What stops me?

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

@ecotrain QOTW: What is stopping you from moving to the ecovillage of tomorrow?

Answer: (if I ignore my health) my children, actually the two youngest.

I like traveling and for many years I did, I moved nearly every year.
To me, home is a feeling and not a house, a building. I like a new start, a new challenge but my children are getting older and it is time for them to get an education, to be able to study and start their own lives in a few year's time.

Might be at that time my time is over. If, I am happy I saw them grew up and they had the chance to know me.

Another fact is I do not know any ecovillage where I live.
I never heard anyone mention it. The people around me have their own water well, only gas bottles, some have electricity, part vegetables or animals to eat and they search wood or plant and cut trees for firewood.
A flushing toilet we do not all have. If there is no power a part has no water.

We live a simple life without luxury and cook and bake out of the basics we have or buy.

We could start that village here but a fact is most people who live here can not be trusted and do not like to work. It is easier to steal from the neighbors (poverty is not the reason but greed and envy).

There is no job I have to give up on, no family I leave behind and there are no friends I would stay for.
I never did as I moved. I do not see the need to stay if an ecovillage would come on my way.

I always moved when I felt the need to. I lived the way/lifestyle that fitted me through the years or my income allowed me.
Those I know do the same and I am not telling them how to live their lives either. I doubt anyone would stop me.

The only thing I need is my own place.
One room or two rooms are fine and the animals I have with me. I need room for me so perhaps this is a reason that might stop me from living in an ecovillage?

The fear I have always being with other people, they continue talking, communicating, no rest, no time, no way to follow my instinct and to live by someone else's rules. The pressure and stress it would give me to have my day, life scheduled by others.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

The idea of always being with other people - Yes! And I would add that many of those other people have an almost unhealthy expectation to do-be-share everything with others. An introvert's worst nightmare. :)

Where do you actually live, @wakeupkitty?

Children are a HUGE factor - the hippy community that seems so easy with small children is a whole other ball game with teenagers.

Nice contribution - thank you!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

With sharing I have bad experiences too. I shared literally everything in my life with others. Read: they lived on my expensis and I worked my ars... off over 60-80 hours a week and it only attract more lazy, abusive people.

That is what I meant in earlier writes too with they all need to have skills and be able to take care of mthemselves.

I think an ecoVillage can be modern and luxury too, it does not have to be the way the hippues lived although they probably had peace of mind and were closer to nature.

I live in the Netherlands and for a part in Hungary.
If a community could give teenagers an education, a job it would be different. They might do homeschioling till a certain age or for certain educations but it is not ideal in this stage.

Thabk you for reading and commenting. I wish you a great Sunday. 💕

Smiling in Thailand... I am born in den Haag, vlak bij de Zuidepark. 😊 Meppelweg 33. 😊

You are better off in Thailand or? I miss the past and am happy I no longer live in a big city or nearby. At this moment the village I live is still polite, somehow 60 years back in time if it comes to behaviour which is fine with me. Think it will change fast now. More shops, more crowdy, more foreigners, more agression and more and more people stay inside.

Enjoy your Sunday..💕

Smiling in Mexico... I was born in Szeged (can't name a street address though). Whereabouts in Hungary do / did you live?

No need to call a streetname. I doubt I can find it. You live in Mexico?
We stay in the neighbourhood of Kecskemét.
I wish you a great day, guess you have sun and good food over there. Thanks for your respond. 👍🏻💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, it's not too far... though I have to admit, I don't know Kecskemét at all! :-)
Yes, I live in Mexico, which is a lot like Hungary, actually. So many parallels. As for the food, yes it is delicious, but so is the food in most other places. At least for me, I have yet to find a cuisine that I don't like.

We could start that village here but a fact is most people who live here can not be trusted and do not like to work. It is easier to steal from the neighbors (poverty is not the reason but greed and envy).

This is so sad! I call this mental poverty, where people basically give up responsibility with economic excuses. And it happens on all economic levels, and has nothing to do with how much (or how little) money one has. God knows, I've seen it in Hungary as well as in Mexico. The worst part is, people actually believe their own excuses! I believe that is the real reason for most exploitation in the world.

I assume they believe their own excuses but I don't. I call it laziness. At times I het tired of all the complaining. We all have our bad days and little or bigger pains.
The thing is.. the complaining helps. It is a way to make an income, getting everything for free, always finding an idiot to do your job.

People like these take all your energy away. To start an ecoVillage with them? You know my kids are more handy, practical, organize better and work harder and faster as most adults I know.

I do not know how to change such an attitude and to be honest I doubt these kind of people will ever change.

Thanks for your respond again. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Of course, if they have no incentive to change, why would they. Also, if someone is so used to living by excuses, they may not be able to. It's great to hear that your kids are practical, well organized, and hard working. I'm sure if you look at them, you forget about your lazy neighbors.

The only thing I need is my own place.
One room or two rooms are fine and the animals I have with me. I need room for me so perhaps this is a reason that might stop me from living in an ecovillage?

The fear I have always being with other people, they continue talking, communicating, no rest, no time, no way to follow my instinct and to live by someone else's rules. The pressure and stress it would give me to have my day, life scheduled by others.

Personal space is very important. I can see a mix of possibilities in a good sized village. Maybe some larger shared living structures in addition to many homes for a single individual or a family. One of the most important aspects for me is that involvement be voluntary on all levels. I certainly don't plan to live by someone else's rules or have my life scheduled by others.

I spent a few months at an ecoVillage and one of the things that they did really well was to have various co-ops:

  • Car sharing
  • Cooking
  • Goat milking
  • Gardening

Beyond a very basic constitution (the rules) that everyone agrees to, almost everything else can be done via co-ops where people can participate or choose not to.

Those co-sharings sounds great. But an ecoVillage should not mean we all share the same bedroom, kitchen and toilet. I thought about that, but it has nothing to do with an eco lifestyle in the first place. If that is clear to people it might be easier to join and volunteer with whatever.

People are different so are routines and needs. Some can not be one second a day alone, I need space to breathe... Families will live different from singles too.

Happy Wednesday! 👍🔆💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29