She/Me

in #poetry6 years ago


Photo Source

she/me

she said
fight me
and put up her fists
so i complied
we were twins
mirroring each other’s moves
flawlessly
as we danced
toe to toe
in the ring
with no bells
to interrupt us
or commentators
to speculate
we were free to battle
until our souls gave out
or until the sun went down
and i could no longer
see her reflected
in the glass
that lined the cage
where i kept myself
unsullied
by outsider
interference
in the world
with a population
of one

Recent Posts

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Visit me on

Sort:  

This reminds me of an almost fight I got into in 9th grade. The girl I was verbally fighting with said "Do you want to go?" I was sick of fighting and wanted to walk away so I said "Yes!" She replied with "Okay, let's fight."

I did not want to hit her, so decided that if she came at me I would just take off running. She didn't want to hit me either, so when it became clear I wasn't going to start it she walked away.

The best kinds of fights. People don't realize that in order to inflict physical pain on someone else, you're also injuring yourself.

I just always enjoy your poetry. This introspection is fierce.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99