Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Something Stupid...)

in #newbiegames6 years ago


Haha... it seems like my usual audience isn't the crypto audience! Although, I didn't think the question was quite so much about crypto itself!Apologies to everyone for the lax response to entries... it appears I missed a few, but rest assured, all names with valid entries were put into the random draw!

When I moved to Netherlands, I had to re-sit my driving exam (both theory and practical). Despite thinking that it was a stupid idea at the time, I soon learned that there were quite a few road rules in Australia that were different in Europe.... so, it turns out that it wasn't such a bad idea at all! However, it did lead me to thinking, that there are many times that we jump very quickly to the idea that something is stupid, and only realise later on that there is a rationale behind it that one wasn't aware of beforehand!

My Question

  1. What is something (or more than one thing!) that you had an initial reaction of "This is stupid!" to, but later realised was actually a pretty good idea?

My sample answer


Unsplash

When I was learning (again) how to drive in The Netherlands, I learnt that on an unmarked intersection you needed to give way to the traffic coming from the RIGHT. Now, in Australia (here's where I learn that I'm a crap driver when someone tells me otherwise...), we didn't have this rule.

At first I thought that this was incredibly stupid, as it it surely made sense to just give way (especially on T intersections) to the traffic that was just going straight. As I started to drive more and more in Europe, I started to see that the OLD COUNTRIES had many many unregulated intersections and that in fact, it did make sense to just have one rule for giving way to to the right, rather than different rules for different types of intersections.

Simplicity really is the most beautiful thing, and for traffic, the less complicated the rules, the better the results and the lower the risk of uncertainty. It's not such a bad idea after all!

Rules

  1. Upvote if you want, it increases the payout and then I can hopefully sponsor more people.
  2. Resteem is NOT neccessary, but the more people see this, the more the people will be likely to be sponsored.
  3. In the comments, answer as best as you can the questions that are posed in the "My Questions"!
  4. I have added a small Steem-Bounty to the post, so that everyone who replies with a valid entry will get something back. If I give your post a small upvote, it is valid (also, subscribe to @dustsweeper for maximum benefit!).
  5. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in liquid SBD/STEEM. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a author starting out on your fresh new Steemit account, Steemit can be a daunting and lonely place to be. OFten, it can feel like you are posting into an abyss with no one listening and with no ability to grow out of the situation. A share of Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but over time cumulative support to your account to help grow you out of your initial wilderness!

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people). OF course, this is not simply an altruistic move, as the sponsor of a Steem Basic Income share also gets a share, so it is a great way to help others whilst helping yourself!

Last week's winners

The last post paid out 1.008 SBD and 0 STEEM in liquid earnings. So, that would make 2 shares.

The winners by random draw are:

@improv

@wales



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/10/25/steem-basic-income-giveaway-something-stupid/

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9171845388075613
This post was voted: 68.03%

My entry is about the Choon music platform. I heard about this the first week it was open for registration, but, despite usually using as much platform as possible to promote my music, I didn't use that one because of how stupid the name sounds! I thought surely a platform with such a stupid name would never become in any way popular.

A few months later when bored I decided to try it, and it's actually a really cool, well made and stable platform, with almost all the features I could want of a music streaming platform. Then I realised Choon sounds like tune (English is not my primary language module), that also made it seem a bit less stupid.

Hmmm... Maybe I should give it a go... I have a Musicoin account... How does it compare to that?

It's much more polished than Musicoin. A great advantage is that you can view albums and playlists. Website is more stable. You can skip track (reward is based on song play percentage to prevent abuse of this).You can get rewarded for making playlist even of others' music (which is a good incentive for non-musicians to join). It looks less like a cryptocurrency project and more like a music streaming platform.

Main disadvantage for now is that the choon erc20 token is not tradable, but it should be so in December.

Oh and also PoW is ecologically terrible, which is a big disadvantage of Musicoin.

Thanks, I'll take a look!

The winners of this giveaway and the next question (Surviving the end...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaysurvivingtheend-8xhgc67kok

{Be blessed to those that are late, for they give the deadline setters fear that everyone intending to comment will make it before the deadline.}

For me, a thing I found weird, albeit I didn’t found it dumb, was error noises. Basically those noises when you do an illegal operation or something the computer didn’t expect you to do. And for me, they were weird, they created a buzzar declaring my guilt but never repranding me, they maybe were linked with the screen flashing and, most important, they would spoop me. Overtime I would get used to them as a young lad but I never forgot how crazy they were for my ears and then I would understand their purpose.

And when I made that connection like how a kid makes the “2+2=4” connection in math, I was stunned and surprised. Now just scoff the error noises off and just see it as a reminder to not make the same error again. Withal, I appreciate those error noises as they help identify a general problem before reading the error message and be prepared to deal with such a problem if I could fix it. All-in-all, those noises may need to be less scary for the young; else, it’ll take kids like me forever to understand the connection.

Ha ha... I'm the latter one! I'm really behind on my replies.. But I hope to get the new contest up soon tonight!

Anyway, the error beep codes are pretty interesting. Especially the bios ones, which are completely useful when you just built a computer, and for some reason it doesn't boot up! Or you have the comfortable soothing single beep of a successful boot sequence!

Is a bit like talking to R2D2! Although, I always need to look up the codes on the internet. Thank God for the internet...

The winners of this giveaway and the next question (Surviving the end...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaysurvivingtheend-8xhgc67kok

I would have to say a lot of things we did for EMT training seems like stupid things to learn or work on at first, but then paid off big time. A good example would be "how to move a stretcher" or "how to use a stair char" (essentially a wheelchair built to be picked up and carried). They seem so easy and self-explanatory at first, but the moment you put your hands on them, you're like "wait a minute, what am I actually do here." So it was invaluable to get a lot of hands on time with honestly the two most common things an EMT uses in their day to day routine.

