Wool Dying in Nepal

in #nepal6 years ago (edited)


Hand Dyed Wool Skeins


Whilst exploring Kathmandu I spotted these wool skeins hung out to dry on washing lines.

When I investigated further I learned that they would be used to make shawls.

I was told the wool had been hand dyed using dyes made from rhubarb, pomegranate, indigo, acacia, madder, haro and walnut.

There are different colours, out of shot, on the right side of the pond.


dying wool.JPG

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

How very cool!

Doesn't this look to be in a residential neighborhood? I am so intrigued by Nepal and its people. When did you visit there?

Wonderful shot!

Yep. It is a residential neighbourhood @dswigle.

I just stumbled upon it when I was wandering around the streets.

Nepal is a wonderful place to visit. I'd love to go back although that was probably 15 or so years ago so it might have changed quite a bit.

I know Kathmandu has at least. The centre has been pedestrianised apparently.

I imagine the smaller towns and villages away from the beaten track will still be much as there were though.

My friends and I planned a trip a couple years back which I had to drop out at the last minute due to sudden illness with one of my parents. I never regret canceling out, but, the three of us have been traveling on an annual girls get-together once a year since before college :) They sent daily reports and Katmandu is different but in some ways still the same, especially the older people, The outskirts are much the same as you describe.

I am so glad you had the opportunity! Sounds so awesome!

It was wonderful and came at a very difficult time in my life @dswigle.

A long story for another time maybe.

I hope you get to visit there some day. 😊

XOXO I am glad you are at a different place in your life. You are a terribly sweet person who is kind to everyone. Be blessed, my friend.

Aw. you're too kind @dswigle! Thank you. 💙

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

How interesting. I visited a stone age reenactment thing where they were doing this 5,000 years ago in Britain.

They didn't use pomegranate, indigo, acacia, madder, haro but local herbs and plants. Thought you might find it interesting so here it is?

My daughter visited Katmandu when she was flying and said it was terrible smelly? What did you think?

They've probably be doing it for 5000 years in Nepal too @molometer. 😊

I LOVED Kathmandu but I think I went at the non-smelly time of the year. It makes a difference from what I've heard.

I think it's probably one of those places you love or hate. I've heard it's been pedestrianised now though so it maybe has less charm than when I was there.

I loved exploring it and hanging out in the cafes, not to mention visiting the hotels where all the famous climbers stayed.

I had a great time there. In fact in Nepal as a whole. It was a wonderful trip.

That makes more sense. The time of year would make a huge difference. I did want to give Nepal a visit at some point. The mountains look amazing.

Oh yes. Go visit. Even if you don't like Kathmandu so there's so much more and seeing Everest is a real treat! 😁

Katmandu wool is what cat man do. I need to move to Europe. Maybe it's just because I live so far South but there's not much to see around here. I can drive from one redneck town to the other or go to the next state over and see all the redneck hillbillies there..... And so on and so on. Beside all that it takes an entire day just to get out of Texas. At least we got fair surf or I'd be gone from these parts

Yeah. I love living in Europe and being able to be in a completely different culture within a couple of hours. And there's so much choice and so much to see. I haven't even scratched the surface.

it takes an entire day just to get out of Texas

That's surprising given how good the roads are generally. Doesn't sound like my cup of tea at all. 😁

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 73% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Such a fabulous shot really capturing a slice of life there

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.011 which ranks you at #3558 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 29 places in the last three days (old rank 3587).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 288 contributions, your post is ranked at #108.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60853.02
ETH 2904.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62