Do You Like It Hot? The Hottest Peppers in the World

in #peppers7 years ago

My wife @corinnestokes and I have some good friends we've known for a long time, Nick and April Ray. You can see them in a camping trip post I did recently. One of the things they're passionate about is natural, organic farming on their homestead. You can follow their adventures on Facebook at Raydiant Acres.

Nick posted these photos recently, and I just had to share them on Steemit for any hot pepper lovers out there (I know @papa-pepper will appreciate this). I got permission from them and plan to transfer all the SBD rewards from this post to their Steemit account at @raydiant-acres

So here's Nick Ray talking about their latest venture:


The boys and I (Nick), went in on our first business venture together: growing and selling the world's hottest peppers!

It started with sourcing premium seeds last year, starting dozens of them indoors under grow lights in February/March and then planting them in the garden at the end of April. I'm now happy to announce that after months of care and maintenance, our harvest is ready for market!

If you or a friend or family member love wicked hot peppers that have been grown strictly organic from premium non-gmo heirloom seeds please let us know.

Descriptions with Scoville ratings are listed below in the pictures. We are selling them for 25 cents each and you can select whatever kind and however many you want. If you want them shipped, there will be a minimal packaging/shipping fee included, but trust me, they're worth it!

Message us with any questions or to place an order. If you don't know what a Scoville rating is, it's a measurement of the pungency (spicy heat) of chili peppers or other spicy foods. Here's more at Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scoville_scale



22051149_299587700518225_479901641017511969_o.jpg

Here at Raydiant Acres, we love hot peppers! This was our first harvest that Nick ended up drying for later use once the winter months come. Even the Jalapenos are kickin'!


22104382_299610963849232_8503212622319366491_o.jpg

Currently the mother of all hot peppers, say hello to my little friend...the Carolina Reaper! Currently weighing in as the the hottest pepper in the world, reaching 2.2 million Scovilles!

I (Nick) eat this crushed up in a dry pepper shake, but haven't mustered the courage to eat one raw. Anyone brave enough to do it and post a video I'll send you one for free so you can give us all a laugh :-D


22181192_299618040515191_8262208208967501203_o.jpg

Look at that tail! This is the 3rd hottest pepper in the world, the Trinidad Moruga Scorpion, reaching up to 2 million Scovilles. It will leave a mark!


18891782_299587910518204_832637962230187862_o.jpg

This is a yellow Moruga Scorpion pepper. It hits upwards of 1.2 million Scovilles.


22047873_299610843849244_8222552420956397771_o.jpg

This is my (Nick) favorite of all the peppers, the notorious Ghost Pepper. It registers a little over 1 million Scoville's and is the perfect mix of heat with a smokey flavor.


22135389_299610947182567_7661110792875767924_o.jpg

Here is the 7 Pot Chocolate Douglah. With a Scoville rating of up to 1.85 million, this guy is no joke.


22051016_299610853849243_7796736819919811495_o.jpg

The "Butch T" Trinidad Scorpion. I (Nick) accidentally ate this bad boy thinking it was a more mild pepper and I learned my lesson. Weighing in at almost 1.5 million Scoville's, this pepper will literally make you cry.


22096024_299587890518206_5042806767341848397_o.jpg

This is a red Savina Habanero pepper. It hits upwards of 560,000 Scovilles.


22048130_299620707181591_3601357822860781558_o.jpg

Like Tabasco Sauce? You can make your own with these beauties. Although they are not considered super-hots, at a Scoville rating of up to 50K per pepper, these little Tabasco peppers (1-1.5" long) will light you up!


22096103_299587893851539_1768515616134694732_o.jpg

This is your standard Jalapeño pepper. It's mild compared to the others, but it registers between 2500 and 8000 Scovilles.


22096151_299610847182577_2405253624545008124_o.jpg

Here's a large Cayenne pepper. Its Scoville rating is upwards of 50,000. Although it's not a super-hot, not everyone at Raydiant Acres can handle the heat so we have to make some concessions to please the boss ;->


Pretty cool, huh?

