You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Allowing myself to feel (I'd rather be human than a robot)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

A beautiful journey into the maturity of feelings and emotions.

It is true. Most of us grow thick skins to repel what we don't like, and that comes at a price. We can't feel what we want to feel either. To be true to your core, you must be able to feel your own self, as well as others. In order to influence others and form relationships with them, you must discover yourself first.

We humans aren't designed to be robots.

I'd rather feel the shit and darkness than nothing at all.

That is precisely what happened to me as well. I'm pretty sensitive and I tried being a robot. But unfortunately, it was stifling. I could not be a robot. So I turned towards the other path. It was difficult at first, but then I realised that it was a journey towards greater mastery of the self. And I always like a challenge. At that point, I started out in my journey and my ex broke up with me the same day that my childhood friend died. A ton of turbulence just to start all of it off. Perhaps fate wanted to assist me with this challenge and make it even more difficult.

I used to have panic attacks and other mood swings. After about two years of constant effort, I was succesful. It wasn't easy, but now, god damn it, life is surely much calmer and beautiful.

Sort:  

man I feel you. I can relate so much with what you're saying. About 1.5 years ago, I experienced a breakup - so painful, so much misery.. and at the same time, it brought me so much goodness. It changed my life for the best. It was the perfect opportunity to get to know those feelings. To allow myself to be sad, to have pain, and to learn from it.

Haruki Murakami said: “Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional. Say you're running and you think, 'Man, this hurts, I can't take it anymore. The 'hurt' part is an unavoidable reality, but whether or not you can stand anymore is up to the runner himself.”

what it shows me: Shit happens in life... :) the way we deal with it, is in our power.

I'm so glad for your experiences and growth. I can say the same... sometimes a low mood cloud passes through my life.. but it's just so much calmer and nicer than a few years ago...

Great to have you on this journey man :)

Great to find a fellow passenger!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63894.44
ETH 3342.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91