Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Idle Questions)

in #newbiegames6 years ago (edited)



Pexels

We (or at least I hope I'm not alone) can all have these idle thoughts and questions, sometimes known as shower thoughts. Many people find the shower and the relaxation of the warm running water to be a great place to drift off and let their idle curiosity wander, others use the space as their own personal karaoke theatre.

I'm more the thinking type of person in the shower, and my wife tells me that I can spend ages in there just idling thinking, and then coming out with some bizarre question.

Often, these are questions that I wouldn't anyone in real life or in a conversation, as some of them are a bit strange. However, other times, I can be lost in thought about some deep topic, that will flee my mind after I get out.

So, this week I have a couple of questions and a question to ask if you had a question that you wouldn't ask in real life but would perhaps do so in the relative anonymity of Steemit! It is a nice lighter departure from the previous weeks, just to mix it up a bit... and to indulge my curiousity!

My 3 idle questions!


Unsplash

1. What do you think the optimum number of sheets for each bum wipe is?

As a father of two young girls (one who is still in nappies), I spend a disturbing amount of time thinking about poop, and how best to clean it... Which led me to my own questions for myself, how many sheets of toilet paper from the toilet roll is optimum? In the past week or so, I've come up with the idea that 3 is the ideal amount, 2 is definitely too little and 4 or more is waaay to much. So, what do you think the optimum number of sheets for wiping bums is?

Also, as an aside, I was surprised that there are hi-res images on Unsplash of toilet paper....


Unsplash

2. What thing are you irrationally scared of?

Sunflowers... I come from a land where pretty much everything is trying to kill you, so I have a completely RATIONAL fear of critters trying to poison me or kill me.

However, Sunflowers give me the creeps. It it that they look like they have a million eyes? Is it the hairy stalk? Is it that a field of them looks like the beginning of a horror movie? Who knows....

3. What is a completely idle question that you might have wanted ask?

I'm sure (I hope) that we all have fleeting questions that we just don't dare as adults to ask in real life or in public, due to the fear of being ridiculed or shamed. As kids, we would just blurt them out and it would be no problem, but we lost that gift (for better or worse!) as grown-ups. So, in the relative anonymity of Steemit, ask away!

Rules

  1. Upvote if you want, it increases the payout and then I can hopefully sponsor more people.
  2. Resteem is NOT neccessary, but the more people see this, the more the people will be likely to be sponsored.
  3. In the comments, answer the 3 questions that I posed above!
  4. I have added a small Steem-Bounty to the post, so that everyone who replies with a valid entry will get something back. If I give your post a small upvote, it is valid (also, subscribe to @dustsweeper for maximum benefit!). If you upvote yourself, I will match you with a free downvote!
  5. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in liquid SBD/STEEM. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a beginning author, Steemit can be a daunting place. It feels like you are posting into an abyss with no ability to grow. Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but cumulative over time support to your account.

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people).

Last week's winners

Last week paid out 1.234 SBD and 0.842 STEEM, so I will make it 3 shares.

Congratulations to:

@theironfelix

@tryskele

@karinxxl




The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/07/10/steem-basic-income-giveaway-idle-questions/

Sort:  
  1. I'd say 4 sheets for me. I don't like 3 because it's an odd number. So regardless if it's a double fly or triple fly, I'd still get 4 sheets. But depending on what comes out though. If I feel like it's sticky, then I'd get 6 sheets. I might need a few more so I'd get 4 sheets in the next round.

  2. Irrational fear: Being in a lift by myself, especially in the hospital. I'm scared that a patient in their hospital gown carrying or dragging their drip with them might use the lift, and I have this thought that maybe this patient is actually no longer a patient, that maybe I'm seeing a ghost. I'm also scared that when I am by myself I stay right in front of the lift buttons, and I focus on the floor so I don't have to see anything. I try not focus on my peripheral vision, too.

  3. Idle question: Do you ever wonder what goes on in your pets' head when they look at you? And if they do, what could they be thinking?

Ah, yes adapting to the situation! I do that by deciding wether to fold and keep using or getting rid of it immediately!

Wow! That is a great irrational fear! I'm never going to a hospital ever again!

