Of Inner Strength and Stubbornness

in #life5 years ago

As the end of my one year sabbatical draws near, moments of panic make me subdued, thinking that this past year was NOT enough to have spent them with my mom. Were those times spent with her really quality times? Her once in a while smile can be confirming and i hope that when am gone, she will be more than ok.

Her becoming sick again is not an option. But for now, her on and off coughing is playing-up and with the heat starting, this won't help her at all. In this part of the world, summer is here, and with it is El Niño. My mom will be staying mostly indoor.

One thing that's been consistent in my stay in the Philippines is the pottering around in the backyard. Some say i have green fingers, I say i've learnt from the best.

Growing-up, i usually helped out my mom in the garden or even when vacationing from abroad. When she retired, her orchids have been her babies, even in bloom during the typhoon seasons.

With her stroke, she can only gazed at her garden from the porch. But as much as we try to maintain her orchids, only one bloomed last year, the rest perhaps are trying to live from the less frequent water they get.

Telling my mom that I will be leaving soon, looking at her eyes, i think that she understood. For now i am counting the days and part of me thinks that I am ready to leave her. I hope it won't break her heart to see me go. She's a fighter and have inner strength and stubbornness that we see daily. Somehow, i need her to be that.

All images were taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7, taken yesterday while out cycling on our way home.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This must be such a difficult time for you @immarojas. My mum lives abroad as you know, so I understand how hard say goodbye is but she is only a short plane flight away.

I'm sending you and your heaps of love and hugs. 💙

Thanks much Gillian! She's very near so you're a bit better. I am very grateful for this year that i was with her. Was as am leaving soon.
Will i see you??😘😘

Will i see you?

I really hope so @immarojas. If the general meet-ups don't work out - most of them are in the evening now which doesn't work for me - perhaps we could meet up independently. 😍

Yes would love to Gillian! London or Brighton or mid-way i don't mind.
Miss the countryside🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Let's meet up in Brighton then. People have been saying they want to come down ever since I joined Steemit but we've not made it happen.

Once you get home let's you and I make a date and others can join in if they want to. Either way we'll get to hang out. Would be lovely! 💙

Do you have a travel date yet?

Brighton it is! Arriving on the 29th and working the following week😉

This is the first I read your content with mix emotions maam. Most of your content was entertaining to read and adorable. I thought you only have a wonderful life because of the place you visited. Yet, this one made emotional. I couldn't help my self but being sad because I remember my mother also.
I remember those days when she didn't want me to leave her. She said I'm old but I answered her, what about me my life is just starting. As I spoke those words it made me cried when I saw her face. Please don't look at me like that mom.
I think it will be fine maam, she will be fine for sure and continue to smile hoping for your return. Sorry I got carried away by your story.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks kuya! In our world, this is what we do, leave to provide what are needed, esp for our parents.Lakas, tiyaga and tibay ng loob...we have plans for the future and aim to get there sooner and very much able.
This is possible with crypto...pero hinde lahat ng savings mapunta dito. Possible to kuya.
Unless lola mo si queen elizabeth.

hahaha I don't want to be a royalty, by the way maam anong discord mo?my chika ako sayo..may tumulong sakin sa tuition fee ko, ang swerte ko.hehw

Posted using Partiko Android

Aken na iyo..

Posted using Partiko Android

iwan ko tama ba to, di ko alam kanina pa ako naghahanap ng invitation.hehe
@mrnightmare89#2161

Posted using Partiko Android

Wala ka naman. try mine, mag-lunch lang me.
Lola.Imma#3544

Posted using Partiko Android

wla rin maam eh, pasok ka nalang po muna doon tas edirect message nalang kita, ito link

https://discord.gg/2meNg6

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94