2017 is Over ... and We Keep Going!

in #newyears6 years ago (edited)

Before I start with the actual post, I'd be thrilled if those concerned participated in my short steemSTEM quality survey which takes about 2-5 minutes, depending on how fast you read. Thank you!


A new year always brings a certain uncertainty of what's to come. The past year is still very fresh in our minds and we have to decide how we want to proceed. I'll split this post into two parts, the first will be a look back on 2017, the second a look forward to 2018.


2017


People


Attempting to name everyone I encountered during my first 6 months on Steemit would end up in me forgetting someone. To avoid this, I'll just intentionally gloss over 90% of the awesome people I met here. If I don't name you but we talked a lot in the past (and I didn't specifically say that I don't like you), I probably like you. You can message me on steemit.chat if you want to be reassured of my love :P

Anyway, here's the 10% who made the cut:

@reggaemuffin who dragged me here with the prompt "go, write!". And write I did. He has supported me ever since and I'm glad he brought me here! (He's also a Steem witness.)

@gtg who, after my first challenge ended, delegated me 1k SP "for a week" and kept the delegation running long after that. He is also supporting steemSTEM, helps keep steemit.chat a good place and is a Steem witness. Great guy, we need more like him.

@justtryme90 and @lemouth , who founded steemSTEM and made me part of steemSTEM management. I can't describe how happy I am to be part of the steemSTEM family and how glad I am to know these two.

@pfunk , another witness, is one of the steemit.chat admins I have the most contact with. He tries his best to make the chat a great place to connect with other Steemians, which is more than necessary, it's vital.

@apsu is one of my favorite people on here because he's just really great. Wonderful person, wonderful friend, incredibly good at writing satirical posts. He also makes great bread.

@mobbs , @anarchyhasnogods , @trumpman , and @ruth-girl who are all part of either steemSTEM management, the curation team or both. They put a lot of time and energy into this platform and it's just really amazing.

Last but not least, @blocktrades who has been my mostly silent supporter since the beginning. I'm very grateful, as this support is one reason why I am who I am today on Steemit. I hope my content will keep living up to your standards in the future!


Projects


I tend to be someone who announces something once and then just carries on doing that, so you might not know which projects I'm involved in. Here's a short list:

  • steemSTEM is Steemit's science community and the members try to bring better science content onto the blockchain. I'm part of the steemSTEM management for some time now.

  • In December, I started a mentoring program in which I try to help one Steemian at a time (for a week) to improve the way they post. I've only helped 2 members so far, as it's very time consuming (especially combined with other stuff I have to do) but it's very fun. The next mentee, starting on Monday next week, will be @gentleshaid .

  • On steemit.chat, I'm a moderator in the #general channel and try to keep the room free from promotion spam, help out newbies and catch scammers. It's often very frustrating but I try to do my best.

  • "Suesa's favorites" started out good and has slowed down a bit recently. It's me introducing a Steemian I like at the end of my post. If you post original, good content on a daily basis, leave me a comment why you want to be promoted and what content you post. I'll check out your blog.

  • "Suesa's Science Challenge" is also something I do from time to time, where I give a topic for other users to write about. The last two challenges had a price of 100 SBD total (despite SBD being so valuable during the last one). @steemstem usually provides some SP for the winners too!

  • Only half official, but artists who seek more exposure on Steemit can contact me if they want to create a cover image for one of my stories. @artlover did that for one part of my "Stranded" series


2018


My plans for 2018 is to keep doing the things I'm already doing, my projects, my writing and all the stuff around it. It might be a bit harder, as I'll start working on my Bachelor thesis in February, but we'll see.

I'll also join the Minnow Adoption Program by @taskmaster4450 as helping minnows to reach 1k SP is a great way of helping the community grow. I already have my eye on a certain minnow, those who are supported will be, just as my current mentee, announced at the bottom of a post.

Edit: The minnow is @thi-js and I'm now officially adopting him till he reaches 1000 SP!


I hope you all had a great start into the new year and that it will be a GREAT year. For you, for Steem, for humanity in general.

See you around

~ Suesa


Pictures were taken from pixabay.com

SteemStem

GIF was created for me by @saywha and @atopy , rest of the signature by @overkillcoin

Sort:  

Freshly adopted.

