Things You Should Know About Lefties

in #life6 years ago

Did you know that Monday the 19th of August is Left-Hander’s Day? This fun holiday would probably never have caught my attention before, but now that we have established that my son is left-handed, the novelty seems all the more important. My little dude, although still quite young so this might change, uses his left hand and left foot dominantly, which is most noticeable when he plays on his skateboard, strums the guitar, draws and eats.

This “feature” is quite new to us since no one else in our family is left handed. So, as I always do, I picked up my phone and researched the topic. I came across some extremely interesting studies and facts, which I am quite excited to share with you all!

Image Source

5 Interesting Things You Should Know About Left-Handed People


  1. Left handed people only make up about 12% of the population, while less than 1% are ambidextrous.
  2. They are more likely to suffer from allergies, migraines and insomnia (reasoning unconfirmed).
  3. While they prefer to use the left side of their bodies, they mostly use the right side of their brains!
  4. There are more left-handed men than there are women.
  5. Left handed people tend to be more creative and sportier than their fellow right-handed friends.

Did you know?

Left handed folks happen to be the work horses of the hand-dominance world (has anyone ever said that before, I wonder) and the facts are out there. When a left-handed person injures their hand they end up having an easier time when transitioning to their right hand. Right handed people, despite how common we are, have a much more difficult time transitioning to our left hand. We’re not sure the exact reason why this is. -http://www.horizontimes.com/facts/14-unique-facts-left-handed-people/2

Only decades ago, left handed individuals where stigmatized and if you were a child who preferred using your left hand, it was likely that you were beaten and forced to use your right hand - how terrible! These days, however, not many parents are concerned about which hand their child prefers to use, especially since the learning environment has been adapted to accommodate lefties. 

As a matter of interest, it was quite fascinating to read that current statistics show that left-handed individuals are likely to be more intelligent and creative than their right-handed counterparts! I read through stacks of interesting trivia on the subject, but perhaps you are left-handed and have some interesting info to share too - please do?


Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189

@steemitmamas
Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this article and spreading awareness! Well, I'm one of those people who were forced to use their right hand and I'm not that old. Frustrating times.

Anyway, it turned out not to be that bad at the end. I can now do most of the things with my both hands :D My writing is nicer with my right hands as this is what I learned but my left hand is much stronger and I use it more often. For example when I need to pick up something I automatically do it with my left hand.

I'm so happy that this nonsense is not accepted nowadays and that kids are spared the frustration that we had to go through!

Left handed people are usually very special people

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sweetpea from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Bit to much info for me as I do not know any left handed human...

interesting! my dad is actually ambidextrous. I know when I was very young my mom told me sometimes I would use my left hand, but her mother would quickly correct me (nothing physical involved though!) today I'm pretty firmly right-handed tho lol

I'm left-handed.. I don't think I'm creative haha... I think my son also a left-handed but it's too early to confirm as he keep on changing his hand to receive when we give him something.. for me whether left or right, doesn't matter as long as he can use his hand hehe..

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem. If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

Such an interesting post. As a left-hander who suffers from migraines, I might need to look into point 2 a little. I'd love to solve the mystery behind these.

Genuinely, thank you for posting this!


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99