You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Millennials and Political Correctness

in #life6 years ago

In one sense, it is true that having no children of my own is the greatest regret of my life. In another sense, I do suspect that I might well have mucked it up completely.

But the main point I'm trying to make is that I don't really feel I have any right to criticise. I have never been a parent, who am I to critique the parenting of others? Oh, I have nieces and nephews galore, and I'm cool with being Uncle Possum. But that's not the same, by any means.

I am technically a tag-end Boomer. I was born at the very end of the bulge in the python, but I have never really identified with the Boomers. My attitudes and world view are really much more akin to Gen X. And I'm really, really tired of Boomers endlessly ragging on the Millenials. Some of them never shut up about it.

Sort:  

Someone without children might be a good person to chime in......neutral!

You are in a unique position to see both sides. I imagine each generation of parents could really help the next but seems like we all like the 'just do exactly the opposite if our parents' theory. I think that is how we get from one extreme to the other. Never ending cycle.

I tend to think of human behavior as being on a huge pendulum. It seems to switch back and forth between extremes. Your example of doing the opposite of our parents but also look at politics. We tend to swing between conservative and liberal views hoping sooner or later one view will give us the results we are looking for.

None of this was really meant as a critique on the millennials or on the parenting skills of their parents. I just wanted to make the point that those of us that are older can't just blame the millennials.

I think very few parents wouldn't believe their children are special and want the best for them out of life. Sometimes, giving them the best isn't giving them everything. Some of the most valuable lessons I've learned in life came from mistakes I made. My parents were always there to make sure my mistakes weren't too large, but they did allow me to think on my own and make my own mistakes.

Hey, Mike. Thanks for taking the time to reply.

I wasn't talking about you, and I didn't take what you said as criticism of "the millennials or the parenting skills of their parents." I was just musing on the subject in general, in my usual rambling, long-winded way.

No problem, Possum. Not a snowflake here, pretty thick skinned.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62406.70
ETH 3184.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79