Market Friday

in #marketfriday7 years ago (edited)

Good Morning, Steemians! Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (That is me, Denise!)

Today, I went searching for a few harvest pumpkins and gourds, which are currently being picked by the local farmers. There are plenty to go around, but they are being picked little by little - most are still in the fields curing. By curing, of course, I mean they are still in the ripening stage. The pumpkin is harvested when the color is uniform and the rind is hard. The farmers watch the weather for the nighttime lows now, although here in our area, we have been still having summer weather. But, all it takes is one hard frost to kill the vine. Once the vine dies, the fruit will no longer mature. Yes, they are a little dirty from the field, but, I promise you, they will be clean and pretty when they are ready to be sold.

I have to be honest with you. I think these large orange and green gourds are my absolute favorite.

Gourd.jpg

Did you know that gourds are of different colors, shapes, and sizes? Farmers harvest them before frost- after the fruit is mature. As these gourds mature, the stems turn brown and dry up.

gourd 2.jpg

When I was a child, the appearance of winter squash epitomized autumn: squash, pumpkins, and gourds. Glorious winter squash! Acorn squash, butternut squash, hubbard squash, spaghetti squash, cheese pumpkin, delicata squash, kabocha squash.

pumpkin2.jpg

Pumpkins are king at this time of year. They come in an assortment of colors - blue, green, yellow, white multi-colored and red. I am sure that I may be missing some. They can be tiny, oblong, squat, round, shaped like a pear, tall, and some so big they take a small crane to move. There are some that are better for carving, many, better for eating and then some are just pretty and are better for display.

gourds 3.jpg

Admittedly, I love them for their seeds, so I pick a nice heavy one... On average, a medium-sized pumkin will usually have about 1 cup of seeds that can be salted then, dried and roasted. Yummy!!!

pumpkins.jpg

Thank you for tagging along as I check out the progress of the harvest. I'll go back in a week or so to pick out a few different pumpkins. Maybe carve one or two. I look forward to checking out your #MarketFriday shots. Remember to visit the other ones with that hashtag. Experience a shopping day, all around the globe. Happy shopping!

To make finding the posts easier, would you please leave a link of your post in the comment section? This way, nobody will be forgotten or lost. Thank you! Denise xoxo

Sort:  

Oh my god my Denise ! uploved1.png
by @curie ! This is a good day for you, your beautiful challenge and you wonderful post !
May I add to all this glory a lil' moment of painted fame for you right here https://steemit.com/art/@barbara-orenya/meet-my-alien-friend-dswigle-in-this-painting-i-have-made-for-her-few-years-ago--and-learn-amazing-scoops-about-denise-of ..?
Haha ! Hope you will enjoy it !
It sounds like a upsidowndetouré.png today n'est-ce pas ? ^_^
xoxo ma chère amie
(I exceptionally upvote my comment to much people go to the link that honors you ;-) )

Bonjour, my Barbara! Wow! Yes!!

I have been uploved in a most wondrous way! I do so love the #MarketFriday and traveling the world over, perusing markets and cultures of places I may never see in real life. It is an enlightening experience for me and I hope, for many. We are making the world so much smaller this way, closer to each other.

Thank you for your loving support, always, always. You honored me? Now, I must go to the link. You are like a fairy godmother! Thank you! tip!

that's a lot'a squash!
would you please reply on the question I asked you ?
I wonder .. I really do
that is if you're still up and awake and if not
sleep tight!

Just logged back on and I am wondering which question you asked me? Sorry!

oh am sorry I hope I didn't bug you
it's on my reply on my post :)
thank you for logging back on :)

Oh! Not at all!! :) I answer the relies in order so, I had already answered it when I got here! :)

I see.. yes, I just saw it .. been busy around :)
thanks a lot again!

My pleasure! Sleep tight!!!!

