Automaton #4

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-2086805354.jpg

I prodded the quivering lumpen thing on the plate before me. It smelled yeasty, like a maidens thunderfist.

What's this?

I asked the good lady who, judging by the clattering and banging of plates seemed to be in a foul mood.

Porridge drawer.

I studied her with a gaze heavily laden with detectivity.

And what would that be exactly?

She scowled blackly at me.

Well, you switched the power off at the mains so that "they" can't watch us. Now I can't cook anything. So there you have it. Porridge drawer.

kgzhd4k.jpg

I poked at it distractedly. I fervently hoped that the drawers in question were not the ones that the good lady wore over her Wallaby pouch.

Hmm. I might give it a miss?

She gave me a cold look which made the dim candle-light flicker around me.

You will bloody eat it.

If the years of battle in the fighting pits had taught me anything, they had taught me to know when to fight and when to back down. I gouged a little of the flubbery stuff on the edge of my spoon and gave it a taste.

Gaaar.

It was fetid. Like that weird fish that Norwegian's bury for a few weeks then dig up and eat for Christmas.

kgzhd4k_20181106173219386.jpg

However, I couldn't let the good lady know her dish was pish. I proceeded to make appreciative noises so convincing that one of my cats went into spontaneous heat and started curling around my leg wantonly.

The good lady stood over me, arms folded grimly, making sure I ate every last drop.

I battled through, each mouthful bringing back abominable flashbacks of a vegetarian wedding I attended some years ago. I had thought those memories dead and buried but the full horror of that evening meal were hard to wipe away.

Eventually the task was done. I pushed the empty bowl away and she made a clicking noise with her cheeks as if someone was tapping a tambourine with an undercooked courgette fritter.

Wiping away a manful tear I staggered to the door.

Time to get back on the case, the sooner I could crack this one and get the power back on the better for everyone it seemed.

kgzhd4k_20181106173432866.jpg

I swung into my seat next to Mikey. He was eating a roll and bacon. My belly grumbled out loud like strawberries at the first sight of rain.

Whatcha got for me Mikey?

I asked over the appallingly loud rumbling of my stomach.

What's that noise? The drains fucked again?

He looked around questioningly.

I waved a hand around as if fending off an angry Albatross with seaweed in it's beak.

kgzhd4k_20181106173717403.jpg

Never mind the drains Mikey, what you got for me?

Mikey was in a feisty mood. He curled a lip up contemptuously at me before answering.

What have I got for you? In what respect?

I shook my head. It looked like he wanted to dance. Surely he should have learned by now? I wheeled my chair at him, banging it off his like a berserk Dalek chasing a Doctor.

Listen, Mikey. You ever shat in a sock?

What?!

That's right, Mikey boy. That's what they make boys like you do in Prison, shit in a sock.

kgzhd4k_20181106174102384.jpg

Mikey tried to wheel his chair away but one of its wheels was expertly caught in mine.

That's fucking disgusting, why would anyone do that? You're full of shit.

I screwed my face up as if being tickled by a Welshman.

Not as full of shit as your socks are gonna be. Now spill, Mikey. Who's the big giant guy that has been sitting at my chair?

Sitting at your chair? Is this Goldilocks?

I stared at him impassively, he was always susceptible to a good old hard eye-pounding was Mikey. True enough, he folded.

A big guy you say? Like massive fat? That would be the new guy, Julian. He's Dev-Ops, you know, for the Automation stuff?

kgzhd4k_20181106174357745.jpg

Dev-Ops.

I stated grimly. This was worse than I feared, I had worked with some shadowy Black-Ops before, in my line of work you had to sup with a long spoon at times. I was no stranger to a spoon supping. Dev-Ops though? This sounded like a whole other level of shit.

Well well well, Mikey. Looks like your socks are safe for the moment. Where can I find these... Dev-Ops?

Mikey's face contorted with something akin to fear, as if I had put lead weights in his saddlebags prior to the two o'clock race.

The 8th floor.

He whispered faintly.

I nodded. The 8th floor, of course. It always came back to the 8th.