Yep, I don't have pets... but I do wonder what is going on inside my kid's heads....

The winners of the SBI contest and the new round "Idioms" can be found here:

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayidioms-qhxkpr9ywu

I am laughing so hard!!!!!!!! honestly!!!!! oh my gosh
so so so so hard LOL

  1. what? please stop counting. this is not the depression. toilet paper is in abundance. we dont' want anything to get on our hands. germs are scary. so..... wrap your hand in a mitten of TP and wipe once. flush. next mitten. wipe again. flush.

basically - you want to be one sheet less than clogging the toilet.

easy! done. next????

  1. your sunflower thing had me CACKLING. i mean - absolutely cackling hahahahahahaahahaa

spiders. get real. they can wrap their tiny fast little legs around your whole arm and then eat you. yes they are less than an inch big. SO????
what if they get in your hair? what then?????

  1. why is it that @bengy deprives me of laughter (at my jokes)? no... but.. really. he knows that i'm pretty hilarious. so....... hmmmmmm. i think everyone needs to know this answer.

Glad you liked the contest!

Are you serious, that you wrap your hand in toilet paper! That is bizarrely crazy! A toilet paper mitten... the mind boggles!

Growing up in Australia, spiders don't bug me too much... You have to aggravate them for them to go for you... but Sunflowers, they are pure evil!

Hey, you are starting a urban myth! I'm sure that I'm laughed at your jokes at least once!

The winners of the SBI contest and the new round "Idioms" can be found here:

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayidioms-qhxkpr9ywu

  1. Well it all depends on the thickness of the paper and whether or not you fold it. If I've got some good TP I just need two and I fold because my wiping precision is out of this world. But if it's thinner stuff, well, as much as it needs not to tear.

  2. I'm scared of cleaning glass objects. I don't really know if that's irrational. I had a friend growing up who was legitimately terrified of bananas, though. His brother told me that once and I didn't believe him, so the next time I saw him I threw a banana at him. He screamed, fell off the couch, and didn't talk to me for a week.

  3. I guess if I had to ask an idle question it would be how many hours do you think you've slept in your life. It takes some thinking and some math but I think that's why it's fun. It can probably really make people question their math skills and/or the reality of how much time they've spent in bed.

Two! You are a dangerous person living on the edge of disaster!

I can't stop laughing at the thought of someone being scared of bananas! That's completely crazy!

Hmmm, I just thought about the time sleeping...

If you want to laugh go to youtube and look up the guy afraid of peaches on a talk show. It's priceless

The winners of the SBI contest and the new round "Idioms" can be found here:

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayidioms-qhxkpr9ywu

  1. I would say 2 sheets is optimum, but it depends on the quality of the TP you buy too. :-)
  2. Blood draws, I am irrationally afraid of them on a very deep level. I can turn interesting colors.
  3. How is posting on steempress working for you? Do you get good upvotes that way?

2 sheets! Another person that lives on the edge! For some reason, I'm completely fascinated by having my blood taken. I've only had to do it a couple of times, but I just can't stop watching it!

Steempress is fine, I use it mostly so I have a copy of the posts. Apparently, there is an issue of older posts not displaying on the Condensers, and this has been a known issue for over a year. Upvotes come and go, they aren't regular or guaranteed. I don't think I have seen one for a few days.

The winners of the SBI contest and the new round "Idioms" can be found here:

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayidioms-qhxkpr9ywu

1 ) Three is a good number. If you watched Schoolhouse Rock or Curious George, you know that three is a magic number. If it's a magic number, it must be useful in our analysis of bum-wiping mechanisms. We'll call the appropriate number of sheets used on average three. However, we all know that the experience of bum wiping can be different from day to day. Did you just have two servings of your grandma's special homemade mac n' cheese? You might not need to use any sheets. Morning after a long night of drinking? 14 or 15 sheets might be your best bet. Adapt to your scenario accordingly.

2 ) Irrational fear: the bathroom in the garage at my pad. Might as well keep the subject on poop, right? I can't get comfortable enough to squeeze one out when I feel like I'm surrounded by a horde of creepy-crawlies. What am I to do if I come in contact with a spider mid-business? You know what I'm to do - run out of the restroom screaming with my pants still down.

