monochrome window monday — transparency

in #monochromemonday6 years ago (edited)



Today is window day and monochrome monday. I decided to make one post for two challenges. I don't know how you all do it when you post more than once a day. It's a lot of work, not just in production time but in the social aspect of Steemit as well.

I took these photos a while ago in the Dundas, Ontario area. There were so many photo opportunities and interesting subjects that I now have a file. I feel so official with a file.


raindrops on my windshield

through the bubble glass — Westfield Heritage Village Train Station, Hamilton, Ontario

sun flare reflections on Victorian building — Dundas, Ontario





photos by

Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

©All rights reserved, 2018


The dark does not destroy the light;
it defines it.
It's our fear of the dark that casts our joy into the shadows.
Brené Brown, "The Gifts of Imperfection"


#WindowMonday – Windows
#DoorTuesday – Doors
#RustArtWednesday – Rust
#GateThursday – Gates
#StatueFriday – Statues
#BrickSaturday – Bricks
#StreetlampSunday – Street Lamps

Rules/Guidelines

Use your own photos - no paintings, no drawings, no digital art please!

Share a few details — where was it taken (a park, a museum, etc), maybe what it represents, a little background, history is good.

Make it enjoyable.

There is no prize — this is just for fun.

Use the #sevendaysoutside tag along with the daily tag.



Thanks to @erikah for initiating #sevendaysoutside photography challenge
and to
@old-guy-photos for the #monochromemonday photo challenge.



Sort:  

Nice photos, Deb! I like the bubble glass one the best. The way uneven glass warps light makes for some fascinating results :-)

Posting and responding in a meaningful way is time-consuming! Sometimes, i post more than once in a day but, with the occasional 2-3 day gaps, my average is probably less than once daily. Between going out and shooting, processing, exporting, writing a post, and doing all the social bits...

Well, I didn't get the job I interviewed for, so I'm unemployed for the moment. I guess that helps! lol

Nice work! Is that the 55-200mm that gave you that flare?

Yes the telephoto lens gave me the flare - cool huh? It looks like alien beams to me. The sun must have been just at the height of the buildings bc it happened to several photos that day.

I like the bubble glass to - it's almost ghostly or looking into time. At least to me. Bubble glass is amazing. I have a few antique photos with it - one broke...the Grey Lady. She's so spooky my son turned her to the wall bc she was staring at him. lol

I'm sorry you didn't get the job. Blech. I'm sure with all the jobs available (Trump speak) that you'll find something. Enjoy your break from school and work for a while.

I'd like to do gaps with posting. I'm just not sure how to do that and not lose momentum. Once you go away people forget you. I think anyhow.

Hrm. I don't know. I see some people post once a week and do really well. I wonder if it's just because they consistently post on X day at Y o'clock or something.

There's always that photo... My parents have two moderately disturbing ones. One of them is of Seabert, who died of whooping cough at four years old. The other is of a couple who seem to be frowning. I swear, their eyes follow you.

The interview went really well, but the upper management didn't want to work around my schedule. It's almost too late for a normal "summer job," but I'm still trying! Maybe I can do pet photography or something.

bahaha Seabert. What a great name. I will remember that for the next dog we get....I love it!

Pet photography would be fun. You could set up at some grooming salons where pampered pets would love to have a record of their new doos.

a like the raindrops almost like a painting. the drops make a pattern.
is it a reflection of a person?

You know what? I'm not sure!! lol. I think it is but it might be a tree.

My brain doesn't remember that day. It does that to me every now and again. A tree or a person look pretty much the same through raindrops on a windshield.

Beautiful work Deb! I love the rainy window! Hits the subject matter right on the target.

Thank you kindly Dave.

sighhhhhhhhhh.... and I just had to delete that comment and put it under the right account. so.... that will give you a little bit more insight into the state of my brain . lol

original comment follows
These are exquisite!!! and the top one is just exactly how I'm feeling today. and all week.

I've been.... well, you know. :)

miss you - and cant even take the time to properly tell you how much i miss you.

Yes, I can see how busy you've been. You have a lot going on with the Welcome Wagon, the Alliance, Buddyup and I forget the other one. Managing two steemit accounts and writing posts for both must be terribly exhausting. And not to mention, family stuff. I understand. Priorities. No worries. :)

It's been difficult, but at the same time rewarding. But you know my brain. So you know everything I'm not writing.

monochrome is the ideal choice for photos of rain and timeless photos such as the shot of the office through Victorian glass

The middle one is like looking through a window of time. Nice as always!

That's what I thought too!! Time traveller that I am.

The old train station shot is really wonderful, it's almost sad and definitely evokes emotions in me. There is something about forgotten technology that tugs at my heart strings.

That is such a poetic thing to say....I understand what you mean. I feel it too when I see things like this - it's almost a homesick feeing.

Nice shots, black and white is exciting, often better than pictures in colours. Haven't much experience, but try occasionally. Like the rainy window :-) Have a lot of rain this spring....

Thank you @harkar. I appreciate the visit and comments. :)

I love raindrops and bubble glass and windows. Heck, anything that makes a great shot.

I do like the inside of the train station, very cool and through the glass, even better. You have a file? Darn, that sounds important!

Yes, I have a file. It's official. My file has files that have more files. Disorganized organization. :)

Thanks @dswigle. :)

Hehe... But, you know where it all is!

You have been very creative with your monochrome mages @countrygirl and provided a variety for us to enjoy. I really love the sun flare on that appealing brick building in the last shot. So nice!

Thank you @trudeehunter. You always say the nicest things and words of encouragement. I appreciate you.

Awww......the feeling is mutual dear @countrygirl I love how we are often on the same wave length. And your ongoing support is truly appreciated, as you are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98