Open Mic Week 82 - Meno - Top 5 Picks and Honorable Mentions

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

An amazing week my friends, it was leaps harder than last week for me to make this list. I kept on finding song after song that deserved in my view to get so much more love than it did, that I struggled to know what to do with myself. The original songs are almost always my weakness and this week was full of original material.



Here we go!

First Place.-

@gentle.ben - Thinking of you (original song)

What a tune, if this performance does not shake you down to the core seek immediate medical attention. I wont lie, I'm fully aware of Ben's talents and have been for a while, so I fully expected him to show up one of these weeks with something of this caliber.

All the emotions I'm supposed to feel show up for the melancholic dance... do yourself a favor and hit play, do it right now.

Second Place.-

@ilazramusic - Me encanta (original song)

This was one of those happy surprises for the week. I felt like I was listening to an acoustic version of one of the greats, manu chao came to mind a few bars into the song, then unique layers that outline the originality of the artist made their appearance to make it truly shine.

The vocals are absolutely fantastic and the falsetto adds the perfect touch....

Third Place.-

@danieldyemusic - oh my friends (original song)

I don't know when it happened but somehow Daniel became one of my favorite songwriters on this platform. It never has much to do with anything fancy and almost always with strength to convey his emotional vulnerability. I imagine myself listening to this song for years to come, its quite timeless to be honest. It only requires to listen with an open heart.

Fourth Place.-

@kayclarity - Penny Tears (original song)

This woman was put on this earth to make me emotional I swear, this is not the first time @kayclarity hits me on the side of the head with an emotional hammer. I absolutely loved this song, not only does it have a beautiful melody sang by a the voice of an angel but its built with bricks of a powerful lyricist.

The skies have cried their salt out
And the bitter acid taste
So stick your tongue way out now
Take in the weeping's best

This my friends, its musical poetry at its finest...

Fifth Place

@paintingangels - raing song (original song)

I'm convinced Serena is completely unaware of how much talent she has. I have not heard one of her songs that I don't love. I have the hardest of times describing what I hear on her songs, its almost as if someone took me back to the days of Joni Mitchel and I'm sitting in the front row of a concert that changed my life. I have no clue if that makes sense to anyone else but me, but I'm sticking to it.... What a lovely tune...


Honorable Mentions

In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.

@silentscreamer - Les Miserables (cover)


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.





And that is it for me and week 82, a little later than I would have wanted to make the post, but here it is finally. I'm ready to start week 83!!!

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love


● Maybe Asimov was right
● Knock, Knock...
● Loyalty and the love of money
● The value of Memes
● Feeding the other wolf
● Hey, nice to see you again...
● Lie to me - Original song
● The elasticity of Morality
● this is pretty crazy

Sort:  

Thanks for all you do for the Open Mic community! We so much appreciate and love you!

Click here to see who won Open Mic this week:

Steemit Open Mic Week 82 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

@meno whaaaaaat?? you can imagine my surprise when i realized you were an open mic judge, and now to see you liked the song so much, well man... it means a lot. thank you, from the bottom of my heart

Thanks @meno! I'm happy to be among these fine songwriters and musicians here!

You came through with an honorable mention! Haha. My weekly openmic needs are settled!
😂... Congratz to all the top picks and our lovely Helpie helper Serena. I couldnt not notice her cat in the background searching for nice things to eat.

My talented friend, you nostradamused your way into this list.... hahahaha

Yes. Im glad you said that.
Just to remove suspicions, no im not holding Meno in my basement making him give me honorable mentions.
That is fake information.
I let him out few weeks ago.

He is free running through the lush green fields of south US. 😂

This post is very good post. I like this post. It’s very beautiful post. Follow me. I follow.

Haha
Epic list of great performances, bro! Well, the ones I’ve seen thus far. Several I haven’t yet seen, so I’m keen to check them now.

Niiice!!
I'm so happy for Ben!!! :)
Also thank you so much for the shout out brother!!!!!! :)

They're all great again, @meno, but I must give an honorable mention to @paintingangels (just protecing myself from The Dictator's police-force ;-)), no really, she's great, @kayclarity, what a beautiful voice and song, and my top favorite this week is.... MANU CHAO. Oh wait... it's @ilazramusic !!

Thanks, as always, @meno!

All you helpies get spoiled... updoots for all of yous, for being awesome and for being kind!

absolutely fantastic picks this week my friend. I struggled madly with my top choices. @gentle.ben was fantastic this week, totally deserving of a top spot decision. also i hated not throwing @k0wsk1 in my honorables looking back. hes in my top picks list but was a great performance this week and nice fresh face and sound for openmic. bows much love to you and fantastic performance yourself this week

it was a specially hard week no doubt... you were not alone in the struggle... <3

lol I had a double screen up and at the end there was thinking was talking to verbal-d lol sorry about that, ment that for him on his performance this week. def a hard week for breaking down.

Big hugs of gratitude, dearest @meno. You're a wonderful human.

Thank you for the mention, Meno! I'm happy you like what I do!

you are a top notch songwriter my friend, credit where credit is due...

Thank you, brother!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65