Reflecting in a storm

in #life7 years ago

Today I was reflecting on a traumatic event that I recently experienced, and I had to express how happy I am currently. I know that sounds like a disconnect. Trauma = happy. To restate, I am not happy that I went through the trauma, but rather, I am happy with the way it turned out. In fact, I want to use the word dayenu. It’s a Hebraic word to mean “it would have been enough”, “it would have been sufficient”, or “it would have sufficed”. 

That is where I am. My son fell from a 3rd story window. When I made it down the stairs, he was still, eyes wide open, mouth gaping, and there was blood. In no uncertain terms, I thought he was dead. As we were on the phone with 911, he snapped out of the shock, and started screaming. This was the first moment of dayenu. Despite the odds, he lived. 


Then he started squirming, and my jaw dropped. Not only was he alive, but he could move. As far as injuries go, I knew he had them but at that moment I could see that his head had no major visible injuries. Not that I was not still panicked, and at that moment, I was just focused on providing enough information for the ambulance to arrive to us. 

Fast forward a bit. We’re at the hospital and he is responding with words. Words and it has not even been an hour. People were checking various things as I was talking to him to help try to calm him down, and the medical personnel were trying to assess the extent of the damage. 

You might be like ‘you’re drifting from the dayenu point’, and you’re kind of right. I want to paint this picture of ‘go go go’, high energy, and one very loud distraught child as I stood with tears streaming from my eyes. The Children’s Hospital did a great job at handling his injuries, checking to make sure I was OK, and even try to help the siblings who were there for the whole thing. There is my big point of the scene. We were not at any hospital, but one who handled the whole situation better than I could have imagined.  

The day moved to the next, and outpouring of support started to come in. As people found out what happened, they began taking action. Of the 6 days we were there, I only had to buy a couple of meals. This is a huge deal. I did not have to eat cafeteria food either. There were homecooked things as well as good takeout. Friends and some family came to the hospital to visit, and they took care of the siblings while I stayed in the hospital. They were concerned for my tiny-human, but also of how I was holding up. 

During the stay, there were services to encourage my tiny human to play and have fun. Things he could do in the bed and out of bed. When you spend so much time in one room, that is a big deal and it helped us pass the time as his body healed. Then there was my job telling me to take as much time as I needed. My brain was mush as I was entirely focused on my tiny human’s recovery, and that was one less concern to weigh on me. There was no hounding, no threatening on my job, and my co-workers stepped up to fill in the gap. 


(Could not resist)

Moving forward a bit more, my tiny human damaged his hand and has a concussion. Ya’ll, that is not a lot of damage for the fall onto cement from that distance. By the time we left he was joking, playing, and wanting to get up and go. I am still thanking God for how well he is doing physically, emotionally, and mentally.  

I forgot to mention, this event occurred just after I moved. Literally I had less than 24 hours in that place with my tiny human, and after going home, my friends bought groceries for me. Then helped me get a few things situated in the new place so help things move along. 

With the outline of how things went down, I think you can see why I am thankful, but what about the ‘it would have been enough’ part?  If He had just let my child live and not have use of every limb - dayenu. If He had given us competent doctors and not an entire hospital geared for children - dayenu. Basically, not only did we receive the minimum that we should be thankful for, but I feel like it was above and beyond. Through the trauma we were blessed, and for that I am thankful. That was my reflection. 



You may think I am bragging, but that is not the case. Instead, as I sit with my tiny humans getting on my nerves, and surgery still lying ahead, this reflection has encouraged me. I would urge everyone to think on things lately in your own lives. Maybe you’ll find your own “dayenu” moments where gruel would have been enough, but you were pleasantly surprised to receive a 3-course-meal. 

((Photos are found here: Happy fingers, high five, and Fluttershy))
 

Sort:  

Another thing she is not mentioning here people is that this literally JUST happened. It happened with moments of her signing to steemit and posting two posts. Then she got silent. This is why she was silent.

This is massive, scary, and she is very lucky.

@quilty I am glad you wrote about this I was hoping you would. I am going to resteem this and I hope that some of the people on steemit see this and show you some love like I've seen them show other steemit community members that have had bad things happen.

We have people with houses burning down, and all sorts of things we help with.

This though is huge.

One minute your son is there on the third story the next there is a window with the screen missing and your son is not there.

It doesn't really get more frightening than that.

I am very glad it worked out as when our mutual friend told me what happened I know I went pale at the thought of a kid falling three stories.

Wow! The fact it turned out as it did is truly something to be thankful for.

@dwinblood Thank you! I am so very glad he is doing well too. He's been very chatty today and it is so nice to have that again. ;) Writing helps me process, and as I mentioned, putting it out there helped me reflect on how grateful I truly am for everything.

Thank you for sharing this link. Wouldn't have seen it without you passing it along.

Yeah I know her and knew what she was going through. I honestly didn't notice she had written it either until she asked me my opinion. I wasn't sure she'd be writing here anytime soon with what she was dealing with.

That's why I shared it and asked people to help her out if they can.

Upvoted, resteemed, and followed. I am happy to hear that your little one is doing well.

I have good friends whose adult daughter is recovering from a two-story fall at a job-site. I have known her since she was little, and can almost relate to what you've been going through. (she is going to be ok as well).

Thank you for sharing.

Thank you @snubbermike. I am glad that your friend's daughter is doing well. These events in our lives challenge our perspective, and I hope that your friend's family feels as supported through everything as I do. ^_^

Wow, I cannot imagine the different emotions you have through surrounding this situation. I hope everything works out for the best! You sound like a very strong individual!

@alchemage Thank you! I consider myself kind of leather skinned from various trials in life, but this tested that opinion. The support of others, as well as his good recovery, have definitely helped my resilience. You may not be religious (which I would respect completely), but I personally thank God for the development of the circumstances. There is a road ahead with recovery, but I feel equipped for it ^_^

Tested is probably an understatement. I am happy to hear that he is recovering well. I'm not necessarily religious as one may put it, but I believe in stuff. ;) I'm glad your faith is helping you through these tribulations. Stay strong through it all, he'll need you to! We are all here if you need us for as much as we can be. :)

Cool use of @randowhale. I'm going to have to remember that. It's pretty neat.

@kennyskitchen running his #payitforward campaign got me on the tip of tossing @randowhale into the equation when I can. :)

I just have to remember not to use @randowhale on a post someone has already done it for. It can only vote once per post.

Yeah, I've been bad at checking but remember most of the time. Need to make a habit of it before I waste SBD lol

Keeping your family in my prayers.

Totally appreciate your spirit :)!

I came across the post from @dwinblood referencing your post. I am glad the story has a relatively happy ending.

Upvoted and Resteemed.

Very scary indeed! Thank God that he was alright and nothing serious. Definitely a miracle

Wish you the best on this. Life is short no doubt!

Once you have some funds in your account (after 7 days) if you need to know how to move the non-steem power part somewhere that you can convert it into something useable to suppliment your income and help with food, bills, etc

https://steemit.com/bittrex/@dwinblood/bittrex-basic-how-to-so-you-have-an-account-now-what-how-to-get-money-from-steemit

I cover it there and if you need more details let me know.

I use https://bitpay.com/card/

To get money I can spend. They will charge you $9.99 worth of bitcoin to purchase a card, but it is worth it and you'll easily have that after this post.

Even if you don't use it... it will be nice to have if you NEED to convert some money later. I think it takes them about a week to ship you the card.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43