey, @weirdheadaches.

No problem. It's amazing just how much peace the beauty of nature can bring. Even as we try to urbanize quite a bit of it, there's still a lot places where you could almost detach yourself from the outside world.

This is pretty much what Western Oregon looks like from Portland down to Medford. Outside of the cities, obviously, which haven't done a bad job of incorporating nature into them, either. Very earth-friendly around here. To the extreme sometimes, but it definitely has its better moments. :)

I guess it is different for you because you were 'associated' with the picture.

But for me, looking at the picture, the words, beautiful, awesome, breathtaking, peace, serene, beautiful... oh I said beautiful already ... comes to mind. 😊

All of those words are very appropriate, I would say.

What's funny is, this was taken from a viewpoint (basically a widened spot in the road and not really a full blown rest area), so there were quite a few people east of me milling around. Not so peaceful.

I certainly think bodies of water like this are meant for our use and recreation, but obviously, there comes a point where there's just too many people doing it, and it tends to spoil the allure. :)

!COFFEEA 5

Amazing! A token I didn't already have. :)

I don't know whether it will amount to anything in the future. We will have to see. But since they are there, just keep it in the wallet. Maybe it will become valuable one day. 😊

coffeea Lucky you @glenalbrethsen here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84