Market Friday Gourds a Pumpkin

in #marketfriday5 years ago



Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) Join me as we share our markets across the globe. I always look forward to seeing what you send me! It is amazing to see the different markets and cultures of our friends here on steemit. I have been pleasured by all of you, as you send in the most wonderful posts. Going places, doing things, buying merchandise. I have been surprised by many, not being familiar with the culture and I must say that it has been such an educational experience for me in so many ways and I hope for you also. This week, I am of to the markets in search of some pumpkins and gourds!

Gourd 2.jpg

Today, I went searching for a few harvest pumpkins and gourds, which are currently being picked by the local farmers. There are plenty to go around, but they are being picked little by little - most are still in the fields curing. By curing, of course, I mean they are still in the ripening stage. The pumpkin is harvested when the color is uniform and the rind is hard. The farmers watch the weather for the nighttime lows now, although here in our area, we have been still having summer weather. But, all it takes is one hard frost to kill the vine. Once the vine dies, the fruit will no longer mature. Yes, they are a little dirty from the field, but, I promise you, they will be clean and pretty when they are ready to be sold.

I have to be honest with you. I think these large orange and green gourds are my absolute favorite.

image.png

Pumpkins are king at this time of year. They come in an assortment of colors - blue, green, yellow, white multi-colored and red. I am sure that I may be missing some. They can be tiny, oblong, squat, round, shaped like a pear, tall, and some so big they take a small crane to move. There are some that are better for carving, many, better for eating and then some are just pretty and are better for display.

When I was a child, the appearance of winter squash epitomized autumn: squash, pumpkins, and gourds. Glorious winter squash! Acorn squash, butternut squash, hubbard squash, spaghetti squash, cheese pumpkin, delicata squash, kabocha squash.

image.png

Admittedly, I love them for their seeds, so I pick a nice heavy one... On average, a medium-sized pumpkin will usually have about 1 cup of seeds that can be salted then, dried and roasted. Yummy!!!

Flowers. There must always be flowers to color my world. I want to dedicate this flower to @Kalamendra who colors my world every single day.

10687291_10152820991398832_8542185038013029310_o2.jpg

An object of beauty is a delight, until the end of time, never passing into the vacuum of oblivion. Forever budding, until it blooms. Enchanting.

separador.png

Please leave the link to your post on here so it can easily be found by others. They will all be in one place!! Thank you! ❤

I hope you will join us as we share different markets. It has been such a pleasure to see markets from all over the world. Who doesn't love to see what they are selling? There is always a curiosity attached to foreign ingredients, different produce or any product sold. So, yes! I would love to see yours! So don't forget to take photos wherever you happen to be shopping - whether it be the grocery, art galleries, wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Don't forget to use the hashtag #marketfriday and @dswigle.


STOP!! BRAIN TEASER AHEAD!!


Question: How many years are there between 5 B.C. and 5 A.D.?


source

Answer! Can you guess??? Nine! Because there is no year 0!

image.png

Did you know that gourds are of different colors, shapes, and sizes? Farmers harvest them before frost- after the fruit is mature. As these gourds mature, the stems turn brown and dry up.

Pumpkins!!! Who doesn't love pumpkins? Pumpkin pie, pumpkin spice latte? Pumpkin bread! Oh, the glorious pumpkin.

I couldn't decide, so I bought a gourd!

Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul

image.png

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

1. Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, Clothing, Plant or Animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo or an art auction. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for a service. I once went to a nail salon.
2. Take pictures! Be creative (or not)
3. Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
4. Post the picture(s)
5. Don’t forget to hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle
6. Drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them

It is always interesting to see the different markets around the globe! C’mon! Show me your market shots! I eagerly await them!

image.png

And just like that, this post is done. I hope you enjoyed your visit! As always, I want to thank you for taking the time to visit #MarketFriday!! Thank you for supporting the challenge! Have a most fabulous day! Cheers!!

image.png

I love to share and be shared with! I am intrigued by different cultures. It is exciting and yes! I would love to see yours! Don't forget to take photos wherever you happen to be shopping - whether it be the grocery store, the local marketplace or even an art gallery, a kite festival! Wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Be different if you wish! It does not have to be a traditional market! We will love it! I promise you! Don't forget to use the hashtag #MarketFriday and @dswigle.




Facebook

Twitter

Instagram



Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Because of you, I come back to post again and again, I am encouraged by you, for the time you take to visit, comment or even upvote. For all of these reasons, I am eternally grateful. Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin. Some days, it is not as easy to see, how wonderful it really is. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.


I always post this poem down at the bottom of my posts. It is one that has become so near and dear to my heart. I only post the most famous part of it, but, wanted to post it in its entirety today.

they set my aunts house on fire
i cried the way women on tv do
folding at the middle
like a five pound note.
i called the boy who use to love me
tried to ‘okay’ my voice
i said hello
he said warsan, what’s wrong, what’s happened?

