Down At Haggle Rock

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-290671146.jpg

The beer shop was quiet.

Too quiet.

In fact, it was completely deserted when I pushed open its door and stepped into its dark and curious smelling innards.

Hello?

I called out hesitantly.

Nothing. Nada. Not a Kapinski.

Oh well. Maybe I could just browse the beers and there would still be no-one there to pay when I took them to the till. That would be a bonus.

cfjj1552_6f_20190407160645859_20190408203300125_20190409140539820_20190410181608587_20190412124121675.jpg

I started having a swatch at the beers on offer. There were many new ones. Fruity ones, dark ones, freaky-looking ones. I was quite taken with one in particular which had a giant skull on the bottle.

I reached a hand out for it.

YAAARK!

I leapt three feet into the air and whirled as a beefy hand clapped down on my shoulder.

Ey op lad. Owzee?

I glared at the Bear Man, proprietor of the Beer Shop.

Fuck sake, you gave me the fright of my life. I totally shat myself.

Said I, trying to bring my voice down to a more manly tone.

Ah was int back.

Said the Bear Man remarkably clearly. I felt that after all this time, I was beginning to understand his thick and coarse way of mangling the English language.

Aye, well. Very good.

I said sternly. Somewhat schoolmasterly actually. I was a bit miffed that I had jumped so high and made such a five-year-old- girl shriek when he had gladhanded me.

Ah, gots yehs ah cracka.

Intoned the Bear Man, rubbing his big meaty hands together.

What would that be then?

I asked, giving him a flat stare as if he had asked me to play Ludo.

cfjj1552_6f_20190407160645859_20190408203300125_20190409140539820_20190410181608587_20190412125147220.jpg

The Bear Man hurried over to the till and then came back cradling a bottle of beer in his strangler's hands as if it were a baby or a very fat penis.

Is is it. Issa cracka. I tells ye. But...

I narrowed an eye. He said But - I didn't like buts. At least, not in the context of big giant hairy men looming over me with Cumberland sausage fingers.

But what?

I said.

I made sure that the tone of my voice brooked no nonsense so that he didn't get any fancy ideas of dragging me round the back and christening me Belinda with his special brine.

The Bear Man turned the bottle so I could see the back label.

Soutta date.

I noticed that indeed it was out of date. That was fine though, that kind of thing never bothered me. It was only the end of last month. It would be fine for months yet.

It looked like an excellent beer. An Imperial Stout aged in Whisky barrels. Yum.

How much is it?

Normally these beers were quite expensive.

The Bear Man made a humming then an ah'ing noise. As if he were trying to attract a queen bee to nest in his big beard.

Well, soutta date. Normally it's 13 pounds. Give yer it, for 10.

I looked at him with a small smile. I could feel my haggle rising.

cfjj1552_6f_20190407160645859_20190408203300125_20190409140539820_20190410181608587_20190412125520646.jpg

10? Are you mental? It's out of date.

The Bear Man took a step back as if contemplating smashing it over my head for sheer pleasure.

It's less than two weeks outta date!

He exclaimed.

Aye, Very good. I will give you 4 quid for it.

Said I, like I was back in India and that weird guy with the gammy eye was trying to sell me some carved wooden tat again.

FOUR!?!? IT'S WORTH THIRTEEN!??!

Bellowed the Bear Man.

Nah, it's outta date.

Said I, turning my handsome back to him.

Eh? You not wanting it then?

Came the puzzled voice from behind me.

The thing was though. I did want it. I wanted it very much. But I also wanted victory. My haggle muscle would settle for nothing less.

Alright then, you win. I will give you a fiver for it, nothing more.

Hmmph. No way. No way Ho-say.

The Bear Man clumped back on his giant feet to the till and glowered at me.

I chose a few beers that tickled my fancy and made my way to the till. A half smile on my face. I plumped my beers down.

He totted them up on the till, still glowering.

I looked at his out of date Whisky aged Imperial Stout.

Last chance, You want a fiver for it? 'Soutta date' remember.

He stared at me as if he was on the vinegar stroke in the toilet and his wife was calling his name as she came up the stairs.

Aye, fucking take it then.

Hurrah!

Sort:  

Result!

And beers to wash it down with if it's not up to scratch. Two weeks though, should be reet!

Aye man, it will be fine. Now I just hope that it is a cracker!!

Only one more night till I find out!

So you will be mixing it with this weekend crazy beers? :D

Feels like these are the ingredients for another boomdawg dance-off!?

It's going to be one of them. The others can wait till some other time!!

Woot! You won! Hope we'll be seeing the tasting tomorrow?? I won't even remember that 'soutta date :D That sort of thing never bothered me either lol

I did!! Or at least I think I did!! The proof will be in the pudding tomorrow night!!!

Yeah, dates don't matter too much with beer!

Lol been long I read one of these...

I hope they haven't changed!

You old haggler you, Hope it is going to taste good. Now if you can just apply the same haggling technique with the good lady hahaha imagine....

If it would work on her I would have a very happy life!! Lol

You can be glad there were not a lot of people there, they may have taken it out from right under your nose. Now to see if it was worth the money spend

Hehe, they might have done!! It was a steal!

@meesterboom Hello dear friend. This is where the magic begins. That was a very good negotiation. The date does not matter a while back, they did not even have an expiration date on the food.
Well done
Esperomos as the tasting comes out today
I wish you a great day

Cheers @jlufer! I am sure it will be a cracker. Otherwise the joke will be on me!!

Somehow I saw the Harry Potter character 'Hagrid' (name seems to be Old-English related: Hagridden, could explain the jumpscare and the odd spoken word) appear, while reading, having his own beershop. Anyway must be an awesome one, with such a pricetag, even after a tough haggle. Some things do get better with age (many things dont also though). Can beer even go bad? Do people throw it away then!? Such horror...

Enjoy that special brew dude, it has to be great, riped a in wooden whiskey barrel, that always has got me going for it.

I can imagine silly people throwing it away because it was two weeks out of date. Madness. It's beer for gawds sake!

I do hope it's a good in, I will be seeing tonight. It's strong enough at 10% for me not to notice if it's rubbish :0D

Hahaha, it is indeed strong enough to give you the impression it is one of the finest ever tasted.

Cheers mate!

You managed a deal with the bear man (whom I've come to picture as Hagrid from Harry Potter) and a hook for tomorrow's post- nice one me boom, you're on fire!

The flames are firing our of my arse!! :0D

I knew it, you are William Wallace!

HAHAHA!! Oh if only!!

Well played Boomy, well played!

Hehe, cheers man. I thought so!!

Good on ya, ya master haggler. Though dissing the man the size of a bear might get your head popped like a Saturday balloon, but then again, he wants you do come back for more oudadater's. So maybe that's a big nevermind. My hero, the Thriftmeister Beermeister Boomeister. (Few ever reach the coveted TriMeister status...)

But was it any good?

I will find out if it is about good tomorrow when I open it as part of my Saturday beer shenanigans!! It looks good, you just never know though. The last laugh could be his!!

That's how I used to buy my record albums, by the cover design. A few panned out...then again. Never did claim to be a brilliant decisionist. Hope it's a bonny good brew. If not, it was cheap ( :

It's the best way, may as well be fooled by a cover I always say ;0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97