Doggy

in #life6 years ago

15387595f19-picsay.jpg

There were a few people gathered around my desk for a walkthrough of some nonsense document. I was about halfway in when a woman from Finance, Skeletor, came over.

Sorry I am late. Hope I haven't missed too much.

Nah, don't worry. I will run through the first part again if you like?

Said I, most kindly. As if she were a bumblebee I was feeding sugar-water to.

kgzmfousi_20181004091722769_20181005183739596.jpg

Oh thank you, I will be fine though, carry on as you were, hehehe.

She giggled as if I had blown some powdered Rhino horn up her back snarler with a straw.

I whipped back round to my screen and took a breath to speak.

How is that young lad of yours getting on? He must be nearly one now?

I preened like a typical, sleep-addled, stained-clothes-wearing, Dad of a toddler.

Yes indeed, he is one at the weekend. We are having a little party for him.

kgzmfousi_20181004091722769_20181005184035025.jpg

Skeletor clucked her cheeks as if what eggs she had left were vibrating inside her.

Oh that's lovely, are you getting him lots of toys?

I smiled, despite her sabotaging my walkthrough I quite liked talking about my pride and joy that was the little boom.

Well, not too many toys. He's walking now and he only ever plays with a couple of toys. One of them is his total favourite, Doggy Woggy.

kgzmfousi_20181004091722769_20181005184316843.jpg

Skeletor skreeked and swung her head back and forth as if she was being pursued by hunters again.

You can't say that!

She hissed. Her chins were jubbling now.

I made a chicken eating ham face.

Can't say what? Doggy?

No. Not Doggy... The other word... Jeez, anyone could hear you. You will be whipped up in front of HR and shot.

I racked my brains. I had no idea what she was talking about. I wondered if she had gotten hold of some cider again?

Doggy... Woggy?

She twitched violently upright and made a small skirk noise.

BoomDawg, stop it. If anyone hears you, you will be for the high jump. You can't say things like that, haven't you read the Equality & Diversity handbook?

kgzmfousi_20181004091722769_20181005184605601.jpg

Of course, I had read the thing. I still had no idea what she was talking about. Somehow my confusion must have been percolating through to my face because she leaned into me and whispered.

You can't say that second word!

Woggy? It's not a separate word, it's one of those nonsense things you say to babies. You know, like Ratty Watty, Horsey Worsey... Doggy Wo...

She thrust a big wet hand against my mouth.

No!

Her eyes darted back and forth as if at any moment a bunch of men were going to abseil through the windows and menace her with their weapons.

She stood up.

Listen, I will get a copy of the presentation later.

She pointed a sausagey finger straight at me.

You. Watch yourself.

She walked off muttering about HR and Respect at work.

I shook my head. Doggy Woggy seemed to have caused a bit of a stir. I am kinda glad I didn't mention his toy cat, Chairman Miaow...

Sort:  

@meesterboom, people who do not have children at home can not understand that these words exist in the mouth of a child and has nothing to do with the real meaning and after all so much fuss over a little word
I wish you a happy rest dear friend

You know I think you have hit the nail on the head right there!

I'm all for political correctness until people like the aforementioned happen and then I'm not so sure XD

I am totally all for it myself!! Since people just go a bit mad!

I also don't understand what is the matter with her. Had she taken her medicine early in the morning before coming to work or the stress of managing finance is getting to here? Either way, Doggy Woggy is a perfectly fine phrase. Upvoted!

Haha, her medicine was no doubt lacking!!

I will admit boomdawg, I had no idea what woggy was...until I looked it up in the urban dictionary...LOL. Skeletor haha, I was totally thinking about He-Man the whole time. Skeletor is the bad guy. lol Hilarious as always my good man! Oh by the way, I forgot to tell you, we had a talent show on Monday, and I was one of the Judges. "Gilbert's Got Talent", haha we were in the town of Gilbert. Anyways, my talent as a judge was speaking in a British, sometimes, Irish, maybe a bit Scottish accent. hehe the accent was a bit dodgy but some people thought I did well with it. hahaha

Haha, I would have loved to have seen that!! Or should I say heard, lol.

Sounds like a lot of fun!!

And yeah, I want really sure myself at first! I think it says more for what was going on in her head!!

hahaha yeah it was great fun! I know right next time tell her to "get her mind out of the gutter!" lol Do you use that phrase there?

Oh we do!! You have no idea how often I am told that, lol!!

LOL Well that is a given, I knew that the very first time I read one of your stories. lol hahaha

hehehehe and why is there so much fuss over a name?
When children are small, one becomes silly and says weird words where they come from? I dont know! heheh one becomes a composer of silly words to make them laugh.
She is a bit paronoical, the Woggy would be a nice gift, I like your face in the photo

Hehe, you know I like to strike a post in the photos, lol

You'll have to watch yourself, Boomy. She will next be handing out a printed sheet from HR of what is permissible language to use in the office! LOL By the way, just where had that wet hand been before she thrust it against your mouth?

Hahaha, it might have just been a little damp but wet sounded so much better. In fact if it was wet I might still be crouched under a shower!

No surprise you went over the top again.. when will you learn... its all getting over the top, we can't stay anything without upsetting someone...Watch yer mouth in future..as if that's going to happen haha

I will be watching my mouth and other bits!!

Maybe she was after your other bits haha

Probably. Join the bloody queue I say!!

I was expecting an answer like that haha

The steemit doggy woggy 😂🤣

Woggy is a bad word? A chauvinistic one?? What the F's? I actually scooted back in the post when you wrote the part she hissed to see what I missed...I was just as bewildered as you LOL!!

Many moons ago we got a report about my stepson, he got in trouble for saying Fafa, then ended up in detention because when he wasn't allowed to say it anymore he wrote it on his pants. We were like FAFA??? WTH?? Apparently, since they weren't allowed to say fag or gay or any of the associated words they began saying Fafa and it got put on the list. Still makes me laugh to this day. Maybe you should have Woggy printed on your shirt!

Ha, that's right that's Italian isn't it? I was genuinely flabbergasted and then when it dawned on me what she thought I was saying I was mortified. She is lucky she never got a kick in the pie!

Kick in the pie!! LOL!!!

Hello stranger! :D I see nothing has changes since I have been MIA... you are still upsetting the work folk haha

Aloha!! Yes indeed, is my reason for being!! ;0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99