I can imagine that those would be things that would be to be trained in an efficient way! Probably the sort of things that you'd want to be ingrained instinct too! Do you push your shopping trolleys in the same way?

Haha, with a partner on the other end? Nah, my little shopping partner sits in the basket :P

The winners of this giveaway and the next question (Surviving the end...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaysurvivingtheend-8xhgc67kok

Star Craft. Twenty years ago. I was a fan of the Age of Empires RTS game and a close friend of mine was trying to introduce me to Star Craft but I resisted for a long time. Why? (Because this is what I do - I resist new things. I now learn not to.)

What I said back then was I did not like the way they have drawn a couple of structures, like the Terran Supply Depot. But most of all - the Mineral patches - too big to look good. Proportions and visual decisions at first held me at bay.

What made me break at first was the music of it, playing loud in the PC game club where I was playing something else. So finally I decided to give it a try and eventually I loved it.

Forever after to proclaim it was the game with the best mechanics, the best balance, dynamics, strategical and tactical plays. And I learned to love the atmosphere with too much... or rather 'Not Enough Vespene Gas!' in it ;)

I member playing Starcraft on the uni LAN when I was much younger! Great nights of backstabbing multiplayer!

I've only just started with Starcraft 2, it's interesting, I've not really played a proper RTS game for quite some time, the last being Dawn of War. So far, I'm enjoying it though...

The winners of this giveaway and the next question (Surviving the end...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaysurvivingtheend-8xhgc67kok

SEO or search engine optimization. I kind of just hot thrown into the deepend with it when i just started. And i hated it. Was way too complex and too many facets to wrap my head around. Now i cant see the web working in any other way. Its literally the backbone of every successful site anf you would be practically invisible without it!

Posted using Partiko Android

I had always heard of SEO in such bad terms... as a sort of gaming the system. I don't work in a field where I need to have much of an internet presence, but I can definitely see the benefit of coming out top or at least near the top of a search result!

Its actually the very opposite is you do it right. Google actually rewards sites that stick to the guidelines. If there don't adhere to the standards, its basically like Having a brick and motar store at the bottom of the ocean where noone can reach you. Of course there are bad practices which we call black hat seo. These are basically the satanic practices that we avoid at all costs. Truth be told there are many bullshit practioners that give the good one's a bad name. But there are quite a few of us that know what we doing and actually get results!! Which is why i have happy clients!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Good to know that there are legitimate ways to do this, I guess it is like any form of advertising!

Indeed. You find the good, the bad and the mildly competent!

Posted using Partiko Android

The winners of this giveaway and the next question (Surviving the end...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaysurvivingtheend-8xhgc67kok

Something stupid, eh? Hard to say. I make a celoncertee... Concerted effort to use the concept of beginner's mind ...

I'll tell you what I still think is stupid: using epithets. I don't like that left wing political comedians call Trump names having to do with his appearance (I'm a commie, so people might think of me as left wing).
I really don't think It helps, and there is always a better joke (though it might be harder to find).

Now, at the same time, I recognize that it works, just like bad behavior works a lot of the time. I can tell that people get power by making up lies or insulting others...

I just think we should all be more insistent that we won't let it work on us.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, this sort of thing really gets at me... by going down this route of "partisan name calling" you just start drawing up teams and ignoring any and all ideas that come out (both good and bad). But like you said, it is really great for making politics and governance into a tribal team game like sports... which it really shouldn't be....

The winners of this giveaway and the next question (Surviving the end...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaysurvivingtheend-8xhgc67kok

Like you were surprised the right rule, I was very surprised that in America there are some intersections where the one who is first has yield. Was very surprised by it.
Just like that you are allowed there to drive to a red traffic light when you want to turn right. Some logic in there!

Cheers,
Peter

Oh in America, the idea of sticking to your lane is completely weird to me!

The winners of this giveaway and the next question (Surviving the end...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaysurvivingtheend-8xhgc67kok

This one should be fun. I am going to go with one you might not think for a crypto fan. But for me it was Bitcoin. I first heard about and was aware of bitcoin when it cost 100 before the rise to 1000 and crash back to to 200 to 300 ranges after the Mt Gox hack. I was single had some money saved up and could have bought 10 for fun. But I thought it was stupid. I got an address played on some faucet sites but never thought it was something real. I can still see that banner that flashed on faucet site. "Bitcoin will break 1k again don't be dumb buy it now" It was like 500 at the time. No idea what I would have happened if I had listened. Lol so guys will bitcoin break 10k again are we all being dumb not buying it up? I can't say for sure but I have learned that bitcoin isn't a stupid idea. It is a very smart one .

Lol, you and me and half the internet! I heard about Bitcoin when my first child was born. It got added to my list of things to do... And well, being a father is just so it kept dropping down and down...

The winners of this giveaway and the next question (Surviving the end...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaysurvivingtheend-8xhgc67kok

That rule of right is really common in Europe and the most important one, people even use it when walking let alone driving. You got me thinking about what I thought was stupid but changed my mind, hmmmm. When I first heard of steemit, I thought it was stupid lol, and look at me now. The biggest change of opinion that I have ever had :D

Ming from Australia, it took a little while to also get used to the fact that two people walking towards each other would go to the right side of the path. We normally go to the left... Crash!

Ha ha, Steem is definitely something that you start to appreciate over time! I remember thinking it was a stupid idea when I first heard of it. But the concept of decentralisation does lead to new ideas of how to distribute rewards for content creation (amongst other ideas...).

The winners of this giveaway and the next question (Surviving the end...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaysurvivingtheend-8xhgc67kok

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94