Music: Six from the Sixties – A Challenge!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Last night @dismayedworld (my teenage daughter) asked me about the repository of selected singles music I have on my hard drive. I find it refreshing that someone of her age is asking me about music from the decades gone by.

utk47k8n1o.png
Source

‘Today’s music is mostly crap’, she tells me nonchalantly. I have to agree, but if I had to rewind many years back to 14 years myself, I would not have said the same thing.

This would have been the 70’s for me, a time when in my opinion, music was at its’ finest. Is music really so bad that my teen is asking me to give her advice on what to listen from the past, or is she just different from the rest?

The ‘Slobberchops Choice Cuts’ folder contains .mp3 files from the decades and is made up of popular music. Did you hear me right? POPULAR music? But I don’t like popular music as its played to death on the radio, I have heard it 10000 times blah blah..


xk2gknvwn9.jpg

Well you may be surprised that I do like some pop music, but don’t tell anyone OK, as I have a reputation to maintain.

So let’s get back to @dismayedworld and her sudden interest in all this ‘old stuff’. Further interrogation revealed that she wants to learn about a ‘broad range of music’ regardless of when it was released. This brings me to the point of this article.

Most of my readers will be younger than me, fact whether I like it or not. If @dismayedworld wants to know about the past, then maybe others do to.

My ‘1960's’ folder has only 41 tunes in it, though I could easily add more. I do like 60’s music, the closer to the end of the decade the better. I see it as the starting point before we got on to the much more interesting 70’s.


03djw79a3l.jpg

All this is my opinion and you are quite free to disagree and tell me that ‘David Guetta featuring Travis Scott and Dennis Lloyd and also featuring Tyga’ are much superior.

I randomly stole these names from the current UK top 40 by the way. It seems that most artists can’t do anything alone now and need to ‘feature’ someone else.

If you are old enough to do the challenge then please try it. It will go easier as I advance into the later decades I promise you.


33xz0etc68.jpg


The Rules

  • Link SIX singles from the 1960’s and let us know why the song is memorable to you.

  • Make sure they are not too obscure, we are trying to teach the younger readers what was good, not about old ‘B-sides’.

  • State the year of release, we are trying to educate people!

  • Add a Wikipedia link to each song so the uneducated can learn a little about the song. If there isn’t one available, then choose something a little more popular.

  • Use the # sixtieschallenge tag in your article.


33xz0etc68.jpg

It’s been a while since there’s been a music challenge, and not one of these ‘you must do one every day’ ones. No big commitment needed.

If you are not slightly ancient like me, then just take it in and listen to the music. These were hot songs in the day.

End of Rules! Not many for this one; over to the music.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Cream – Badge (1969)

OK, I just want to say that I was in single figures when ‘Badge’, the farewell single from Cream was released. The band that featured Eric Clapton on guitar were on their last legs, but not before this epic single was given to us.

The solo in the middle was a sign of things to come. Hendrix had given us the foundations of rock, some years before but at this point in time there wasn’t much like this.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Badge_(song)


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Love Is Here and Now You're Gone - The Supremes (1967)

Motown, oh how I love it. Melancholy tunes up the arse, forgive my french.. but weren't most of them? Diana Ross had an incredible vocal. Listen to those Supremes songs and most of them are sad sad songs with unhappy themes.

Maybe that’s why I was drawn to them, not now but years ago when I was a lad. This pick is a ‘supremely’ unhappy song about loss, and still has me listening to this day. Forgive the pun.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Love_Is_Here_and_Now_You%27re_Gone


g9pv4ubd1t.png

California Dreamin' - The Mamas & the Papas (1965)

Like Ms Ross, Mama Cass Elliot had a wonderful vocal and what happened to her was a real shame. I was too young to remember of course, yes really… I not in my 60’s and will strongly deny such claims.

Most people will have heard this classic, and isn’t it just that! If you haven’t heard it, then switch on the radio as it’s still played to death. Fortunately I refuse to listen to 'the radio' otherwise I wouldn’t be featuring the song in my list.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Dreamin%27


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Petula Clark - The Other Man`s Grass ( Is Always Greener ) (1968)

Petula and her sound just epitomised the late 60’s for me. I think I have a subconscious memory somewhere of this song from when I was very young.

I didn’t choose ‘Downtown’ which was her big hit, but this one was a single in its own right and much more memorable to me.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Other_Man%27s_Grass_Is_Always_Greener_(album)


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Fleetwood Mac - Man of the World (1969)

Fleetwood were a big band in the 60’s before Nicks/Buckingham joined and they became a supergroup with the release of Rumours.

A lovely melancholy tune that is a little short and even shorter with this one as the YouTube uploader clipped off the start a little. Still it’s a ‘live’ performance despite being somewhat blurry.

