Tangled up...

in #love6 years ago

A little while ago I mentioned a little monthly tradition I have with my partner where we send each other a song/video from YouTube; Something that holds some sort of message relevant to the month, week or day on which it's sent. This is what I received this month.

Like most people I don't always know what to say at every given point. Sometimes I guess it's best not to say anything I suppose, and yet at times when words are required there may not be any, or no suitable ones that come to mind. Music is a way for people to explore and express their feelings, to find clarity and often to convey what they, themselves, cannot voice, or find the words to voice. As someone who has always had music in my life and pretty much always have it playing in some form it's no surprise that I find it to be a valuable and important part of my life.

This is a song performed by Staind and written by Aaron Lewis. The lyrics are below and there's a link to youtube for the video.

mollybelle73279unsplash.jpg

You're my world, the shelter from the rain
You're the pills that take away my pain
You're the light that helps me find my way
You're the words when I have nothing to say

And in this world where nothing else is true
Here I am still tangled up in you
I'm still tangled up in you
Still tangled up in you

You're the fire that warms me when I'm cold
You're the hand I have to hold as I grow old
You're the shore when I am lost at sea
You're only thing that I like about me

And in this world where nothing else is true
Here I am still tangled up in you
I'm still tangled up in you

How long has it been since this storyline began
And I hope it never ends and goes like this forever

In this world where nothing else is true
Here I am still tangled up in you, tangled up in you
I'm still tangled up in you
Still tangled up in you

I wonder what music means to other people and if others find it as valuable as me. I mean, I know some people do...But for those that don't...Why is that? Do they get that stimulation from another source? Reading? The TV? I find music has the power to change my mood, to soothe me, to pump me up and to motivate me. There was an unfortunate Go-Karting incident a few years back after I revved myself up a little too much with a track from The Warp Brothers called We Will Survive. Carnage ensued on the track. I won, but there was collateral damage. :)

These days I apply music-motivation with care having learned my lesson but music still forms such a very important aspect of my life. Anyway, enjoy the track I had sent to me this month...

Image source

Sort:  

Music absolutely changes my mood and experience with everything. Good music will always improve any situation. Bad music will always taint any situation. It doesn't always change my mood, but it definitely has an impact.

This is how I often feel about my wife:

I'm not sure if your wife is the same, or similar, or completely different.. but since I was able to relate to your song, I thought you might have a similar experience with mine 🙂

And this Could give you a useful link for the future!

Hey mate, I'm actually a big fan of Luke Combs and so I am familiar with that song. It's a good one.

Music has a way of reaching out (and in) and so it's a huge part of our lives. It seems yours too. It's for this reason the little monthly music swap we do means so much. It's a small gesture with a huge impact.

Thanks for commenting and sharing that track.

The closest I've ever gotten to a deep meditative state, a couple of times, was while walking at sunset with music that meant a great deal to me. Nature and music - a perfect combination. I get relaxed walking at sunset without music, but don't achieve that meditative state without it.

What a nice sentiment you and your partner have with sending something like that. I see my husband every morning, but sending a weekly bit of music to represent the theme of life at that time would be a nice addition.

What a nice sentiment you and your partner have with sending something like that. I see my husband every morning, but sending a weekly bit of music to represent the theme of life at that time would be a nice addition.

It something that started due to lack of time but evolved into a thing which is fun and meaningful also. Well, to us anyway.

you're a lucky man, @galenkp :) And I like this tradition of yours, it's very sweet. A song can speak volumes.,.

I don't get people who aren't into music either. I was just thinking about that - I've always got something playing, it's normal to me. I wonder how others go through their day...

I've always got something playing, it's normal to me. I wonder how others go through their day...

Well, I don't know either...They have Facebook, being judgemental and intrusive on other people's lives and government and corporation propaganda to fill their time. Oh, and credit spending...The Matrix is a busy place.

The Matrix is a busy place.

It sure is. Weird though..the exits are right over there...:/

People fear change even should that change be a positive. Being outside a comfort zone can be uncomfortable. Some people thrive on it, like me, other's...not so much.

You got a 41.25% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.210 which ranks you at #2755 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2757).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #86.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01