The Graduate

in #life6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-420443568.jpg

Alright guys? What are we up to?

I and Sad-Arse looked up at the interruption. It was Peach, a dude who normally sat a few rows away from us both. He was in his early forties and quite large for a human.

Peach had a peculiar look on his face, as if he was a freshly shaved bear being drizzled in honey. He stuck his hand out and in a slimy way did his best James Bond impression.

Hey, the names Peach, pleased to meet you. I don't know if these two clowns told you but I pretty much run the show around here.

kgzhzjx_20180716120454746_20180717140108036_20180807103454680_20180808112505575.jpg

He chuckled to show he was joking. Obviously, in case I took umbrage and rammed an in-tray up his outbox.

The object of his attention was the girl sitting with us, Sila. She was a mere twenty years old and had just started with us. Our work had decided to start taking on graduates as part of a new trainee programme. Unfortunately, the first one to arrive was Sila.

I say unfortunately because as well as being young she was also rather pretty.

This had caused productivity in our department to nosedive as one by one the bearded IT geek collective all took turns to frothily sidle up to our desk and introduce themselves.

kgzhzjx_20180716120454746_20180717140108036_20180807103454680_20180808152125346.jpg

Peach was the latest.

Hi.

Said Sila.

If you need anything... I mean anything just give me a shout eh?

Said Peach, winking slightly in what he thought was a pant-moistening way but just made him look like an old tennis ball with a hole in it.

Ok.

Said Sila.

I idly chewed a pen whilst giving Peach a pitying stare.

We are trying to work Peachy pants?

Peach made a face as if licking a bay leaf.

And Sila, don't let these two lead you astray, know what I mean?

Said Peach, nodding to myself and Sadarse. He had a smug look on his as if his web had just started to vibrate.

kgzhzjx_20180716120454746_20180717140108036_20180807103454680_20180808152506208.jpg

I turned back to the screen where myself and Sad-Arse were running through the induction pack with Sila.

I flicked through a slide about ways of working and then on to the next one. I felt Peach's presence behind me like a rude ghost at a seance.

I hope these two don't bore you too much with all that nonsense!

Said Peach. Still resolutely not leaving.

I'm sure they won't.

Said Sila.

Peach looked all around conspiratorially as if Sad-Arse and I weren't there.

And remember, if you need anything... and I mean any...

Right you. Beat it and leave us alone, we are busy.

I interrupted him and turned to Sila.

Peach comes across as a bit of a pedo when you first meet him but he is harmless really.

Peach squawked something indignant about not being a pedo.

Sila laughed.

Well, I didn't want to say but he does a wee bit, yes

Peach gave a harrumph worthy of a Rhino and stomped off.

We got back on with our work. Mere minutes later a voice boomed out. It was El Jefe.

Well hello and who do we have here?

Oh man, here we go again.

Sort:  

Have I ever told you that your blogs are a fix for me much like coffee? There is nothing better than starting the day off with a clownish grin and giggle snorts, or the kind of laugh that startles the neighbors cat!

Och pish'n'fish! You flatter me milady! But I likes it! :0D

Pishnfish to your false modesty, you know you rawk! ;0)

Wahaaar!! I do! I totally knows it! hehe

We once briefed a new one to look all courters in the eye and softly ask them to meet her behind the car park at 18:00. Some actually showed up, standing around awkwardly in each other's presence, and we then made a group photo from a distance.

Oh that is terrible mean but superb!!

What a peachy blog post lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

S'all about dem peaches broseph! :O)

ha! if this is a true accounting it is brilliant writing but sad at the same time.Most of the time I don't know how women put up with us men!
thank you sir meesterboom.

It is sadly true, the guys in here are like flies around a cows arse!!

It is sadly true,
The guys in here are like flies
Around a cows arse!!

                 - meesterboom


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

hahaha! a perfect description sir!
present company excluded I hope.
aren't you supposed to be at work?

Not this week, I am finishing early a massive three days in a row!

oh I see, very good sir. well I guess I'm not that familiar with your job but many folk seem to be able to be on steemit fulltime whilst they are also at their fulltime career jobs so sometimes it gets confusing.

Lol, no, that would be wild. Most people use steemify or similar to get live notifications of interactions so it often looks as if they are on full time!

I am on a fair bit when I get the chance though;

yes sir at your esteemed level,lol, it TAKES a fair bit of time just answering your adoring fans I would think. I've seen you write consistently everyday since I've been on here, about 3 months. when you sit down to write does the story just flow out and you make it up as you go along or do you have it in your head before you start?

A heady combination of them all. I sit down with an idea and then it all flows out :O)

I haven't missed a day in quite some time that is true!

Fresh meat always attracts flies...Hopefully, by Friday, the novelty will have worn off!

Russ one is doing fresh I don't know if the novelty will!! It's horrific to see!

It is a terrible thing to witness! Especially at work!

It is, and grown men too!

Oh my, poor Sila. You may want to gift her a fly swatter, I find they're very effective.

Oops, I'm sorry, that fly was about to land on your face.

Hehe. Maybe we could all do with them!

I used to hate the graduates coming in. All the new ideas from text books and stuff that were totally out of date and unpractical. Unfortunately a lot of people listened to them and it screwed up bonuses etc. They didn't understand the challenges of real life and thought they knew everything. I would much rather take someone on who had a few years of experience and had a brain that showed promise.

We would just rather the experienced folk too, but they don't like the money we are offering!

She has said some mighty silly things already, it's kinda funny. Lol

Oh man, Peach has nothing on El Jefe! Nothing like a young, pretty newbie to mess up productivity, eh? I can't say I've never been distracted myself, but then again I wasn't old enough to be her father or uncle haha! I remember people getting into conflicts just because of a looker of a trainee, but it turned out she already had a boyfriend and was happy blissfully stringing the guys along haha! It's good if they get a handle on the would-be suitors and take advantage of the perks they provide. Unfortunately, a lot of 'em borders on sexual harassment. Eek!

We had one before that did that. Had all of the old dudes running around after her and she had a boyfriend bit was just superhero-ness getting them to do her bidding!

Mad props for being able to corral that much testosterone!

A lifetime of corralment has made iron where once was wood.

Hmm..

But, as with everything, time has a way of softening such things. Stone, iron, resolve... these things prove no match to time.

Time, the greatest of enemies. The most dastardly of foes!!

Oh jeez, how many times did you have to do that just on that one day XD Poor Sila lol. And that was one way to get rid of Peach, owch XD

I had to do it every ten minutes it felt like! It was particularly shameful this time. They just ain't used to pretty girls!

Well, I didn't want to say but he does a wee bit, yes

If she's got a confident attitude like that ... she'll fit in just fine.


We have a colleague at work who got the nick-name pedo about 10 years ago because he went on a date with someone significantly younger than himself ... the date didn't go well, but the nickname remains.

Oh man, that would be the worst nickname to have ever!

She seems at if she will be fine, which makes me glad. They don't see many ladies in here!

To his credit, his date did pass the ...

Divide your age by 2, then add 7 rule.
Possible source


Whether that rule is a Canadian thing, I don't know. But his date was the lower limit of the rule, but still met the criteria!

Alas, the nickname remains (between friends only)

Hehe. We have the same rule!! I broke it once too but I think it's ok because I didn't know about the rule at the time and it was borderline!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98