Costumes And Embroidery for MarketFriday

in #marketfriday5 years ago

It's Friday again, which means #MarketFriday for some of us, hosted by my dear friend Denise, @dswigle.

No ceramics or sculptures today, just folk costumes and embroidery.

yv7w04dveg.jpg

Let's start with these belts. Both are handmade, the one on the left is embroidered, the other on the right is also embroidered but with very small beads. Unfortunately I only have the price tag of the one on the left, which costs 250 lei, which is roughly $60. The other should cost more because it's way more difficult to make a belt like that with those small beads, not to mention the beads cost a lot as well.

These colorful belts are part of the Romanian folk costumes.

h0tre7yo7x.jpg

Two folk costumes for kids. These costumes are used at school events mostly.

doijt3wib7.jpg

An icon or a religious scene,that at first I thought it's cross stitch but it's made of beads, which is amazing.

sa2okskj1u.jpg

More folk costumes and some bags.

xn0lo908er.jpg

Two vendors dressed in folk costumes and some beautiful belts. These vendors are regulars, I've seen them many times, they are always dressed like this.

bp7491bccn.jpg

This woman is making a bead jewelry, most likely a necklace or something similar. You can see some on the table in front of her. This type of jewelry is accessory to the folk costumes and it's very difficult to make them, since these beads are very small. You need a special needle, that id very flexible but you can brake it in a second. Needs practice to get used to it.

w1uc7tbk8j.jpg

Two neighbors having a chat, the woman is doing crochet while talking to the man :) It's funny, but they were not posing for the camera, this is what they were doing.

Have a look at the man's shoes. These are traditional shoes called "opinci" in Romanian, opanak in English. They are made or leather.

y94tc5fmpj.jpg

Bags with floral embroidery for women, very colorful I'd say.

ljzo2yr52o.jpg

More handmade jewelry made of beads, dolls dressed in bead decorated costumes and heats decorated with real peacock feathers.

This is my entry to #MarketFriday hosted by our lovely friend Denise, @dswigle. Check out her post here Market Friday

steemit-border

Check out my #SevenDaysOutside Challenge!

1nap82ea0l.jpg

These are the days and the categories:
#WindowMonday – Windows
#DoorTuesday – Doors
#RustArtWednesday – Rust
#GateThursday – Gates
#StatueFriday – Statues
#BrickSaturday – Bricks (bricks only, no pavement elements or cobblestones please)
#StreetlampSunday – Street Lamps

Make sure you write a description of the photo you are posting. Share as much details as you can, like where that statue is placed (in a park, at a museum), what it represents etc. Make it enjoyable.

Use the #sevendaysoutside tag along with the daily tag and tag me, @erikah!

Goes without saying that you can only use your own photos. No paintings, no drawings, no digital art please! There is no prize here, this is just for fun.

steemit-border

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile📱& PC💻 app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile📱
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC💻
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

steemit-border

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

Vote for @good-karma witness

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

No internet. Choose manchester city this week. Hopefully be back tomorrow.

Thank you, it's done.

I was stressing as didnt want to miss the competition. Post i did this morning will have to wait for tomorrow now. Hoping this doesnt go on whole weekend.

It's all set. Don't worry about it.

Sweet Jesus! There are so many incredible pieces here, Erika! The embroidery and beadwork will always turn my head! These women work at an incredible pace, like the woman crocheting while chatting, it is a way of life for them, but, my, oh my! The work they put out is such beautiful quality.

I do not think they get their money's worth! I would pay much more for the beadwork especially, with all the hours put into them? When I see someone trying hard to get it for a lot cheaper I cannot help but wonder if they even know what goes into one of these? I would have to say they do not!

I loved the mans shoes. I have seen then at a fair here in the States, put on by the Smithsonian Institute where they have different countries represented for a two week fair and they set up villages and have a living village of traditional things from the countries.

Thank you for these wonderful images! They are just gorgeous!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

You're right, people buying such handmade artworks have no idea what it means to create one. Their only goal is to get it at a cheaper price. I would organise a whole day workshop for them to show them what it means. Meaning I would make them learn to create one 😁
Thank you again my dear Denise for these nice words and support!

So many beautiful colors and such amazing work especially that cross made of beads that would of taken quite a few hours to complete i love the culture work over there. Thanks for sharing my friend have a great weekend :)

Thank you for your nice words, your feedback is always appreciated, have a nice weekend my friend 😉

Your most welcome my friend and sorry for the late reply just getting over my birthday hangover feeling better today :)

Happy birthday my friend! 🎁🎂🎉🍹🍾🍷🍸

Thank you so much my friend :)

My pleasure! 😉

Wow! I love the beautiful colors. What incredible needlework! I can't even begin to imagine the amount of time that it takes to make something like that. It should probably sell for 5 times what they will actually get for it, even if the woman was getting paid minimum wage for her hours. Your photos are great. You did a good job capturing what is for sale there.!tip

Thank you Melinda, unfortunately this kind of art is always underpaid. When people go to these fairs and see the prices they say it's too much but very few realise how much work and knowledge is behind a piece like these.
Christmas market opens on the 6th of December 😊, stay tuned!

Oh good! I'll be looking forward to that!

My kind of fair. 😍
The bags, the blouses, the jewelry (this type of necklace is called "zgardan" and it's quite difficult to make it - I used to make them). Unfortunately for me a Christmas fair will be ope ed tomorrow... My poor wallet....
What did you buy?

This was the same market where I bought the mug, the black tulip bulbs and the pine syrup. I took 400-500 photos, so now I have photos for two months, still posting them 😀
I've checked and the Christmas market here opens on the 6th of December. Guess who's gonna be the first to check it out 😏

You are a true model of self control. I would have bought at least a blouse and 10 necklaces. Just from these artisans. 😂
Our Christmas market just opened today. But with this vicious cold, I did not get there. Next week though...

10 necklaces? Roxy, you need therapy!!! Right away!!!
This fair was easy, but I guess the next one is going to make my wallet a lot more lighter. I want to buy some presets for my loved ones and I bet I will be rewarding myself as well 😁.

What? There is no such thing as too many necklaces, or bracelets, or earings... 😂
Yeah, the Christmas usually leaves me empty pocketed and with a bitter sweet sense of satisfaction. The loved ones get beautiful presents but I have to re-think the financial strategy. Oh well... It's not like I will take those money on the other side. 😉

Very beautiful motif, almost the same as Indonesian batik cloth and motifs @erikah :)

very beautiful work !!! I noticed that people are wearing warm jackets and sellers only in national clothes. isn't it cold for them?

The have something underneath those folk costumes, they knew they were staying in the cold the whole day, they were prepared.

then I understand why they are so dressed

🎁 Hi @erikah! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95