I stood and with a flourish of my long coat left him, his face a picture of confusion and fear.

kgzhd4k_20181106174717035.jpg

I stood outside the door that had led to my old office on the 8th floor where not so long ago, the doomed time travel experimentation had led me to inhabit a pale shadow-like future in which nothing had been right.

At times like these I wondered, had I really made it back? Was all of this just a random offshoot of a dark multiverse? How would I know?

Perhaps I would know by the very same queer fortune that led me back here. A place of shadow and doubt. I stared at the sign which had been clumsily attached over the old lemniscate sign of project's past.

kgzhd4k_20181106174848319.jpg

A riddle, it reminded me of the Sphinx and the terror of its reign in humanity's dark past. Well, dark past for some. I still woke up at night sometimes, cold sweat and erections haunting my sleep. Mostly, thankfully, my own.

I pushed open the door and stepped in. Suddenly, I was falling, the floor rushing up to meet me.

Everything went black...

Sort:  

If you don't get Alexa fixed soon, Mikey isn't the only one who will need a new pair of socks.

As an aside, you had me at drawers in question were not the ones that the good lady wore over her Wallaby pouch OMG! Sweet Jesus! Where do you dream this stuff up.

No! Don't tell me. I don't want to know what is going on inside that Scottish head of yours.

Tip!

You certainly don't want to know. I would like to say I agonize over which phrases to use whilst sitting in a Street cafe observing the hustle and bustle go by... But nah, they just fall out of my head!! :0)

Well if this case, or whats in the darkness, do not kill you, there will always be the good lady's cooking.....

Hehe, that might be true yes!

And down he went, like sliced cold porridge from a drawer.

You have gotta love that sliced cold porridge! Or maybe not...

Only in Scotland ...

It does make an interesting sound when it hits the floor.

Or the bottom of the bin ;O)

Mostly, thankfully, my own.

But not all? Is there something you need to tell us, Boomy?

If the years of battle in the fighting pits had taught me anything, they had taught me to know when to fight and when to back down.

I thought you'd learned that with those monks, whose name I can't remember and whose post I can't find. Eh, I'll go look for it later.

One must always leave the peons readers guessing.. oops, getting ahead of myself there. It's not Thursday yet!

I remember exactly that post!

Don't worry, the peons can (and must) be looked down upon at all times.

Do you know which one it was?

Indeed, after all how else would they know they are peons? Like the tree that falls in the woods.

I think it was one of the eager zero ones but not sure!

That tree knows it's a peon? I wasn't aware.

All of the trees know. It's the secret that they keep from man

Those arrogant peons would dare keep a secret from gentleman?

They most certainly all have to go. We can get rid of the other the whale-loving, tree-hugging peons together with them.

All we need to do is offer some free pie...

The best free pie there is. And the best always comes with a cost!

well sir, I'm suspecting you have managed to piss the good lady off... that, or she has a side piece, otherwise she wouldn't be trying to clog your arteries with porridge. Wallaby pouch... actually it seems fitting for some odd reason.
You're much too hard on Mikey, you have to flatter the little bastard and get him more on your side, you waste too much energy threatening him. He's soon going to start playing "both sides of the fence".

I can't think of a time I am not pissing the good lady off!

He deserves no flattery! ;0)

This was way too much for my brain.....I think I just peed myself laughing. I had to re-read the post three times now.

It improves with every reading!! :0D

It does...and I still can't get the vision of the cat out of my head, or the good lady standing there making a clicking noise with her cheeks as if someone was tapping a tambourine with an undercooked courgette fritter, and there were others, but I'm not reading it again!

Haha, that damn cat and her horn!

I meant to ask you in my previous comment, but forgot, do you do your own illustrations and animations? they are very good, and I like them!

I do but I use stock art as a base a lot of the time. So I work with what I can get! :0)

I have seen more people puke on YouTube eating Surströmming! YUCK!

Hehe I can imagine. You should see lutefisk, I think the name of it is. It's foul!!!

Hi @meesterboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.307 which ranks you at #207 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 203).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 306 contributions, your post is ranked at #13.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi @meesterboom! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99