Starting up

in #payitforward5 years ago

Hello Folks!

In the past five months that I had been in our community, I encountered a lot of people sharing their experiences in gaining a foothold. I am grateful to all of them. But I wish that someone else would have given a more realistic advise.

Anyway, here are the tips I wished I would have known when I was starting.

Just create

Yes. You read it right. Just create. If you are into writing blogs, essays or poetry, then do so. If you are passionate about photography and videos, then post your works. If you are into traveling or sculpture or any other forms of arts, then share them.

The key is to create something that would spark interest in the ecosystem.

Post as often as you can

No one would be interested to read your post if you just create contents every two weeks or so. Post as often as you can. Perhaps, once every two days or once daily. In my experience, the more often you post, the better people would be interested to read your work and engage with you.

Do your research

Unless your post revolves around personal opinions, fictional stories, or other opinionated contents, getting your facts right by reading from reputable sources is a must.

The internet is a massive library. Utilize it to your advantage.

Participate

Of course, after posting your work, it is only fair to engage with your audience. Reply to their comments, upvote or re-steem posts that you like, even join groups. Visit their page, follow them. Engage.

On that same note, do not make your way into other people's works by posting unacceptable comments. It is all right to disagree with the author but outright bullying or racist comments may earn downvotes from everyone. You might even be banned.

Do not plagiarize

Everyone wanted to create contents that are interesting. But out rightly copying from another person's work is wrong. Initially, you might be able to get away with it but you can never hide forever. Sooner or later, someone would call you out.

Quote or give credit if you must to its original creators.

Profits will come - LATER

If your purpose in joining the community is solely motivated by financial gains, then, you're barking at the wrong tree. It takes time to hammer in your reputation and earn a decent amount to call this your primary source of income.

Hoard your STEEM POWER

Your SP would enable you to do a lot of things. So hoard them.

I think that's just about it folks. If there are other things that I might have forgotten to include, tell me on the comments section.

Have a great week end!

Sort:  

I initially did not understand your comment but when I flipped it out, it was quite a novelty. LOLZ

Well done article with useful information for all. Engagement is the key to success here on Steem. The tip on how to engage is absolutely correct. Be respectful.

Indeed! I am a big fan of RESPECT. I experienced commenting on other people's posts and, some of them, if you have different opinion than theirs, they tend to get overly defensive. LOLZ

Have to agree with the tips that you have here. It's the same with any social media platform that you join. First you need to build up a reputation and a following. After that you can hope to make a profit and become influential. So engaging people is a massive part of it. Comment as much as possible, join a few like minded groups and grow together.

The best advice I got at the beginning was to figure on investing 4-6 months before you got anywhere on Steem. Good article.

These are all great tips for anyone starting out!

Good article! You're right. Followers will come with time. It's important not to despair in the first few months, because rewards will be tiny. This is good to trim out the fat, I think!

Yes. Since people will often hear the word steemit and assume that if they post something- no matter how bad it could be, they are expecting some rewards.

Great tips there.

And I would like to add. For any photos you used, you may cite the sources. I didn't know when I started blogging here. And also to use free images. Few websites I love are pixabay.com, unsplash.com and pexels.com. There are many more you can googled up "free images to use".

Then at the bottom of the photo you can type out where you get the sources from.

Hope my additional tip helps too. 😉

Have fun here @nurseanne84.

Thank you @iamjadeline for the tips- especially on the websites where I can get some free images. I usually use pixabay.com but, I am planning to "expand" my horizons beyond that. I started 5 months ago and, I honestly do not know how to gain a foothold then.

I can feel how happy you are to be on steemit @nurseanne84😉 have done something like this after few months joininh and really have fun with the community and engagement's league. Your simple tips is worth to follow... except for the Post and comments everyday or as much as you can but better be a good one it depends on the RC, but engagement could solve the problem😉

Happy 5 steemmonth!

yes @cicisaja. Before steemit, I really never even met people who have the proclivity to stimulate me intellectually and, I am so happy that although I am only here for 5 months, I am expanding my horizons. Thank you for your unwarranted support.

Hi, @nurseanne84!

You just got a 0.94% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

And also important choose your witnesses,
The blockchain cannot do without them,

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:



Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

Gr. Britt for @blockbrothers

Hello guys! Yes. I had been considering you as witnesses for quite awhile now and, at the back of my mind, I wanted to vote for you. But please allow me to read more about the steemit witnesses(I have read them but, I needed to refresh my memory) before casting my vote.

Have a great day(or night depending on your location)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89