#needleworkmonday | Stripey Jersey: 3-Needle Shoulder Seam Bind Off

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

It's been a busy fortnight: work is picking up as we approach the date for incorporating the consortium of 28 charities I work with in London. Lots of meetings and lots of documenting for me. I'm relentlessly writing reports and talking to lawyers and putting forward proposals and requesting decisions.

And then, the growing season is starting and I have tiny potato plants that require nurturing. There's another few weeks before the danger of frost has passed, so they're living in my front porch, and I take them out to the garden when it's warm enough, and bring them in again as the light fades and the temperature drops.

All this extra keyboard work and garden preparation is hard on my hands, so even when I am able to find some time, and I'm not shattered, my hands are not always up to manipulating needles and yarn, even on a simple project for nine kinds of tiredness. I've been thinking I might book in for a hand massage :)

So things have been a bit slow this past fortnight on the knitting front. But I had a quieter weekend and enjoyed myself unravelling and rewinding a project that wasn't going to plan (that took nearly as long as knitting it); and I got to grips with shaping the shoulders in the Dennis the Menace stripey jersey.

image.png
I'd got this far in my last post. It doesn't show, but there is a mistake in the stripes: the top blue stripe on the right-hand front is four rows too narrow. I'd gone quite a lot further before I realised and had to backtrack a bit.

I had been thinking quite a lot about shaping the shoulders and neckline. My shoulders are quite narrow and I wanted quite a sharp slope on the shoulders, and a relaxed, not too high, fit at the neckline. This is quite a soft, drapey fabric and garment without much structure, and I thought it might benefit from a fairly firm, structured shoulder seam.

I've made things easy for myself, constructionwise: each stripe is twenty rows wide and I kept the shaping within one stripe:

  • For the front neckline, I cast off sixteen stitches in row two or three (depending which side I was doing) and then decreased one stitch in each knit row.
  • For the back neckline, I decreased one stitch at either side of the neckline on a knit row from row eleven. There are 26 stitches on the stitchholder at the centre back of the neckline.
  • For the shoulders, I started the shaping at row eleven using short rows and wrap and turn, and continued with leaving another five stitches in each knit row. This meant the neck edge was about 2 cms higher than the shoulder edge - about right for me.

20190408_084848.jpg
When I checked the measurements with my template garment, they are spot on! I'm really pleased about this because it means I am getting to grips with tension and understanding my knitting style. I've made the body length about 5cms longer, still quite cropped. I think this will look well with jeans or cropped trousers (but not cigarette pants - it's too casual) or over a dress or skirt.

I toyed with all kinds of ways of avoiding sewing up the shoulder seam, but I had an idea about picking up stitches from each back and front and knitting them together and then binding off as I went along. It worked perfectly, and makes a nice firm seam that adds strength and structure at the shoulder. It's very fast, too, and no sewing up!


There are lots of videos on youtube that show you how to do the 3-needle bind off. This was the first one I found, and demonstrates the bind off for English and Continental methods of knitting.

20190408_085346.jpg
Three needle shoulder seam bind off - right side. I like the way the stitches match up, I always find that so difficult with mattress stitch.

20190408_085509.jpg
Three needle shoulder seam bind off - wrong side. A nice neat row marching across the shoulder, and comparatively flat and inconspicuous.

So the crucial moment: when I'd completed the shoulder seams, I tried on the jersey. I was terrified it would be too big, but it fitted me perfectly, the shoulders were the right length as well as the right angle. I loved the soft drape, the neckline and length were just right. The armholes look disconcertingly large to me, although they match the measurements in the template garment.

I have about four and a half balls of yarn left to complete the top. I'm going to complete the button band and neckline first, and then use whatever is left for the sleeves. I was thinking about a collar for the neckline, but given I have so little yarn left, I'm going for a plain ribbed one instead.

#needleworkmonday with @crosheille, @muscara and @marblely
Join us every week!

Sort:  

that is a really nice pattern and I love striped knitwear

Thank you. I'm learning how to design and construct my own patterns - this is my first venture into colours. I love striped knitwear, too!

yes building pattern for knitwear can be very tricky because the knitted subject always behaves differntly then expected. Maybe I shell do a posting to tell about some techniques I do the construction in handknitting. thank you very much.

That would be fabulous, thank you! I'm sure lots of #needleworkmonday posters would appreciate that.


You just planted 0.03 tree(s)!


Thanks to @shanibeer

We have planted already
8150.49 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 23256.42
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

sounds interesting can you tell me more about it?

Sure, we are trying to get funds to keep our planting projects going on even when the situation has been very bad in Cameroon. Nature will need more help than ever. Funds are managed and distributed through the @kedjom-keku organization to the operations in Bamenda where the tree nursing and planting efforts are being held

Haha when I first saw the picture I knew Dennis the Menace was back and thought you had probably been busy finishing it, good work on getting the right fitting @shanibeer

Haha, you were right! It's getting there, I might even be able to wear it this summer!

Every kid wanted a Dennis the Menace stripey jumper when I was young and Mum would never make one for me...I was however the only kid in goals in the schools league who had a knitted green goalie jersey....
I had a difficult childhood lol ;-)
Keep up the good work. It looks great :-)

The knitted green goalie jersey sounds fab - I can imagine it!