I just wanted to show my gratitude for what you are doing for our beloved platform.
I think you are a great example of what we all should try to do here. 😎You both create great content and are helping the community here as a whole by your numerous projects!
You have worked so hard in order to make the community better. The SteemSTEM is one thing. Being a mod in the general Steemit Chat is another. But top top al of that for me personally I want to thank you, since per today all the paperwork has been signed and I am now officially adopted by you.


I both hope and know that 2018 is going to be a year full of pleasent surprises for you @suesa


thi-js.jpg


t.

@reggaemuffin Thanks for also adopting me a little bit my man! 👌

What's the criteria for this:

In December, I started a mentoring program in which I try to help one Steemian at a time (for a week) to improve the way they post. I've only helped 2 members so far, as it's very time consuming (especially combined with other stuff I have to do) but it's very fun. The next mentee, starting on Monday next week, will be @gentleshaid .

Also, at the very first moment I looked at this photo of people in this post, I nodded my head saying this could not be you. Guess why? :)

Many people helped me take the necessary steps involved to go up in Steemit journey. I intend to write a thank you post for them just like you did in your post. There was just one contest about 'scientific myths' that you run and I participated in it. So, in a way, you have been helping me in my Steemit journey. Thank You @suesa!

Excellent review of year 2017 and plans for 2018. Shared.

Steem On!

Applications for the mentoring program are currently closed and the criteria might be different the next time around. I will make a post when applications are open again! And ofc that can't be me, the pic shows her face ;)

Thank You. No, I was being mythical. I read somewhere that face is the index of mind. The lead face in that pic does not look bookish. :)

That's not very nice tho, can pretty people not be bookish?

Are you saying you are pretty? just passing

Are you implying I might not be? :P

unless you are the one holding cake (or whatever) in the cover photo of this post. Send me a dm of your face to prove me wrong :). I am a scientist, I work based on evidences

lol, nice try ^^

That's not very nice tho, can pretty people not be bookish?
Well, pretty people can be bookish but most of the times, bookish people are found not very pretty. That's my observation. :)

But I know, you are an exception. :D

Detailed and concise at the same time. You have done a lot on steemit both for yourself and the community. I am glad to learn as much as possible from you within the duration I have been allotted and hoping to pass the acquired knowledge on to those I am mentoring (Yes, the mentees are sometimes mentors that also have mentees). Thanks @suesa

Happy New Year to you!

Your level of involvement is a really great example to the rest of us. I can't wait to see what you do in 2018.

But don't forget to catch some sleep once in a while!

A scientist doesn't sleep! :P

Happy new year queen of science.

Thank you for supporting me and elevating my mind 💚

Here is to more amazing science lessons :)

Happy new year!! Thanks for the kind mention! :)
Can't wait for the new chalenges this 365-day round will bring!!

Speaking of challenges, I totally forgot to include my science challenges in the "projects" part. Edited it, thank you for unintentionally reminding me :P

your science challenges are always weird :). I will participate when I am ready to be weird

Keep up the good work. The people you listed for 2017 are a great group, @reggaemuffin has done so much for many of us. Happy New Year!

I been trying to get my youngest daughter to join steemit. I am gonna send her a link to this piece. Which her being so into science and all maybe that is what will get her to finally join.

You're invited to send her my way, either on steemit.chat or on discord!

I been working on her @suesa between her interest in science and her being a very talent artist, she needs to be on here. She says she doesn't have the time with school. But I say BS. You are in school and have time.

Well, school can cause an extreme stress level. Maybe you can try this from a different angle: When I am learning something new in my lectures, I sometimes write a blog post about it which helps A LOT when studying for the exams. Suggest that she might try that. Pick a topic she has to study and write an informative post about it. Might cut down study time if done correctly.

great suggestion I will use that

Happy New You to your family and you. It has been a whirlwind year filled with surprises, a little sprinkle of not so good and loads of pure bliss. We can only hope it would get better from here. Here's hoping to see that green Lambo ( it just have to be green for obvious reasons). Have an amazing 2018.

Oh wow I just started following you recently and did not know you were involved in that much projects! I really like that you do so much to help new members! Have a happy new year and I look forward to read your posts in 2018! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97