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered,
"where does it hurt?"
it answered,

"everywhere"
"everywhere"
"everywhere"

warsan shire



#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

SteemUSA.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

20180921_192950.jpg

Hiya Sunshine! Congrats on the rally vote!! Here is my link and not even tardy. However it is a bit of a mishmash, yet I really did try hard to pull it all together! :D

We love Market Friday

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@old-guy-photos/mishmash-for-market-friday

Well, thank you for pulling it all together for a #MarketFriday post! No even late and you dropped the link, along with the pretty cool picture! I saw something like that in Home Depot, I think (or Lowes?) and it would have scared the bejesus out of any little kid. You look a tad intimidated yourself.

Thank you so much for stopping by and saying hello, leaving your words behind.

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Walking Through Some Trees On Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Great pictures, real autumn feeling, and Yummy, Thanks for sharing with us!

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@almi/market-friday-in-meran

You took some beautiful photos, the market looks nice.

Thank you so much for stopping by to say hello and dropping your link! I think that soon Autumn will really be in the air! Right now, it is still warm, but, the leaves are wanting to change and the pumpkins want to be baked!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @almi! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Walking Through Some Trees On Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Here is my market friday post 😉
https://esteem.app/marketfriday/@cicisaja/market-friday-sembarang-payu

It's october and it's pumpkins time! luv that big orange gourd

🎁 Hi @cicisaja! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Some beautiful plates in that little shop!!

Thank you @cicisaja for putting together a #MarketFriday post! :)

The big orange one was my favorite!! Love all the different kinds of pumpkins and gourds. Such a fun time of year!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

Hello dear Denise! I love all of those squash! Both the decorative and edible ones are truly the sign of the season. Now if only the weather would cooperate, as well!

I'm on trend with some more apple picking to join in for the fun this week: https://steemit.com/vegan/@plantstoplanks/freshfromtheorchardtothekitchenputtinthemapplestouse-g7exdbu663

I love the old car - beautiful post!!

Thanks so much!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh!! Hey you!!! I hope you have been apple picking by now! :) I am so excited about the pumpkins, but, golly it was 98 degrees the day I wrote that!

Nothing like fallish weather! I am going to have to swing by your place and see if you got those apples up! Happy Sunday!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @plantstoplanks! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Interesting market, I would like to see it when it is open!!

Thanks for stopping and dropping your link!! You know that #MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @mrnightmare89! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

That's impressive. What they all beautiful and bright.
I love pumpkins!

Thank you for the beautiful photos, Denise! And in Kuban pumpkins are made even of jute :-)

DSC09035.JPG

And this is my new post for #marketfriday.

You took some really beautiful photos of the flowers!!

Oh!!! How sweet those are!!!! I love the jute pumpkins! I have never seen them looking like that! I love pumpkins too!!!

A flower market!!! The best kind!!!! :) Thank you for dropping the link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

separador.png

🎁 Hi @singa! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

What a cool selection of Pumpkins and Gourds I remember back whenI worked in a market gardens my least favorite job was harvesting pumpkins, yuh sap got into your hands witht eh dirt and was almost impossible to wash off

Here is my post for this week

https://steemit.com/wednesdaywalk/@tattoodjay/market-friday-mannequins

I loved the black and white photos, you should go with a late monochromemonday entry, in this way you can enter another one for the coming Monday!!

I may just do that I have missed Monochrome Monday for the last couple of weeks I think

Oh, I hear you!!! I grew pumpkins and squash and they love to get all mixed up in the dirt! It was fun when I was a kid, but, I have outgrown that need to get dirty and sticky! :)

Thanks for dropping the post link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

Ohh yes i have grown past that stage as well LOL

Hehehe! That is so good to hear!

now that said it may be one of the few areas I have become a grown up LOL

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Nice and interesting post.

How cool! Thank you and I say onward with out exploration! Thank you for dropping the link here! It is always appreciated!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @steemflow! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

🎁 Hi @kunschj! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Some really scary masks!!

Oh!!! I think you are trying to give me a scare!!! Thanks for dropping your link! Much appreciated!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

Thank you kindly!

My pleasure!

Oh the gourds take me back to my childhood. Yes a younger Old Guy by almost 50 years. Me and Gary pulling a heavy wagon full of gourds that we grew in Moms garden. We went door to door in those days. A nickel or a dime here and there. That was my early education on markets and labor.

What a lovely Fall themed market you have. Although I have to say the decal/sticker pumpkins seem like cheating, but I get the allure. No for me, I will gladly take a hand painted one with all faults accepted. Genuine always rings well with me! Happy Market Friday!!! I am working away on trying to cobble mine together. However, I have a twofer possibly today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94