Great post Denise! I am really happy for you! :D
When I was a kid my mom had a big garden. My friend Gary and I would grow gourds then put shiny shellac on them and sell them door to door like when I was 7 lol. I was an early hustler lol

Thank you, Paul! Really surprised the heck out me.

Haha! Why do I have no trouble believing that you were a hustler at the tender age of seven? Sigh I hate to say it, but, you are a dying breed. Not that you are old, but, they just don't know how to spell hustle the right way anymore. :)

Do I dare tip you? Will it come back and bite me? I'll give it the old hustle! tip! @old-guy-photos

Oh I know you are goofing on my advanced age. That's why I did my video that I need to post. It's ok it happens to all of us lol. Thanks for the tip as always Denise. If I misspell it's coz I am doing this from my phone and I'm not really used to it lol. This eSteem app works pretty good though :)

I would never!!!! eyeroll Even if I thought you were old. I do have respect for my elders, after all. My mama taught me better than that!

I laughed at the tip as I wrote it down. It would be my dumb luck to bounce another tip on you, right?? Oh, the embarrassment! Who does that? So, I am glad that it went through.

Did you take my name in vain in the video? Now I really am going to have to look out for it!

Well thats good, your mama taught you right!

Yeah you dont want to be known as the chronic deadbeat tipper LOL!!!

Yes, Ma'am, I did. Ill post it up lol.

Ohhhh!! How vain? :)

Believe me, I almost didn't leave a tip because of that. Can you just imagine how that one would play out? eyroll Better to be known as a cheapskate than a deadbeat, right? Wait... I am not sure either is acceptable.

Doomed either way. :)

Ok video is up in this post
https://steemit.com/oldtimers/@old-guy-photos/in-defense-of-old-dudes
I hate to drop links but its the only way to get you to come by my page :(

Not true!! I come by almost every night to drop a lttle snark off before I got to bed. :) I was on my way over, but was trying to catch up to the market shots. There are a lot this week. A good problem to have. Here I come! Dropping links like this are perfectly fine. :)

Oh my goodness, Denise, such a lovely Autumn market, absolutely love it . So many beautiful pumpkins.......upv & rsd 🌺🎃🌺
I have some pumpkins for you too:
https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@lenasveganliving/autumn-collection-for-friday-market

Lena! You did a harvest #MarketFriday! How simply delightful! You know I love it! Yours has those cute little scarecrows into your garden. My parents used to make their own, made of cast-off clothing. It really was fun to dress the scarecrow. It always did look a little ratty after a good rainstorm!

I don't think I have ever seen the harvest corn look so festive! Mine has some rattan looking ribbon and - well, it looks like country stylin' ... Yours looks a tad more elegant, just like you. xoxo

Now, you are going to have to tell me which one is pepper squash. I have never heard nor seen it. Honest injun. But that array of gourds and squash is awesome and really brings my soul back to the Autumn feeling. Now, if it would stop being hot.... Oh, my goodness, your fall flowers are all ready for planting! I still have summer going strong here. No place to plant fall yet! Yikes!

As usual, you come blasting in with such a stellar post! Love, love, love it! I hope you had a wonderful #MarketFriday and got a chance to peruse some of the other places in the world. Very interesting! Love to you, my friend! tip! xoxo

Do you know you sent me a tip twice??? lol

@lenasveganliving - Yes. Everyone got two tips. One for their post on their page and one for the link on mine. My way of thanking them for being so helpful. xo

Ohhhhhhhhhhh I see!!! Now when you are rich you can throw money around lol
Just kidding, thank you so much Darling, that is very kind of you 🌺🎃🌺

This amazing sooo great that #marketfriday with @dswigle giving us how pumpkin are harvested.nice one there....have a nice day Denise

Thank you so much! We love our pumpkins here! :) I went out to the farm and checked their progress to see how the harvest is going!

So nice of you to stop by and say hello and drop some love! Have a nice day @odsam2! tip!

Thank you @dswigle and @tipU for the amazing morning tips ....you always make my day with #marketfriday a day to leave without and always wish friday never pass.

