How Do You Perceive People?

in #motivation6 years ago


Hey Dtube & Steemit,

I wanted to talk to y'all today about perception,

Question of the day: How do you perceive people or how do other people perceive you?

We are all human so it's possible to make mistakes I understand however, I think many times we perceive people with an outwardly view without getting to know them and looking at the inside or at their hearts. I know I have been perceived in a negative manner before based on nothing concrete and it caught me off guard. So I just wanted to get people thinking about it, the old saying goes true, "don't judge a book by it's cover." It can be completely different from what they actually are.

I know I have been wrong in the way I perceived people on the first impression and really feel like I learned a lifelong lesson from it.

Hope you enjoy the vlog!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I try hard not to judge people when I meet them but first impressions are the most powerful. I get what you're saying about being labeled a rebel. It feels strange when people perceive you differently than you perceive yourself. It makes me try to "undo" their perception and I find myself trying too hard or acting weird. It's no fun lol

That is sooo true, I totally get it with the feeling weird and trying to "undo" their perception...but sometimes no matter how hard you try things just don't change haha.

Oh, WOW! We've been looking around DTube, and were thrilled to find your awesome video! We liked it a lot, and put it on our list of OneLoveDTube Video Picks of the day!


You can view all of our picks from May 16 here: OneLoveDTube Picks

If you want to find out more about how we support and encourage creators on the platform, please join us on the OneLoveDTube discord server and help share the love!

And yes, I agree, giving people the benefit of the doubt can be very useful @alphasteem. Making snap judgements off of first impressions can cause us to miss out on a lot that people have to offer.

Nice post-good stuff. With the world shrinking everyday it is more and more possible to meet a different looking or differently behaving person. Most of the time it is a matter of keeping an open enough mind- not to assign stereotypes. One sad fact of today is that we seldom emotionally connect to new people- we don't have the time to pay attention to the vibes -good or bad. Keep Steeming Thanks!!!:)

Yeah your right about that...were too busy most of the times to pay attention to other people it's a sad reality now days. Thanks for visiting!

I perceive you as awesome!

This is actually a great topic to discuss. Sometimes we actually see certain things in other that we don't like because we don't like it in ourselves. #projection

That's a funny story about your sister! That happened to me in high school. And I didn't even wear sunglasses back then!

I didn't know you we are a beautiful young girl in high school too! Haha...

That's interesting though I never thought of it that way, because we don't like it in ourselves...I'll think about that one a bit.

This is where a lot of people go wrong, too many make conclusions so fast and judge people especially based on their physical observations. Firsts impressions are powerful true but just making conclusions based on what you first observed is quite shallow. People need to be open-minded

Totally agree with you there. I think we can all be guilty of it to some extent though...its hard to get your mind to be completely positive all the time haha.

Haha that’s why we’re humans!

I believe the crux of it is expectations like you say. The first indicator of character we have is of appearance, and image, and whilst it's wrong to place too much emphasis on that, it can often give a few clues as to what they person may actually be like.

A woman who s very overly dressed up may give the impression of someone who is a maybe focused on the superficial from a distance. That might be true. But that person may have an important meeting, be on their way to a date, or simply just really take pride in their appearance.

Similarly with behaviour and mannerisms. If you were to meet someone who doesn't engage with you as enthusiastically as you'd like, you might take the ego centric view that they have a problem with you.

Again, this doesn't take into account where they have 'come from'. They might have just received a piece of terrible news, be depressed or might just plain be having a bad day.

To counteract this, I think the most important thing is to approach all of our interaction from the neutral perspective and place of non-judgment.

First impressions are undeniably important, but we shouldn't become to attached them. I have several friends who still think of me the way I was 10 years ago, despite me maturing a great deal.

We need to be flexible in our assumptions, and try not to peg people with an identity we refuse to let them grow out of.

Great question,

Peace.

It made me laugh at my 5am. Because I was like you. Very shy and even some relatives gave me a nickname silentboy. Of course, somewhere else I was noticed otherwise. But, the real question is. Should we care?
I think not really. Life is too short to worry about how people perceive us, what they think about us. It is important to always be yourself. Of course, this better version of yourself. But, I must add that, unfortunately. Each of us will evaluate others after their behavior and appearance. This is because in our lives each of us has met a lot of people. And our brain is looking for a similar person whom we met in the past. Remember, judging others is not good, but it also not comes from nowhere.
With this last words, I will end my commend for today, wishing you an amaaaazing day. And as always sending you, massive:

I think that just asking the question is the essence of empathy.

I think most people dont even want to get me. They see something and think it can only be that way but there are always multiple reasons for someone acting a certain way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73