"My Love Of The Alder Tree"- The Plant Medicine Challenge

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)



I have a strong connection with the Alder Tree, it is my birth Tree and as such a tree that I really identify with. It is also the 3rd Tree in the Celtic Tree Ogham. At this time of the year it is easily recognised due to the beautiful red catkins that are on the tree and give the whole tree a red haze. These catkins are both male and female and this really shows the tree for what it is, the tree of balance.

It is said that those born under the Alder Sign are natural leaders or pioneers, with the ability to inspire and move people with their words and actions. We are meant to have a magical way with words and that most people love to be around us. We appear well balanced, confident and hold a lot of faith in our selves. But we can be restless and impatient and will never suffer fools. We tend to go at things alone, and find it difficult to accept help. Indeed I can see some of these characteristics in myself.


When we look to trees for healing, it is important to know the tree, to observe it and to feel the energy of it.

The Alder is associated with both the water and fire elements. It needs access to a lot of water to grow and you will find it along rivers or on swampy ground. This amazing tree can take oxygen from the air via it's trunk and transport it to it's roots. It is the only tree in Europe able to do this. Where other trees would suffocate and die, being immersed in water, the Alder has found a way to breathe, to survive. This tree that at times is overlooked, has such strong roots. The alder is a tree to sit with when we wish to strengthen our foundations.

It's main association with fire is because once you cut the wood it turns red, as if the tree itself is bleeding. For this reason few people would ever cut the tree. Also the bark also gives a beautiful red dye. But more than that, Fire is all about transformation and change , it purifies, energizes and liberates and the Alder tree has a very dynamic and fiery energy. And yet, it has roots that travel deep into water. Remember that this is the tree of balance. Balance between two very different elements.

Listen and hear it call on us to follow our own intuition and to draw inspiration from within. To bring balance between our intuitive selves and our rational selves.


The Alder tree helps us to move forward in life, giving us the courage to face up to the things we may have been avoiding.
It is there to help us achieve flow, calling on us to sit with it, to acknowledge it's strength and balance and encouraging us to build stronger foundations in our lives. For this reason it is good for anxiety and nervousness, helping us to feel more grounded, to become more rooted in our self belief and self confidence.

Always remember to look to the tree to guide you. What do you see? Let it speak to you. Because when you take the time to study this tree, you will suddenly notice all the amazing healing that it provides us. How the buds of the Alder Tree are set in spirals, reminding us of connection, of balance, of rebirth. How the catkins represent both the feminine and masculine, reminding us the importance of balance and acceptance. This Tree which survives on nutrient poor soils living in symbiosis with bacteria that can bind nitrogen direct from the air. In turn enriching the soil it now grows on. Showing us the importance of partnership and connection, the importance of being active in bringing about change.


I like to collect the fallen twigs and branches of the Alder Tree, this is a tree that clearly states it must not be cut. The wood when used as a talisman or wand is used for protection and spiritual growth. To help us find the balance between our emotions and the desire to act out on them. Because of it's connection to the faerie realm, as it connects our world to the Otherworld, it is used to protect from negative energies.

I like to carry the wood around with me, especially when I wish to be proactive and tap into my inner strength. But mostly I like to sit with this tree, to connect with it and to observe how it interacts with the world around it. There is great healing to be had when we sit and be silent, when we observe and listen, when we allow ourselves to fully interact with our surroundings. Something that the Alder is very good at.



This is my entry into the Plant Medicine Challenge, created by the wonderful @naturalmedicine community. You can read all about it here and make sure to look out for people's entries so that we can all share and learn together.



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp



DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Today I knew new plants again. I'm not familiar with this plant.

Great post

Posted using Partiko Android

You’ve been visited by @porters on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Love the different aspect you present of the Alder tree! Who would have the Alder as their birth tree? Is it by a certain month or year?
You mentioned that those born under the Alder sign

have the ability to inspire and move people with their words and actions. We are meant to have a magical way with words and that most people love to be around us.

You definitely have a way with words and have moved and inspired me through your writings! Plus we love having you as part of our community!

We are also running our fortnightly competition for steem rewards, where you can explore a plant medicine. This fortnight's plants are mullein, ginseng and alder... Plus a wild card where you can choose your own! Find out more Here


50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡
Discord

thank you @porters, it's if you were born between March 18th to April 14th. Thank you for your lovely words and support xx

My tree in celtic ogham isn't even REALLY a tree, it's ivy, which I was infinitely disappointed about, ha ha. Why couldn't I be ash, which I adore, or silver birch?

I never got to explore Alder when I lived in England - I never got that far whittling the ogham sticks! So it's amazing to hear about this tree. I used to love listening to the lore of trees when sitting around fires on site, the tales of which trees to burn and which you shouldn't. It's something we dont have here. I had no idea alder had roots in the water.

It is there to help us achieve flow, calling on us to sit with it, to acknowledge it's strength and balance and encouraging us to build stronger foundations in our lives. For this reason it is good for anxiety and nervousness, helping us to feel more grounded, to become more rooted in our self belief and self confidence.

This is EXACTLY what I need - I wonder if i can find an alder somewhere to take this strength from? I can see why you wanted to explore this plant medicine! What a great post as usual, my dear, you are super great at these challenges and I love the spiritual aspect you bring to them. Thanks sooo much for writing it, love you times a million trees.

The Celtic meaning of the ivy deals with connections and friendships because of its propensity to interweave in growth. Such beautiful qualities in a person (and a tree).

ivy is so strong and resilient my dear and as Walkerland stated above the many connections you have made on here and the web you have created with the naturalmedicine community,love you rivers and yes you need some Alder xx

oh my gosh, @trucklife-family, I just loved every word of what you wrote, this post is beautiful in every way. I didn't really know much about this tree but now I am so eager to research it more and see if we have them growing here. Thanks for sharing more about yourself.

I had never thought to look at what my birth tree was, I checked and it is the Birch -- how amazing because I am so drawn to them. I write about and ADORE birch trees and spend time with them every day.

Me too! Birch!

they do grow in Canada, would be great for you to find some near you. Thank you for your lovely support and words, I appreciate you so much xx

Learn something new every day! I'd never heard of The Thirteen Trees of the Ogham Moon Calendar. I am birch. How cool.

We don't have much if any alder here. I've heard of it, but not seen one. Interesting how it turns red when cut....

yeah it is so exciting to learn about the tree Ogham, thank you @goldenoakfarm xx

This has been a wonderful learning post for me - thank you. I'm not familiar with alder at all, and LOVED reading about it. Awesome post!! :)

thanks so much @artemislives, I am glad that you enjoyed it and got to learn about one of my favourite trees xx

Wow, the transport of oxigen you mention in Alder is amazing. Today I lerned something new, thanxx to your beautiful post. Is a pity alder does not grow in my country.

Love learning something new in Nature. I've heard of these magnificent trees, though have not yet gotten the opportunity to be near one. I would love to, though. And ... I had forgotten about the Ogham calendar ... being Irish myself by about 75%, that's bad? LOL

You mention the Fae realm. Is it odd that I'm pretty sure I'm half? Maybe that's why I love being close to the woods? Then again, I can draw energy from a few different environments, and I resonate with both fire and air. Which is difficult, considering one of my other friends is a water type, which makes it hard for me to do any energy work with him collaboratively, since I don't want whatever I'm doing to get trumped. I'm pretty sure that on the astral he's a merrow. Water and fire, though. Interesting. I'm going to have to keep this in mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62