For the lonely ones...

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)
I'm usually careful when it comes to talking about this subject, partially because I believe that I hold very little in the way of answers. However, there is a certain amount of experience one collects, simply because the clock doesn't stop, and sometimes some of those events are valuable enough to share.


I remember Loneliness


Is such a crazy little word to me. I've been surrounded by people before and at the same time felt completely alone. I've been told I loved you by family members, and at the same time felt forsaken. I've blamed everyone around me for my reality and yet never truly saw the culprit. So my words, my thoughts on this matter come from a deep place in my heart, a distant memory of the man who I used to be.

I won't lie, some of the best songs, some of my best poetry was written when I felt the world had hung me to dry. It was easy for me to grasp those emotions and to take it all out on a guitar. It was almost an act of self defense you could say. After all, I was looking for the universe to answer me all the riddles, I was looking for meaning within myself.

It's a long gone memory now, a whole different version of me, so I really have to try to put my mind back there to be able to feel this song again. One day until Xmas, hours before it was supposed to be a day to rejoice, to share, and there I was alone in my apartment with no one to talk to.

Why am I thinking about this?


Honestly because I have friends who are going through the exact same thing right now. I have friends who I love that feel alone, overlooked and forgotten. I would like to be able to tell them something magical, something that would allow them to pull themselves out of the rut. But.... I lack the words, I lack the wisdom.

My mother used to say all the time that happiness was a choice, she still believes that, but back then those were just words I could not grasp. And here is the thing, I knew, I knew intellectually that is, that I was not alone, that the whole time I had a home I could go to, a friend I could call, a brother who would give me a hug if I needed one.

Thinking back, I have to really ask myself who it was that I was rejecting, when I thought the world was rejecting me. Maybe when I saw a world that had no room for me, I was actually the one rejecting the world, not the other way around. Maybe when I wrote that song, when I was waiting for Xmas to come say hi to my lonely apartment, was only because I said no to many invitations from friends, because I was not ready to not be alone.

What was my search about? What was I looking for? Did I find it? I'm not sure, but I don't think one is supposed to find something. Maybe the only thing that matters is that we get up and start looking, not only for a purpose, not only for love, but also for ourselves.

All I'm trying to say is that I understand loneliness, because I too felt it once... Until the day I discovered I was never actually alone. And you my friend, will as well... you just gotta keep walking.


• Waiting for superman to fix STEEM
• Yes, I just unfollowed you
• Why are you really here? - Rant Vlog
• Time traveling is possible
• Friday Talk - Helpienauts 8/3/2018


img src

Sort:  

Beautifully written. I would only like to add a perspective to this sentiment:

Maybe when I saw a world that had no room for me, I was actually the one rejecting the world, not the other way around.

For me personally, and maybe it applies to others, I've found that it's me rejecting my own self. Once I feel totally comfortable in my own skin (it happens sometimes but not persistently) I notice that the perceptions I think others have of me don't hold anymore. Simply because I don't care what others perceptions are. I only care that I'm happy and comfortable in my own skin. I radiate a higher frequency and notice that people tend to follow my lead naturally.

Furthermore, happiness is most certainly a choice. And so is sorrow and everything in between. We can choose happiness, albeit hard at times. The choice is always ours to make.

Thanks again for this awesome post.

-Narashi

Such a sweet, melancholic tune and voice. Thank you for sharing this. 🌿 I’m convinced that loneliness is simply part of being human. After all, we can only ever truly know our own experience; we are each quite alone in our separate bodies.

To me, it’s not about banishing the loneliness, but learning to perceive it as aloneness, instead. Embracing solitude is a lifelong practice...🌸

<3

Magic words Zippy....

Suddenly, I'm mourning for the passing of lonely meno. That dude was Sufjan Stevens, or maybe a walking one man Snow Patrol!

Gorgeous song. So lovely. A rare song that provokes a response on the first listen.

Not the reaction you wanted, I guess. :)

Thanks for reading, thanks for listening brother... As long as you felt it, I'm happy!

Cheers mate.

@meno ya,this happens with me many times.But sometimes it is good to be lonely,because at this time we can know ourselves.And once we know how to spend time with ourselves and enjoy being alone,we will never be lonely.We should always keep moving.Thanks for sharing such wonderful blog.

I just realized: this is the first time I've met Meno the musician :-) Really: I've never heard you sing and play before and it sounds great!

I hope your friend finds whatever's needed to realize what you realized: very few people are truly lonely. But Zippy's right to... I think it's something we all learn with time, we're in this together and alone, and all relations are of different "distance" or "closeness" depending on how good we manage to share our aloneness, how open we're willing to be, how vulnerable we dare be with the other... Don't know if that made any sense...

Thanks for a beautiful post and song my friend :-)

Thank you my friend... I guess, I should share some more music, I don't do it often enough.

It seems understanding and accepting responsibility goes a long way to undo the loneliness felt for many young men in particular. Enjoyed reading your post and listening to your music, thanks.

You got a 19.05% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meno!

That's a beautifully put-together/executed demo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71