I just imagined little potatoes in sleeping bags and with a hot tea served by you lounging in a sunny garden – this was so cute (in my head) :-D It is so great that you can grow your own vegetables. But I also can imagine that it is not too relaxing for the fingers (also the writing). I find using the mouse especially tough for the fingers… I sometimes make some finger gymnastics but the problems stay nevertheless. If you ever do a hand massage (I hope you did not joke) I am curious if it helps.
And you calculations are superb! I still have the short row bottom up sweater unfinished and have no idea if it will fit. But I used a ready made pattern, as I am not experienced in bottom up knitting. The slope (hopefully the right word) of your shoulders looks great. I guess I could replicate your method and it would also fit my shoulders (and the shoulders of Silvi, whom I will tell of your post) To get a good fit at the shoulders and under the armpit is in my view crucial for the all over appearance of a sweater. I am looking forward to the sweaters sleeves. Will you knit them bottom up or will you pick up the stitches around the armhole?

I was thinking about short rows for the sleeves, starting at the top of the armhole and picking up the armhole stitches as I go from side to side, but I am not sure about this - I think it needs a lot of thinking about 😊 My plan is to pick up the stitches of the armhole (avoiding sewing, hurrah), although I will knit them flat and join the underarm seam (perhaps with the 3 needle bind off again). I'll knit them that way and do both sleeves little by little as I am not sure how much length I will get with the yarn I have left (and avoiding second sleeve syndrome).
In the hand massage, they bathe your hand in warm oil - that sounded very nice. I'll have to see where I can get it done locally. I have arthritis starting in my thumbs and starting to affect some of my other joints in my hands, they need more looking after now.

Wow. You are sooooo clever @shanibeer.

I've been trying to get a jumper started for my grandson for the past 2 and a half months. I must have tried about 8 times. I can't get the tension right.

In the end I choose a different pattern and went up a needle size and that will have to do. If it's too small I'll take it to a charity shop.

I haven't knitted in years, apart from the baby blanket, and that lack of experience is showing.

What is binding off? Is that American for casting off or something different.

I love how those shoulder seams look. Can you do that at the sides of a jumper too?

No need to answer my questions if you're pushed for time. 😁

Tension is really difficult and it's why I've stopped following other people's patterns! It's so very personal to each knitter and I think you develop your style (skill) as you increase your experience - just like drawing or painting. I guess we do try to copy other people's painting and drawing, but we understand that it will never be like the original (unless we're a forger) because ... we're different people! It just helps us to understand our own technique. I also dislike, intensely, sewing up and even worse, sewing up disjointed knitted pieces, so I tend to look for constructions that minimise sewing and build the garment as much as possible in one piece. I'm sure you'll get there with your grandson's jumper 😊😎😍💪❤️💕🙈🙉🙊😂

Yes, binding off is American for casting off. I think you could do something similar with side seams, but It would be a little different because you would pick up stitches. The shoulders seams are great, aren't they? I'm very pleased with them 😊😎😊😎😊😎

I can't imagine I'll ever get enough experience to not use a pattern. I'm not finding much time for my knitting. Even when I was a student when I was always knitting I always used a pattern. 😁

I'm not keen on sewing up either.

I took a few more steps backwards with my grandsons jumper this afternoon when I realised I had been knitting with 2 different size needles. 😂

So I unpicked it yet again but also took the opportunity to correct a wrong stitch in the rib. I haven't got back to where I was earlier yet but, as you say, I'll get there in the end. 😍

I thought about you this evening: I'd volunteered for a little back office routine voluntary job in a local association and I went along for a meeting to talk about the role. About halfway through, it transpired there were other candidates and this was an interview. My response was "very good, well, you don't need me then, do you? I'll go and do something else" Why you popped into my head, I don't know. I didn't trip up as I made a stately exit 😂😂

This made me laugh: knitting with two different sized needles! 😍❤️💕
We've all done things like that 😂
I was probably about where you are now in terms of knitting, but joining a knitting group made a big difference, and then posting regularly in #needleworkmonday really pushed me into new areas. Both challenged my assumptions and inspired me 😍

Aw. How lovely @shanibeer. That's a nice time to pop up into someone's head I think.

Well done for the stately exit. 😍

Ooooohh 😍!! This looks great Shani!! Wow that bind off technique worked really well for this! I too can see this with a pair of jeans or over a dress/skirt. This is very inspiring work! I love watching you, @neumannsalva, @jluvs2fly, @cyrptocariad and others experiment with different knitting techniques and find what works for you! Very inspiring!

Wow I also see just how busy you are yet you take the time to always chime in, help with this community and support the needleworkers! I am truly grateful that you are here. I hope you find some time to soothe those working hands of yours ~ 😊♥️

Thank you 💕 It's always fun and we learn lots from each other 😍

Absolutely! 😃

I love the look of the three needle bind off. I watched the video so that I can remember that skill. Great tip!

It's great, isn't it? So much nicer than those lumpy cast off seams!

That's looking great, @shanibeer. I'm looking forward to seeing how you finish off the front :D

I've so many ideas! The easiest one is just the blue, but I'd really like to do a vertical thin striped button band. Then there's the choice of ribbed or garter stitch 😱 I'll probably end up going for the easy choices hehe 😂

You have already done more than half the work!!! It's great that the jacket fits well and does not need to do something again. very interesting approach for the shoulder seam! Thank you for the video!!! i will try to figure it out

Yes, the jersey is well on the way!

The jersey is looking great @shanibeer and I especially like the knitted texture. It looks so comfyyy. It is amazing that you can construct and shape your own shoulder and neckline. I still haven’t gotten myself into knitting yet although I enjoy watching knitters knit, click clacking away. And I hope you booked for a hand massage, or a full body massage. Aaah blissss 💆🏻‍♀️

Posted using Partiko iOS

There's something very soothing about needles click clacking away :)
The jersey is so soft, it's lovely!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95