The song is characteristically melancholy and very much in the theme of their huge hit, ‘Albratross’.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Man_of_the_World_(song)


g9pv4ubd1t.png

The Rolling Stones - Jumpin' Jack Flash (1968)

I am not really a big fan of the Rolling Stones; too mainstream for me I’m afraid, so why the inclusion? For me, it’s that’s guitar riff; it’s incredible!

Keith really nailed this one and it made the song so much more interesting. You can keep your Honky Tonk Women and Satisfaction, this one is for me,

Who would have had the insight to make a video in 1968? These guys were thinking about the future, or one had travelled in time to see what the crack was!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jumpin'_Jack_Flash


33xz0etc68.jpg

The most musical people I know on Steemit are @steevc and @verhp11. Maybe neither are old enough to remember such tunes, but I think they are. I challenge you both to give me Six from the Sixties!

If you want to do the challenge yourself without a personal goad from me, then feel free to.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

oef... I would love to participate, but know to little I guess about the real sixties.....

The 70's may be may up your street, or maybe the 80's. I will get around to them :)

Both way more than the sixties, which doesn't mean I don't enjoy 60's music :)
Will be waiting for the others !! :)

Not too obscure? Obscure is my middle name!

But hey - teaching the young is the duty of any pillar of society... which is not my middle name by the way. I'll see what I can do.

Obscure is my middle name!

That's why I follow you, mainstream is generally not me.., but sometimes I veer back to whats popular. It doesn't happen often.

Sometimes the mainstream is so absurd that it becomes fascinating. Take a person who have been exploited first as a child worker by her parents and the music industry - then just exploited - and when she is almost worn down and finished working as an entertainment-slave you make a last hit single calling it: Work Bitch!

Plain evil!

That's a great challenge! Funnily enough I was thinking about Diana Ross a couple of days ago. Her voice is inimitable and she has real A-list star quality, a rare thing these days. I've never heard that song though - quite a strange one.
Your daughter seems like a sensible girl! She's probably absorbed some of your music taste. I don't think it's that the music is bad these days, it's the type of stuff that gets played on the radio – mostly gimmicky, sexualised but totally unfeeling garbage IMO. Or it's sung in that whiny almost crying, pleading type voice – urgh. Either way, it has me reaching for the OFF switch.

Or it's sung in that whiny almost crying, pleading type voice – urgh

I know what you mean! The X-Factor voice..., I wrote something about this once..., everyone sounds the same and if you don't have that voice.. your off.

My daughter is a typical teen, rebellious and strong willed. She has these breaks when she's not such as pain and comes to talk to me usually about music. It doesnt last long.

I used to really admire Adele's voice, and then she started doing that whiny singing too! Urgh.
Actually there is one radio station that plays contemporary music that I like. I'd forgotten about it because I can't play it in the car. It's BBC 6Music. Not only do they play a great selection of oldies, but they also play new releases that I love. But I only have one digital radio set, and I can't even get that to receive many stations. However I recently I found that if I put it into a certain position I can listen to 6Music loud and clear.

I could do with something different in the car, Ill try and remember your recommendation.. thanks!

You need a digital audio device to listen to 6Music. Or wifi.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 257 (9/14/18)

Awesome selections. I posted a question a while ago on Facebook asking people if you could listen to only one decade of music all genre's, what would it be. Mine was definitely either the 60's or the 70's. Great stuff! I will probably accept this challenge as well!

Go for it, the more the better. I didn't include you as you simply didn't look old enough!

Yeah, I was born about a decade too late, but this is still the music I grew up listening to because it is what my parents listened to. Anywhere we drove or any record my dad put on was 50's, 60's, and 70's.

Excellent challenge! Sadly, I am heading off to the airport soon, heading away for a conference, so no posting from me for a few days.

That's a shame, I'll be doing some others on the later decades soon though. Maybe you want to try your hand at one of those if you are musically inclined!

I hate to tell you that you missed a couple, but cumon man. In the interest of helping out your daughter I'll probably accept this challenge. Not that I am slightly ancient by any definition.

Well, I did it. My memory might be just a touch cloudy from those days.

Oh I missed lots, but with only 6 to choose from, what can one do?
Those 41 songs have things that are a touch embarrassing to reveal... you know, things that you dad likes. I just couldn't reveal the contents. ;)

I understand. I grew up with both kinds of music. Country AND Western. :) But once I found rock n roll, and then the blues, the run was on.

Thanks for the challenge. It ought to be fun to see what people dredge up from 'my era'.

I'm at work now, but will have a listen to your picks later... they wont appreciate it here in an office.

Congratulations @slobberchops! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 304 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94