3 ) Most people believe dinosaurs existed at one point, but how many believe they will exist... again? If we can 3D print a human heart, we can 3D print fucking dinosaurs, right??

LOL!!!! Such funny replies!

I totally agree with 3, it is something that I've been toying around with this last week... not going higher than 6 or lower than 1 (gross...).

Outdoor toilets... definitely not a place where you can relax and just let things flow....

It would be a dead dinosaur? Until some fool figures out how to reanimate one...

I wonder if I'd rather have a dead or a live dinosaur... Definitely depends on the type of dino. Brontosaurus: Gigantic, eats vegetables. Sure, I'll take it live. Pterodactyl: Terrifying, would eat me and the vultures that were waiting around for my inevitable demise. I'd prefer it dead, thanks.

We do have chickens, which are dinosaur relatives...

hahaha re the dinosaurs. However, although yes, you can print one out, could you make it live?

We'll print its processes... Circulatory and nervous system intact. Science knows no boundaries

The winners of the SBI contest and the new round "Idioms" can be found here:

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayidioms-qhxkpr9ywu

  1. I would go three to four, but being the only male in the house now, the rest of the population obviously disagree with me. I have come to the conclusion that it is their belief the perfect amount is whatever it takes to prevent the next flush from happening.

  2. This one has me a bit baffled, I developed a habit of running straight at my fears. Afraid of heights, so I decide to go rock climbing and repelling. All I can come up with is fear of failing which I do all the time, fear of looking stupid which I usually excel at, or maybe fear of being afraid of something.

  3. Going to hit that first question that came to mine with the toilet paper... Why use a bidet, you're still going to have to wipe your butt and now you need a towel and not just toilet paper. It's kind of funny both words are french derived....

Oh, I completely understand the clogged toilet problem... Sometimes, there is just so much paper in there that it is almost out the bowl...

There are Japanese bidets (well at one of the hotels that I stayed at), that blasts (wafts) warm air up your bum to dry you out after the washing! It's pretty weird, I wasn't game enough to try... but I'm going back in later in the year, maybe this time I'll be brave!

The winners of the SBI contest and the new round "Idioms" can be found here:

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayidioms-qhxkpr9ywu

  1. 6 sheets at least - more if it is poor quality T.P.
  2. Notifications - I always have to clear them of my phone. Even if I know the email is spam, or the message is unimportant, I have to delete it or read it so there is no notification there. I guess not really an irrational fear, more like an annoyance.
  3. Why is it that people will get angry and impatient at having to wait 2 minutes in a queue at a supermarket, but will accept without question lengthy delays at other services like doctors, government departments etc? Have a bit of patience people, and for goodness sake don't take it out on the checkout operator. It's not their fault there is a queue, they turned up for their shift.

Oh a, getting angry at someone who just doing their best is really bad... My wife used to work in retail, and people could just be horrible!

I notice the patience thing in traffic. People getting stuck in intersections, holding up the next wave of cars, changing lanes to get one car ahead, whilst slowing down traffic everywhere behind them...

The winners of the SBI contest and the new round "Idioms" can be found here:

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayidioms-qhxkpr9ywu

For question 1. I do not have the experience to answer on toilet paper, I have had the displeasure of changing a diaper.

On one particular occasion. I was minding the baby for two hours, My Sisters kid still a baby no walking or talking yet. but the crying starts. Me, I'm going to be the cool guy at this point pick up the little chap and start to rock him, but DAYUM! that wall of bang that hits me when I picked him up, If I had that smell stuck in my pants I would be crying too.

So keeping my cool, I can handle this, I put the baby on the chair. Using my smarts, I even put a towel down under the baby. Soon as they feel the cold, they gonna pee, nuh, that wasn't going to happen to me.

