What to gift a master crafter

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Do you like to buy or make birthday presents? I love this… If the job of a ‘present-buyer’ would exist, it should be mine (if you also want it, no problem, I would share :-D) Naturally there are some basic parameters which should be fulfilled, like me not being broke and having a bit of spare time.

With this introduction you may wonder: where are the needles, where the yarn, why is she mumbling something about buying presents on #needleworkmonday? Because it was my friend Silvia’s birthday and as you all know buy now, she is not only an amazing painter, she also loves to knit and crochet.
So, in this post I will open up my mind about how I plan a birthday present which hopefully will be enjoyed, and which is not too expensive. And the best of all, I can lie outrageous about my gifting success and you will never know muahahahaha (if you did not recognize it, this was my evil laugh)

MASTER CRAFTER needleworkmonday 1.png


As I know from long and delighting knitting talks, Silvia knits western continental style and is a very tight (and freakingly neat) knitter. But although she knits so tight, she only has small needles in her crafting tool box, the biggest being 3,75 mm. So, the main present was set very fast: bigger needles. But as I above talked about the money involved… I have not the funds to buy one of these beautiful cases of interchangeable knitting needles from Addi, Hiya Hiya or Chiaogoo. Nevertheless, I wanted solid metal needles with a cable which does not get tangled up. After some research I found a set of bigger knitting needles from a Chinese brand which have wire cables which are coated by a soft plastic. I also found reviews which told, that these needles are very similar to the much more expensive Chiaogoo needles. The main difference is that the needles have Chinese sizes which differ from metric/US/UK sizes. In my view – no problem at all.

MASTER CRAFTER needleworkmonday 5.png


Sadly, they do not go up too high in the sizes (roughly between 4 mm up to 6 mm) therefore I bought one big needle in 10 mm from a German brand (Wolle Rödel) which is the nearest shop for me.
As this was done, I bought a sturdy bag for these needles would be nice and I found one which I liked very much. This bag is washable and has these black and white zentangel-like patterns which you could colour and as Silvia is an artist I found this a good match :-D

MASTER CRAFTER needleworkmonday 2.png


Silvia seldom never knits something after a pattern, all her garments are self-constructed. But she often does not write down everything (sadly, because so nobody could rework the pattern) or writes her notes on loose slips of paper which not always stay where they are supposed to stay (aka they get lost). So, I bought this super cute pink Llama notebook with a pink pompom bookmark and hopefully now she will write down everything (she just made a blue cabled cardigan which is super amazing, and the pattern is so worth to be written down).

MASTER CRAFTER needleworkmonday 4b.png
the top most photo is from Silvia and shows the beginning stage of her blue cabled cardigan


Now the little add on’s: I just mentioned her blue cardigan. She was searching for some fitting buttons, which I found in my button stash. And to pull it all together I bought a little Lama statue to keep her company while knitting.
Oh and if you are wondering: I always reuse newspaper to wrap presents, because the paper you could buy here is coated with a kind of plastic so it is not very ecological. I started this as a child and now I am so used to it, that I sometimes forget to explain my newspaper presents :-DDD

MASTER CRAFTER needleworkmonday 4.png


Do you have crafty friends? And what are you gifting them… Do you generally like to buy or make presents? I remember for example @mrscwin great retirement gift or @apanamamama amazing baby boots for @crosheille
I would love to hear of your experiences <3


Thank you @crosheille and @crystalize for hosting the #needleworkmonday. If you want to see more beautiful projects with yarn, fabric and most of all needles follow @needleworkmonday. Or even better grab your needles and pen keyboard and join the #needleworkmonday community.

needleworkmonday.png


Want to see more_Follow me neumannsalvaor visithttp___neumannsalva.de_(1).png

Sort:  

I loveee every present in there @neumannsalva! You are such a thoughtful and lovely friend. Can I be your friend? :D
I love the zentangle bag to store the needles and you wrapped the buttons into a sweet! So sweet! I like your wrapping too. Very nice and arty. I usually use magazines because they are shinier and do not stain the hand as easily. If I kick myself to start making things early, then I would make gifts and wrap them in magazines :) Generally (not specifically for crafty friends), I have made some easy to sew stuffs like pouches and little drawstring bags and put together earrings (with semi-precious stones) for friends' birthdays and farewell at work. I especially love to make stuffs when it comes to family, that is if I start early. Else, last minute shopping it is! :)

