Resist Sofia | My episode with the capital of Bulgaria

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

St. Nicholas of Sofia
duomo.psd2.jpg

“It’s not so much that I don’t like it here. It’s more that I really hate it. The view and the air, the food, the water, the way they treat us like we’re dying”.

~M. Penkov, “East of the West. A country in Stories”.

If you asked me what I think about Sofia, my answer wouldn’t be much different than the quote you read above. I had a problem with the city, and I am glad that I solved it by moving out of there. This is, of course, my subjective view, and I will never tell you “Don’t go to Sofia”; there are many people happily living there, and you should definitely experience the city for yourself. That said, here are my two cents on why Sofia sucks.

The bench
bench.jpg

Around Zhenski Pazar (Women’s Market)
buildings.jpg

I don’t agree with the people’s mentality: mostly arrogance, ignorance, and weakness. Many of them have a very little knowledge about the history and heritage of their own country and the capital city but when you start to criticise those they get offended. The most common answer you receive from locals for any question regarding something else than the closest bar is “I don’t give a fuck”.
I cannot accept the fact that the majority of people don’t fight the corruption. It’s not only Bulgarian thing but I have the feeling that Bulgarians comply too much.

The city centre
DSC_0015.jpg

You can buy literally everything at the flea market
icons.jpg

I meant it. Everything!
Stalin.jpg

I don’t understand the spatial planning in the city, and the general lack of logic. I have nothing against mess and chaos. I’m actually a sincere fan of cities that hide their beauty. That are not easy to explore, that seem rough and a bit unwelcoming. But Sofia is not among them. It’s a city where everything seems to be placed just randomly.

My favourite house lost between higher, modern buildings in the city centre.
lil house.jpg

Sofia is a growing city – there are many possibilities, but also many problems. International companies massively open their quarters and create multicultural organizations to cut cost. But people there are not ready for foreigners. So if you don’t speak Bulgarian and want to stay longer, you better learn.

If you think that everybody will welcome you with open arms, smiles and hospitality, better stop. You should get used to grumpy faces on the street. And forget about hugs and kisses when you greet a Bulgarian – you might be labeled as a freak.

I struggled a lot as a biker in the city. Just sayin’.
bike.jpg

Nevertheless, I was not forced to live there, obviously. It was my decision driven by curiosity and desire to explore more of the Balkans, and Sofia makes a good starting point for a tour around the peninsula.

Church of St. George
DSC_0025.jpg

And after one year of being a resident of the capital of Bulgaria, I can tell that I don’t regret my stay there. No matter how many negative vibes I received, I still managed to meet some people who have a significant influence on my life. And at least one person was worth it for sure.

Me, waiting for the subway to come. Taken by @irreverent-dan
james-.jpg

That’s how I see Sofia. Do you see it different?

Sort:  

I enjoyed your photos @agniese. I know, or at least think you weren't looking for sympathy or pity. From what I've learned, I think not. :)

You have a wonderful curious depth and hunger for something you haven't found yet. You are intelligent and thoughtful. Your photos tell your state of mind about Sofia, at least that's what I "see".

You don't suffer fools gladly and that's a good thing.

I hope you keep sharing your journey around the penninsula.

Thank you, @countrygirl. I think you read me well. I know I do criticise a lot but it doesn't mean I'm behaving like a queen bee. I'm just being honest. Also, my dark sense of humour, irony and sometimes even sarcasm "help" to be misunderstood but I swear, I never have bad intentions.
I appreciate a lot your kind words about me, my friend. That's very motivating, you always lift me up.

Hugs and kisses!

PS I promise to post more about Balkans :)

Keep being you....and I can't wait to see and hear about your pilgrimmage :)

Congratulations @agniese, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3218 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1524.06. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Hmmm...who could that person be. 🤔

Love the rawness and clarity of your work.

Certainly, not Dilyan Peevski (google it ;))

Thanks, Lisa! Kisses!

Hey Agi, I agree with most of the negatives that you listed. People's mentality is fucked up in general, and this is one of the reasons why so many have emigrated during the past two decades. I sometimes wonder how I have managed to survive here for so long. Maybe because I live in my own bubble.

Beautiful photos. I always struggle when it comes to street photography in Sofia :)

True, it's not an easy city to shoot. Because of this reason, I haven't manage to collect much more photos than those above. But well... Let's say it was a challenge. I'm glad you like them anyway.
Yes, Daniel, those who know you better know also that you live in a parallel world. But we all need some protection from all of the shit around us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01