All pre-pared, I have all the baby stuff in the bag beside me, creams, powder, wipes, tissue, cotton, clean diaper's, I'm set, Okay, this is not going to plan.how the hell do you open these dayum things, I look to the bag, Ah! a scissors. I carry on and cut at the side of the diaper. one side done, then too, Then oh feck, I need a bucket here too, As soon as that air escaped, a spacesuit would not of helped it would of cracked the screen on the helmet.
I turn my head to the right and my eyes to the left, Somehow thinking, If I turn my head just that little bit, I will avoid the Tsunami of your sorry now rising from such a bundle of cuteness. I take the diaper from the front and use its interior to wipe the first fold the diaper and place it aside, like I had seen mom's do before, so far so good, the moist wipes things I used to clean then, Possibly 4 at a times, I remember thinking I should of used marigolds. I get the baby cleaned up the fragrant air has become breathable again. and I reach to get a new diaper, Cool as a cucumber I pick the baby's ankles and raise them up to slide the new Diaper under.

Then it happens
The little shit done another shit as I held his ankles up. this thing shot out like it came from a tube, It looked like they had being feeding the kid on mushy peas and custard. and FECK! the bang was back again with a vengeance.

Okay WTF can I do now. I need to clean his butt again I can't let his legs down, cause the towel is full of all sorts of I don't know. I reach to grab a few more cleansing wipes things and one comes out. Its empty, the last wipey thing I got one wipey thing to clean this. It did not go far.
There is a pillow cover on the side of the arm chair so I decide I will use that to clean his butt, After manoeuvring. the dirty towel out and placing a second pillow cover under the baby. A glance out the window, and they were walking toward the door. I went to open the door let them in, He's on the chair his diaper needs finishing was the reply "How was he?"

Question 2. Women, It might be best not to go into why.

Question 3. I have not come to a question I can not ask, At times I ask questions which I believe I already have the answers to, Just to hear an opinion, Or maybe I feel someone else around might not have understood,

Wow, epic poop story! So far, with our two daughters we've not had any disaster stories, but I have heard a few, mostly involving boys...

The winners of the SBI contest and the new round "Idioms" can be found here:

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayidioms-qhxkpr9ywu

  1. I actually also agree with the number 3 for this one. Three sheets is perfect for blowing your nose too (folded in half once.) Same for wiping your bum. If you need more, you can always grab another 3 sheets.
    (And yes, 3 is a magic number!)

  2. Irrational fear...
    Using the phone! I hate, hate, hate calling people. I will clean the bathroom with a toothbrush first!

  3. Question... Questions are hard to ask before you figure out what you want to ask...
    How about - where is a place you've always wanted to visit and haven't yet... or a place you have and want to return to?

I knew it! I was talking about this with my wife, and she insists it is 4. Plus, a rant about why the hell am I even thinking about that!!! So far, the early exit poll, seems to support 3!

Phone, I don't have a fear of using it... until I came to the Netherlands, now the thought of using it and trying to carry a conversation in Dutch has made me scared....

Canberra or Perth... I would love to go back and live there... or the Moon, or Antartica (visiting, not living there...)

Okay - yes, I think that 3 is the magic number, but in your situation, the answer has to be 4. ;-)

Yeah, I totally get you on the Dutch. When I first moved to Britain, I'd get these telemarketer calls who spoke in such a strong accent that if I didn't know pretty quickly what they were talking about, I had no clue!

I'd love to visit Sweden (I have cousins who live there) and Norway. I'd love to get back to Iceland again and/or Scotland.

The winners of the SBI contest and the new round "Idioms" can be found here:

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayidioms-qhxkpr9ywu

  1. Where i hail from, we use water to wash our bums after pooing but if the only option left for me is to use toilet tissues, i think 4 will be reasonable. I'll wipe with the first one, and still wipe with the second one, definitely there will still be little shit around the bum, so i'll clean the whole region with the third tissue paper and clean completely with the fourth one.

  2. Really seeing a spirit or ghost in my dream could make me shiver. I may not be able to sleep alone for a while until i get over it.

  3. Where does God reside?

Again, more people use water than I expect! Seeing a ghost in my dreams, that would definitely give me the creeps when I woke up and it would also make me nog keen to get back to sleep!

Do you have some mail that you need to post to God?

Lol, not really but one can always go to him when you have this nostalgic feeling that you belong somewhere(a source)..

The winners of the SBI contest and the new round "Idioms" can be found here:

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayidioms-qhxkpr9ywu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87