If you want to order some peppers from them, hit them up on on Facebook at Raydiant Acres. If you're into homestead farming, give them a follow at @raydiant-acres. Hopefully I can convince them to start posting here on Steemit. :)


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Fantastic! We'll get a post up soon. I have several posts in my head, just not written yet. Thanks Luke!!

So glad to hear it! I look forward to reading your updates on Steemit. :)

I (Nick) eat this crushed up in a dry pepper shake, but haven't mustered the courage to eat one raw. Anyone brave enough to do it and post a video I'll send you one for free so you can give us all a laugh :-D

Send one over to New Zealand... the worst thing that can happen... is putting leave next day =)

Bhut Jolokia is the hottest chili pepper.

Hi @kouba1. The Bhut Jolokia is actually not the hottest pepper. I think your pepper scale is out dated. Here's a link to the current list of world's hottest peppers: https://www.pepperscale.com/hot-pepper-list/

Maybe I should order some of those for my Step Father who complains that he can't ever get spicey enough hot sauce. I can post a video of him eating one of those little guys on the top for fun. hahaha. Of course I won't tell him the rating beforehand. LOL

Thanks Luke and Nick! I find peppers fascinating, though I am not brave enough to go in on one of these myself. Except the Jalapeno (on a stick).

Hi @mikepm74. I'm with you; hot peppers are curiously fun. And I would love to give you something that would knock your step father's socks off. Our next venture is creating our own hot sauce called the Second Burn; I'll keep you posted on when it's ready for consumption :).

If you want to give your step dad something to light him up, get Nuckin' Futs hot sauce. I ate more than I should have on a taco once and after half a gallon of milk, hiccups for a half hour and a fiery inferno raging in my mouth I learned to give the sauce some respect. I imagine your step dad would do the same.

Is that something you buy locally? I'm stretching to an assumption since you know Luke that you are here in Middle TN? I may need to try some of that. I bought something off Amazon once that was supposed to make any grown man cry. He just laughed. I think his taste buds are dead. hahaha

"Second Burn" hahahaha.

As an Asian who eats spices on a daily base, I'd like to try this hottie

Hi @journeyoflife! Let me know which of the peppers you like and we're happy to get an order together for you.

I love this! I am a huge chile fanatic! @papa-pepper sent me some Trinidad Scorpion peppers and I ate one! It was BRUTAL!! He also sent some Carolina Reaper seeds! I have them growing now! I might need to take you up on this!!

Hi @sevinwilson. You're a brave soul chomping on a Trinidad Scorpion. Their devilish tail says it all. Let us know how your reapers turn out. I love the heat of the Reaper, but only in small doses. I got this awesome Reaper pepper shake from a guy in FL and it's like gold to me.

Nice! We're growing several varieties of peppers, and I've been saving the seeds: jalapeno; dragon; Serrano; and lemon drop, so far. Never knew about the Scoville scale, thanks for sharing it!

Hi @libertyteeth. I've never heard of Lemon Drop. It looks like a tasty pepper. Can you describe the flavor?

It tastes a little citrusy. I had chopped one up (saving the seeds -- I think I might want to do a seed giveaway at some point, perhaps just send 2 SBD for postage and I'll send a bunch of seeds?) earlier today, but we decided to go out for lunch instead.

I ate a tiny piece, and man are they hot when raw! Once cooked, they're much more bearable. I put the prep in a sandwich baggie in the fridge. Then I wiped my eyes and experienced the burn again! :(

Awesome! I'm a huge chile head

@mcordy! You and me (Nick) both. I grew up in Texas, eating jalapenos and habaneros, but never tried a super hot peppers until a several years ago. Now I can't get enough of them. I eat some form of super hot pepper every day (not kidding, you can ask my wife April :) Let us know if you'd like us to ship any to you. We have fresh and dried of each type, except for the Cayenne which is sold out.

Thanks for the post that was really interesting.
you have my upvote
Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!
@mannyfig1956

This is just spam. Please, stop. Eventually you'll just get flagged to nothing.

I do like hot and spicy food... although this may be on the extreme side! Worth a try though ;)

Hi @adambarratt. These peppers are legit. I haven't built up the courage to eat a raw Carolina Reaper, but have tried the Butch T Scorpion and it sent me for a whirl. If you'd like us to ship some fresh or dried peppers to you let us know. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11