Absolutely yes (to being my friend), sadly we are living so far away. I hope someone invents beaming .... And you are right, magazins are a bit prettier, but I only have one at hand (I get some gossip rag from my mom after she has finished it) and its paper is like plastic, i cannot fold it, very strange...
And handmade gifts are even bettter, I have never tried to make jewellry, but this sounds amazing. As do the handmade pouches... But there the zipper is frightening me (you see i have multiple excuses :-DDD)

Beaming would be so cool!! Oh ya, I forgot some magazines are harder to fold. Sorry, I forgot about that.
Oo jewellery is pretty cool. Basically assemble different parts into a wearable piece. Hehe yah, zipper scares me too. I would need to have a youtube video in front of me, going back and forth whenever I need a zipper but it is a lot of work for me. Sometimes, I just forget about zippers and do a flap instead or a drawstring :D

Such wonderful gifts for such a wonderful friend! I love your creative thoughts and how you made it a special gift and still affordable. The llama statue is so cute and I love the bag that she can add splashes of color to. I would be one who would understand the newspaper wrapping, I think it’s great that you do that. Look how neat it is!! I can definitely tell you’ve been wrapping with it for a long time. Thanks for sharing your gift adventures with us~

I love it when someone I know is having a baby so that I can crochet them something small and cute for their little bundle. 🤗

Llamas are the best!! I think @cryptocariad is secretly planning to assemble a flock :-DDDD
And crocheting/knitting something for a baby is really nice: it is fast, super cute and the recipient very thankfull :-D But as you perhaps guessed I prefer to make garments for babys, although I love baby blankets.

Haaa maybe she is! I too prefer baby garments over blankets as they are quick, sweet and simple. 😊

this is a wonderful gift! I'm sure that it will be appreciated!!! buy any gift easily but buy a gift that is needed, practical and gives joy - very difficult. the price of a gift is not in money (how expensive it is) but in your relation to a person.

Yes you are right with the money... but sometimes if I like someone very much I would like to gift him/her something they would normally not buy for themselves and this could be more expensive as I can afford. But very often with thinking and planning I can find a solution :-DDD
As you stated it, it's much more fulfilling to buy something which the other person would like and not simply anything, like a gift card...

I love the bag for needles its fun , and after the hell off crochet dress I think I am going to make such a bag. Have to think about it maybe I do one for My mum too! Love that you are a fellow steemneedler Thanks See you around !

Yes your dress is really master class... I am more for the fast satisfaction :-DD Means for me a simply top down jacket without to much thinking. I am curious what you will make (a crochet bag or will you sew it?)
And it is lovely to hear from you <3

Hi dear No crochet for me anytime soon. I am doing a DIY UP AND RECYCLE from a simple white blouse, started tonight posting it on monday ,
Whats your next project

I am currantly knitting headbands and I try to learn cables :-D I am looking forward to your post.

Headbands are Nice , I Sm Working on the blouse project

What a wonderful gift!! It's so thoughtful and perfect!

I so wanted to buy her the whole addi case... but it is sadly super expensive, this was the next best solution (I think the @needleworkmonday initiative has to becaome a whale, that would solve some problems :-DDDD)
Thank you for stopping by <3

That's why I don't have one of those full sets of interchangeable circulars, either - expensive! LOL Wouldn't it be nice if the NWM account was a whale? LOL

Hello @neumannsalva, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you for the upvote :-D I will check out your magazin <3

I am sure Sylvia enjoyed those lovely wrapped presents, and as you know ... you can never have enough llamas (or alpacas), @neumannsalva :D

yes please: more alpacas :-DDD If you start a farm I will stand at your doormat (and will join into the secret yarn-cult...hopefully)
:-DDD

Wrapping presents in a newspaper - that's a first one for me...

...but when I saw how beautifully you do it, and how much more ecological it is, I decided I might also give it a go.
But I'd have to try it out with more open-minded people - not everyone would understand... ;)

I love how much thought you put into creating a present!
I usually just buy something along the lines of a person's interest and always add fresh flowers.

Oh noooo you are right, flowers were missing. I simply forgot, and I also love flowers very much - next time.
And with the paper, I always explain it to people who do not know me and might misunderstand the gesture. But thankfully my friends are not very conservative in reagard of their presents (or they simply do not tell me and endure my quirks) :-DDD

Great to have friends who endure our quirks :-D

Well thought out present - you can never have enought needles!

Absolutely :-D Although I am a bit stuck on my own... I so want to like different type of needles (for example wood) but I just don't like the feeling of yarn on wood.

Great photography, carry on

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much :-D

Welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97