Thank you! You guys always make my day when you visit my blogs!

This was so wonderful to come across! The colors of the pumpkins are so colorful and they almost shout out for me to stop and take a look at them. Scenes like this will become more and more prevalent as we get closer to Halloween and Thanksgiving.

I am in love with the different sizes and shapes of them. I hope you got time to peruse a few other markets. It is always fun to see what is going on in other parts of the world.

Thank you for sharing your #MarketFriday post with us! It is so fun to have you! tip!

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

The Daily spotlights of 28 September 2017 is online!

@originalworks

Thank you @pixsteemer! Care for a pumpkin? tip!

As long as it's not in my face ;-)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dswigle to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

You found a good selection, I to think thew orange and green ones are the best of the bunch and the colors of them work well together

They are, aren't they? I really love the ornamental gourds! Sometimes I throw a little shellac on them to make them last a little longer. Especially if I get them at the farm where they have not had time to dry out.

Will you be going to the pumpkin patch with the grandkids, Jj? When I was growing up, my grandparents always had a pumpkin carving contest. I hope you had a fabulous day and were able to stick to your new guidelines! tip!

Thanks so much for the tip
No I don’t think we will get to the pumpkin patch or to do carving with the grandkids this year

Have a great weekend

i love these deep colors and awesome details of the pumpkins shooted here Denise !

here my entry to this week #marketfriday !! thank you very much for this initiative !

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@victorbz/market-friday-market-madness-black-and-white-journey-through-mahane-yehuda-jerusalem

I haven't seen a Hasidic Jew since I left New York City. This picture brings back longing for this type of scene. This post is awesome, as all yours are, mixing the yesteryear feel with today's vibes. What a wondrous place that must be as a photographer.

It is the tiniest of details, like the baby, I can almost see the eyeroll of impatience on his face. :)

The stream of people moving in ten different directions, no path. Just full steam ahead. You are awesome and I just love how you capture these scenes! I always appreciate the time and effort spent putting these post together for #MarketFriday! tip!

The first photo. The pumpkin looks like it could be an extra in a Dr.Who show.
It looks proper alien, as if something is about to burst out of it? Yikes!
And here is my #Marketfriday post as requested @dswigle ;)

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@molometer/marketfriday-challenge-are-you-going-to-scarborough-fair

I finally got to see it! Thank you! Thank you!

That's it? All my life I have sung that song, envisioning it the way that Simon and Garfunkel presented it... or so I thought. They are missing their opportunity! :)

I agree with Melinda on this one, although, I must thank you for showing it off. And wow! That giant was quite big. LOL I have to say, it may have looked a little different on a sunny day. Perhaps. Perhaps.

But, I do appreciate strolling through. I even grabbed a little sage. I was running out. Thank you so much, my friend!! tip!

I just read @old-guy-phoyos post.
That seagull seems to get about a bit. Did you see it? ;)

That pesky seagull!! He is everywhere! No wonder I couldn't find him for #MarketFriday!!! :) I will need to talk to the Old Guy! :)

Seagulls and chips lol go together like peas and carrots.

They are addicted to American French Fries too!

Haha chips and French fries. What's that quote?
Two countries separated by a common language
tip!

In the UK, chips are what North Americans call French fries. Potato chips are called crisps in the UK. fail Denise

Hehehe! Don't get too close. It just may! I mean, truly can one ever really tell? :)

excellent post dear friend @dswigle I love the calabraza, here in my province is consumed a lot, we make different foods, cupcakes and jams.
Thank you very much for sharing this excellent material congratulations.
I wish you a Merry Friday market

Thank you so much, my friend! These lovely fruits (that look like vegetables!) are so varied and many! I had no idea that there are literally dozens that I didn't know about!

I have made the cupcakes and soups, but I would certainly be interested in the jam! I have never heard of that! Thank you for taking the time to peruse the #MarketFriday and look forward to perhaps seeing you again! tip!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59