You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #needleworkmonday | make like an artist

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

I love your idea to work with paintings and transporting fragments like colours, patterns, forms or emotions into crochet. Transmuting one artform into another. I think your yarn choice is perfect and also the freeform you are creating clearly hints to the painting of Picasso you introduced in your post.
I am curios where this will lead you...
And with the sketchbooks... I had to laugh. I do not know the podcast you posted (but will look into it) but I also have two (ok... three) sketchbooks, a bigger one with aquarelle paper and one with normal paper. Funnily the ideas I write down are seldon the paintings I finish in a larger scale. I mostly use the simple paper book to try out colours for the real paintings. The other one I use for little sketches I make while in holiday or on a walk... something like this for example

hattingen sketch.jpg


The third book I have is for knitting and crochet, but it is not super practical, as I glue in yarn and little tension squares ... but I still use it to sketch garments or patterns and to write down yarn and color choices.
Will you start using sketchbooks? Or do you already use them?

Sort:  

I think at the moment, I am trying to get a daily practice. I find if I only do something for one day, by the time I come back to it, I have forgotten what I was doing ...
I have many sketchbooks and notebooks, some many years old, but I haven't had a system and I haven't had the idea of a tiny notebook to have in your handbag (although I think a list of bread, milk and potatoes will find its way into it as well). I see moleskine do some interesting little notebooks with detachable pages (also pretty covers).

Mine is a cheaper brand than moleskine, but also has these detachable pages, which is very handy if I produce by accident a masterpiece I want to save :-DDD

I like your sketch :)
Where will my experiments lead me ... 😱

Thank youuuu and now I am even more curious... The frightend smiley suggest you will experiment with living creatures (I see lots of blood and yarn :-DDD)? Perhaps assemble a real Picasso? (I should stop to read so much junk literature...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84